We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Blacksmiths Restaurant

British, Scottish
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Headless Cross | DG16 5EA, Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland
01461-33-83-65
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 80: English reviews
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This restaurant is pretty hit and miss, in my experience, and luckily my most recent visit was a hit! Half of the hot plates were empty and unmanned, so not sure if a switcharound is on the cards, as it always seemed that half the counters were unnecessary anyway! I always opt for whatever pasta bake is on offer there,... More 

Helpful?
Thank JH2711
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The food was lovely, well priced and we'll presented. All of the staff were friendly, helpful and professional. We were really impressed with the cost of our meal... A little over £15 for two meals and two teas. I can personally recommend the steak pie... It was full of flavour.

Helpful?
Thank Tim B
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you Tim B for taking the time to write your review regarding your trip to our Blacksmiths Restaurant. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit, and you found everything to your liking. The Galloway Steak Pie is a very popular choice with our visitors and come from all over just for the pie, so especially pleased you... More 

Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
204 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The restaurant is fairly new & modern. We had tea & coffee. We had to serve ourselves but that was nice. The place was OK only & so was the service if any. The food didn't look good so we didn't opt to try.

Helpful?
Thank Rama1004
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you Rama1004 for taking time out to write your review. Sorry that you didn't like the look of the food at the time, but happy you enjoyed your visit to the restaurant in general, that the coffee was good and the service was good. The refurbishment took place 5 years ago, but to keep it looking good its a... More 

cumbria
Level Contributor
204 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016

we had been shopping at gretna gateway and all the cafes were busy so i could remember calling in here on a coach trip for coffee so thought would be ok. my husband is gluten free so often have trouble getting food. we looked round it was about 1.00 so not to late no staff on the hot plates everything... More 

Helpful?
Thank TripMember03312015
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent visit to our Blacksmith Restaurant. I am sorry we seemed to have let you down on this occasion. Its a shame you chose to inform us on Trip advisor after the event, had you chosen to voice your concerns at the time we could have rectified the... More 

Mount Gambier, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016

The atmosphere is good, food was good, but lacking a little in the menu selections. Meal we had was roast turkey and it tasted good, was served quickly and hot.

Helpful?
Thank Paul T
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you Paul T for taking the time to write your review regarding your visit to our Blacksmiths Restaurant. My apologies that you found our selection of food disappointing. However we are pleased that you enjoyed the meal you had and that the service was good. Thanks Again for your review we appreciate your feed back. Bill Hudson Catering Manager More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2016

We were at a recent wedding here and had time so nipped in for a sandwich. Sandwiches were £3.65. They were very poor quality and tasted awful. We had to stop on the way back home so went in for some hot food in the hope this was better. Husband steak pie was very poor with hardly any steak, my... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kirstie H
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Kirstie H thanks for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent trip to our Blacksmiths Restaurant. I'm sorry that we didn't seem to get anything right on your visit from start to finish. It's a shame you didn't take the time to tell us the problems at the time, instead of waiting to post on trip... More 

Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2016

Was here entertaining customers & colleagues at work. Service was good and the food was really tasty. I would definitely return again.

Helpful?
Thank William P
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you William P for taking the time to write your review about the Blacksmiths Restaurant. We are pleased that you found the food and service to be of a good standard, and hope your customers and colleagues enjoyed it also. I will feed back your comments to the staff, and we look forward to seeing you again. In the... More 

Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
329 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2016

We had lunch here and the steak pies were yummy! We also had drinks and cakes. There was a wedding going on as we got there which added to the atmosphere. The food was good, the coffees and teas were good, the tray bake cakes were very tasty. A nice place on a sunny day.

Helpful?
Thank Grangie60
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you Grangie60 for taking time to write your review regarding your visit to our Blacksmiths Restaurant. We are pleased that you enjoyed you food, our Steak Pie is a very popular choice with a lot of our customers. It was good to hear you enjoyed you tray bake cakes as we have recently changed a lot of our cakes,... More 

Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2016

We stopped here both ways for our holiday in Scotland. Very clean and tidy. Reasonably priced and nice to find a bar there!

Helpful?
Thank swimmertwice
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you swimmertwice for taking the time to write your review, regarding your visit to our Blacksmiths Restaurant. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit, and found us to be clean and competitive. We will share your comments with our catering team. We hope you enjoyed your stay in sunny Scotland and look forward to you visiting us again. Thanks... More 

Level Contributor
129 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2016 via mobile

After a long trip from oban we came here after being diverted from moffat due to illness in the village i loved the blacksmiths area and all 12 of us needed refreshments the cafe area was ok but could be improved 8/10

Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank You Andrew R for taking time out to write your review regarding your visit to our Blacksmiths Restaurant. We are glad you liked your visit, we are always looking for new idea's to improve our offering in the Restaurant, your comments have been noted and on your next visit you will see them and let us know your views.... More 

Travelers who viewed Blacksmiths Restaurant also viewed

Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
Gretna, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Blacksmiths Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Cuisine
British, Scottish
Meals
Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available
Good for
Large groups, Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Headless Cross | DG16 5EA, Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Dumfries and Galloway  >  Gretna Green
  • Phone Number: 01461-33-83-65

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Blacksmiths Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?