We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Blacksmiths Restaurant

$$ - $$$
British, Scottish
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Headless Cross | DG16 5EA, Gretna Green, Scotland
+44 1461 338365
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 93: English reviews
England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We decided to visit gretna on our way home from the most wonderful break in the yarrow valley. Everything we had experienced thus far was traditional and provided us with wonderful memories of Scotland. I suppose like many people we had a fairly romantic image of Gretna in our heads cut to it's history and the wonderful stories we've heard.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Akita4England
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having lived quite near to Gretna Green but never visited, this was my chance to have a look. well what a wonderful place to experience. The various shops were high quality and the restaurant was well worth a visit. The Blacksmiths shop with its various anvils for weddings was a great experience too.

Helpful?
1 Thank David C
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2017

We stopped off here for lunch on our way home from Scotland. We wanted a hot meal but although there was food on the counters there was a distinct lack of staff to serve you. As the place was getting busier by the coach load we decided to have a sandwich and hot drink, that was a mistake as the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Wendz11
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry you were disappointed in your visit, and found our selection of sandwiches poor, we usually have a good variety on display with over 12 different fillings. Our Conservatory is closed in the winter months and we only use it as an over spill for seating when we run... More 

Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
400 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2017

Coffee machines were not operating correctly, and required to get a staff member to get coffees(from another machine) scones were stale, and could not recommend visiting this restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank michieg121
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I apologise for the coffee machines we have had quite a few problems of late with them, but you will be pleased to know we are in the process of upgrading them to give you a better quality coffee, minus the breakdowns. My apologies for your scone also, our scones our... More 

manchester england
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2016

Stopped off and decided to try the restaurant.A great selection of food and the puddings/ cakes were great.Very busy but service was quick and our waitress was very chatty and helpful regarding food choice.

Helpful?
Thank fennerjames
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you fennerjames for taking the time to write your review regarding your visit to our Blacksmiths Restaurant. We are pleased you found that the selection of food, puddings and cakes were to your liking, and our staff where very helpful. I will share your comments with our staff, who will greatly appreciate your feed back. Thanks Again for your... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2016

Only stopped for a coffee and hot chocolate. Was going to have something to eat but felt it was overpriced. The work surfaces around the coffee machines were littered with half full cups, contents had spilt over the areas too. Sat outside to take in the atmosphere. The bins had not been emptied, wasps flying all around, litter on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nigel H
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you Nigel H for taking the time to write your review. Sorry you thought our food was on the expensive side. We constantly review our prices throughout similar eating establishments in the area, and have always found that we are competitively priced, not to cheep but not overly expensive either. The coffee machines as you know are all self... More 

Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2016 via mobile

Gretna is a great place to stop. All the food is freshly cooked!not like motorway services rubbish, and very cheap compared to services.I'm a coach driver and always stop here going to and from Scotland

Helpful?
Thank ableman
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you ableman for taking the time to write your review, it is much appreciated. We are pleased that you enjoy your stays when travelling. We are obviously getting something right or you wouldn't be bringing you guests to visit us. Please say hello on your next visit, as lt would be good to have a face to the review.... More 

Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2016 via mobile

Staff most unhelpful, and downright miserable. Food tasteless, and bland like staff. Over priced. Don't waste your time or money

Helpful?
1 Thank Marbees26
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you Marbees26 for taking the time to write your review, regarding your latest visit to our Blacksmiths Restaurant. I am sorry you didn't seem to enjoy any aspect of your visit. Quite a contrast to the other review we received that day, totally the opposite of what you seemed to have experienced. I will however pass on your comments... More 

Moray
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2016

Lovely restaurant, nice surroundings, spacious and reasonably pric.ed. Enjoyed the whole Blacksmiths experience and would go back

Helpful?
Thank Paco35
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks you for taking the time to write your review, regarding your visit to our Blacksmiths Restaurant. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit, and you enjoyed our Homemade Soups. I will pass on your kind comments to our kitchen team. Thanks Again. Bill Hudson Catering Manager, Gretna Green Ltd. More 

Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2016

Limited selection of sandwiches, cake cut and wrapped in cling film! Having chosen my sandwich and sitting down to enjoy it, it was horrible due to condensation in the packaging the bread was wet and soggy. I requested a refund the lady on the checkout was rude! Food expensive.

Helpful?
Thank 141Ellie141
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry to hear about your soggy sandwich, and the member of staff was rude when you received your refund. All our sandwiches are freshly made each day, and I was somewhat surprised you found a poor selection, as sandwiches are being made from 8,30am till 4.00 pm constantly... More 

Travelers who viewed Blacksmiths Restaurant also viewed

Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Gretna, Dumfries and Galloway
Gretna, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Blacksmiths Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
British, Scottish
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Headless Cross | DG16 5EA, Gretna Green, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Dumfries and Galloway  >  Gretna Green
  • Phone Number: +44 1461 338365

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Blacksmiths Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
5 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Blacksmiths Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?