We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Blacksmiths Restaurant

$$ - $$$
British, Scottish
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Headless Cross | DG16 5EA, Gretna Green, Scotland
+44 1461 338365
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 89: English reviews
manchester england
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stopped off and decided to try the restaurant.A great selection of food and the puddings/ cakes were great.Very busy but service was quick and our waitress was very chatty and helpful regarding food choice.

Helpful?
Thank fennerjames
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you fennerjames for taking the time to write your review regarding your visit to our Blacksmiths Restaurant. We are pleased you found that the selection of food, puddings and cakes were to your liking, and our staff where very helpful. I will share your comments with our staff, who will greatly appreciate your feed back. Thanks Again for your... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Only stopped for a coffee and hot chocolate. Was going to have something to eat but felt it was overpriced. The work surfaces around the coffee machines were littered with half full cups, contents had spilt over the areas too. Sat outside to take in the atmosphere. The bins had not been emptied, wasps flying all around, litter on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nigel H
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you Nigel H for taking the time to write your review. Sorry you thought our food was on the expensive side. We constantly review our prices throughout similar eating establishments in the area, and have always found that we are competitively priced, not to cheep but not overly expensive either. The coffee machines as you know are all self... More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Gretna is a great place to stop. All the food is freshly cooked!not like motorway services rubbish, and very cheap compared to services.I'm a coach driver and always stop here going to and from Scotland

Helpful?
Thank ableman
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you ableman for taking the time to write your review, it is much appreciated. We are pleased that you enjoy your stays when travelling. We are obviously getting something right or you wouldn't be bringing you guests to visit us. Please say hello on your next visit, as lt would be good to have a face to the review.... More 

Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Staff most unhelpful, and downright miserable. Food tasteless, and bland like staff. Over priced. Don't waste your time or money

Helpful?
1 Thank Marbees26
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you Marbees26 for taking the time to write your review, regarding your latest visit to our Blacksmiths Restaurant. I am sorry you didn't seem to enjoy any aspect of your visit. Quite a contrast to the other review we received that day, totally the opposite of what you seemed to have experienced. I will however pass on your comments... More 

Moray
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely restaurant, nice surroundings, spacious and reasonably pric.ed. Enjoyed the whole Blacksmiths experience and would go back

Helpful?
Thank Paco35
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks you for taking the time to write your review, regarding your visit to our Blacksmiths Restaurant. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit, and you enjoyed our Homemade Soups. I will pass on your kind comments to our kitchen team. Thanks Again. Bill Hudson Catering Manager, Gretna Green Ltd. More 

Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2016

Limited selection of sandwiches, cake cut and wrapped in cling film! Having chosen my sandwich and sitting down to enjoy it, it was horrible due to condensation in the packaging the bread was wet and soggy. I requested a refund the lady on the checkout was rude! Food expensive.

Helpful?
Thank 141Ellie141
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry to hear about your soggy sandwich, and the member of staff was rude when you received your refund. All our sandwiches are freshly made each day, and I was somewhat surprised you found a poor selection, as sandwiches are being made from 8,30am till 4.00 pm constantly... More 

walsall
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2016 via mobile

Stopped on our way back south just about 11. No food apart from cold congealed breakfast. Sandwiches limited choice and cake wrapped in cling film . Not apertising at all. No staff around. Considering the number of coaches that stop here would expect much better.

Helpful?
Thank Cat8964
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry you were disappointed when you visited our Blacksmiths Restaurant. You arrived at 11.00am, and as it states on our menu tarrif, breakfast is served until 11.00, so at the time you arrived we would be in the transition of changing over from Breakfast to lunch menu, and... More 

Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2016 via mobile

Stopped here on our way up to scotland very busy place with coach parties, self service, so as quick as you want tables and seating area all clean, food ok. If you have time there are plenty of shops

Helpful?
1 Thank hugh f
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks you for taking the time to write your review, yes we are an extremely busy place, but we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to our restaurant. We appreciate your feed back. Thanks again. Bill Hudson Catering Manager. More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2016

Travelling south today, our coach stopped here for the required break. The layout of the main courses was confusing to say the least but I ordered what could see and shot looked nice which was a steak pie with chips and gravy. Sadly, the food didn't live up to its visual appeal. I can't deny that the pie was absolutely... More 

Helpful?
Thank elliecav
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks you for your review. We are sorry we didn't seem to get anything right for you on your visit. If you had told us at the time we could have rectified the situation immediately instead of waiting a couple of day s to let us know via tripadvisor. We will investigate as too why the food was not hot... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2016

This restaurant is pretty hit and miss, in my experience, and luckily my most recent visit was a hit! Half of the hot plates were empty and unmanned, so not sure if a switcharound is on the cards, as it always seemed that half the counters were unnecessary anyway! I always opt for whatever pasta bake is on offer there,... More 

Helpful?
Thank JH2711
Susan A, Manager at Blacksmiths Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write your review we appreciate your comments. We are pleased you and your friends were happy with your meals. We will try our best to be more of a hit than a miss from now on. Thanks Again for your comments. Bill Hudson Catering Manager. More 

Travelers who viewed Blacksmiths Restaurant also viewed

Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
Gretna, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Gretna, Dumfries and Galloway
Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Blacksmiths Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
British, Scottish
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Full Bar
Good for
Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Headless Cross | DG16 5EA, Gretna Green, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Dumfries and Galloway  >  Gretna Green
  • Phone Number: +44 1461 338365

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Blacksmiths Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
3 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Blacksmiths Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?