We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blacksmiths Restaurant

British, Scottish
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Headless Cross | DG16 5EA, Gretna Green, Scotland
01461-33-83-65
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 77: English reviews
cumbria
Level Contributor
198 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

we had been shopping at gretna gateway and all the cafes were busy so i could remember calling in here on a coach trip for coffee so thought would be ok. my husband is gluten free so often have trouble getting food. we looked round it was about 1.00 so not to late no staff on the hot plates everything... More 

Helpful?
Thank TripMember03312015
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016

The atmosphere is good, food was good, but lacking a little in the menu selections. Meal we had was roast turkey and it tasted good, was served quickly and hot.

Helpful?
Thank Paul T
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2016

We were at a recent wedding here and had time so nipped in for a sandwich. Sandwiches were £3.65. They were very poor quality and tasted awful. We had to stop on the way back home so went in for some hot food in the hope this was better. Husband steak pie was very poor with hardly any steak, my... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kirstie H
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Kirstie H thanks for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent trip to our Blacksmiths Restaurant. I'm sorry that we didn't seem to get anything right on your visit from start to finish. It's a shame you didn't take the time to tell us the problems at the time, instead of waiting to post on trip... More 

Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2016

Was here entertaining customers & colleagues at work. Service was good and the food was really tasty. I would definitely return again.

Helpful?
Thank William P
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you William P for taking the time to write your review about the Blacksmiths Restaurant. We are pleased that you found the food and service to be of a good standard, and hope your customers and colleagues enjoyed it also. I will feed back your comments to the staff, and we look forward to seeing you again. In the... More 

Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
325 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2016

We had lunch here and the steak pies were yummy! We also had drinks and cakes. There was a wedding going on as we got there which added to the atmosphere. The food was good, the coffees and teas were good, the tray bake cakes were very tasty. A nice place on a sunny day.

Helpful?
Thank Grangie60
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you Grangie60 for taking time to write your review regarding your visit to our Blacksmiths Restaurant. We are pleased that you enjoyed you food, our Steak Pie is a very popular choice with a lot of our customers. It was good to hear you enjoyed you tray bake cakes as we have recently changed a lot of our cakes,... More 

Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2016

We stopped here both ways for our holiday in Scotland. Very clean and tidy. Reasonably priced and nice to find a bar there!

Helpful?
Thank swimmertwice
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you swimmertwice for taking the time to write your review, regarding your visit to our Blacksmiths Restaurant. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit, and found us to be clean and competitive. We will share your comments with our catering team. We hope you enjoyed your stay in sunny Scotland and look forward to you visiting us again. Thanks... More 

Level Contributor
120 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2016 via mobile

After a long trip from oban we came here after being diverted from moffat due to illness in the village i loved the blacksmiths area and all 12 of us needed refreshments the cafe area was ok but could be improved 8/10

Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank You Andrew R for taking time out to write your review regarding your visit to our Blacksmiths Restaurant. We are glad you liked your visit, we are always looking for new idea's to improve our offering in the Restaurant, your comments have been noted and on your next visit you will see them and let us know your views.... More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2016

Nice setting and enjoyed our visit. Welcoming feel and lucky to see wedding taking place with carriage and horses.

Helpful?
1 Thank HAPPYBUNNY968
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks HAPPYBUNNY for taking the time to write your review of our Blacksmiths Restaurant. We are delighted that we made you feel welcome and you enjoyed your visit to the Restaurant. We even managed to squeeze a wedding in for you as well. Not hard with the amount of Weddings we do though. Hope you will visit us again in... More 

Level Contributor
146 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2016

We stopped in here on a bus trip South. The comfort break was most welcome but, the restaurant was kind of average. Not very well organised when we were there!

Helpful?
Thank Stuart W
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for review. I am sorry you were disappointed on your last visit and thought things to be average and not well organised. We have obviously taken our eye off the ball for that day. Please accept my apologies. I will look into this further and discuss with the team that was on duty that day and see where... More 

Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2016

Recently stopped at Gretna for lunch on our way home from Loch Lomond with National Holidays. We where famished. We both had lasagne, chips and peas and it was delicious hearty food; a lovely big portion and really tasty. The staff where very friendly and accomodating. Will definitely stop here again on our next trip.

Helpful?
Thank Katrina A
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you Katrina A for taking the time to let us know about your recent visit to our Blacksmiths Restaurant. We are pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us and you found the staff to be friendly and accommodating. Its always good to hear when you do something right and I will share your comments with the team, who... More 

Travelers who viewed Blacksmiths Restaurant also viewed

Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
Gretna, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Gretna, Dumfries and Galloway
Gretna, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Blacksmiths Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Cuisine
British, Scottish
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating
Good for
Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Headless Cross | DG16 5EA, Gretna Green, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Dumfries and Galloway  >  Gretna Green
  • Phone Number: 01461-33-83-65

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Blacksmiths Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?