We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travelers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$9 - $30
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveler rating
105
77
23
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
105
77
23
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews haggis nachos cullen skink scallops curry few drinks selection of beers across the road nice bar staff were friendly recent visit lovely lunch at lunchtime harbourview grille hotel spirits barman draft
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed March 21, 2020 via mobile

There were very few places to eat so we tried the Black Sheep and we were not disappointed. Haggis nachos, seafood salad and haddock sandwich were all delicious. Great selection of whiskey’s.

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 15, 2020

Visited with friends for lunch and a few drinks. Great position on seafront at head of pier. Outside tabled area overlooking harbour....great for summer visitors. Good pub grub and selection of draft beers. Friendly efficient service. No complaints whatsoever.

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 14, 2020

Nice atmosphere and chatty and helpful staff worth a visit. They do pub food which look fine. The toilets very clean as was the bar. it was also quite busy and created a warm friendly atmosphere.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 23, 2020 via mobile

The room we had was so clean comfortable warm and spacious with a great view. We loved it. The food in the hotel was really good couldn’t fault it. Loved the breakfast and the restaurant decor was really nice. Entertain was in a sister hotel...guy playing guitar and singing he was really good but bit of an anti climax at the count down to the bells. Staff were really helpful and accommodating Had my son daughter and partner with us we had a fantastic new year.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 22, 2020 via mobile

I popped in to the black sheep pup, on my first visit in Campbell town. Inside I found a great selection of draft beers. The atom sphere was also great and the staff helpful and friendly. The decor was nice and the experience was great...overall.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed December 2, 2019

Arrived on a very chilly lunchtime and delighted to see a roaring fire. The place was sparkling and the service very helpful. We ordered two bowls of Cullen Skink and it was delicious. Would have loved to have stayed all afternoon but had to move...on. Willbe back!More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed September 30, 2019 via mobile

Stopped into the Black Sheep after our meal and stayed for more than the one planned. Great atmosphere and friendly staff aided to our experience. The choice of malts was good and knowledgeable barman was a great help. When in the toon this pub is...a must.More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
Greg S, Manager at The Black Sheep Pub, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2019

Many thanks for your kind words, John. We're glad you stopped in and that we convinced you stay even longer! -Greg Sherwood

Reviewed September 24, 2019

Went in to eat this evening, poor selection of beers. Barman indicated when asked that they were not serving food in the bar due to the hotel restaurant being busy and short of staff, fair enough despite one customer finishing his starter and awaiting his...main course. So a bit of a suprise when the other person behind the bar proceeded to take food orders from a group of 6 women, obviously local. A couple were sent through from the busy restaurant to be told no food, so they left. We finished our drinks and went to a decent venue, The Feathers. Service was non existent, excuses were pathetic, communication was appalling. No need to go back.More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?3  
Greg S, Manager at The Black Sheep Pub, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2019

Dear Alec, Thank you for bringing this situation to my attention. We care deeply about our guests and strive for perfection, and I’m sorry that your experience failed to meet our standards. After speaking with our management team and restaurant staff, I can assure you...More

Reviewed September 18, 2019 via mobile

Absolutely 110%, as always! LOVE this place so much - fantastic food, service, everything. Always guaranteed the warmest of welcomes. Can't wait to go back....🥰🥂👍🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿xx

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
Greg S, Manager at The Black Sheep Pub, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2019

Many thanks for your kind words! We love to hear that you've enjoyed all your visits - providing top-notch service and delicious dishes is so important to all of us. We hope to see you again soon! -Greg Sherwood

Reviewed September 18, 2019

We had lunch here, friendly comfortable bar dining room the food was good and reasonably priced the service was excellent.

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
Greg S, Manager at The Black Sheep Pub, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2019

Many thanks for your visit and feedback. We're glad we had the opportunity to welcome you and that you enjoyed your dining experience! -Greg Sherwood

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Arrandale Hotel
118 reviews
38.01 miles away
Savoy Park Hotel
1,114 reviews
38.01 miles away
South Beach Hotel
335 reviews
38.01 miles away
Horizon Hotel
727 reviews
37.89 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Cafe Bluebell
274 reviews
.04 miles away
Ardshiel Restaurant
220 reviews
.22 miles away
The Harbourview Grille
265 reviews
.02 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Glen Scotia Distillery
71 reviews
.31 miles away
Mull Electric Bikes
34 reviews
.11 miles away
Davaar Island Cave Painting of the Crucifixion
69 reviews
.56 miles away
Coastal Design
40 reviews
.06 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
F2640ARcarolp
May 15, 2017|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Greg S | Property representative |
Yes the Black Sheep pub is dog friendly and allows dogs to be with their owners out front in our street side beer garden overlook the bay. Dogs are also welcome at our Old Club House Pub the sister pub at the village in... More
0
Votes
paulbayley
March 17, 2015|
Answer
Response from Kyle B | Property representative |
Yes we do Paul - thanks for asking. We have SkySports 1 at both The Black Sheep Pub at The Royal Hotel and also The Old Clubhouse Pub next to The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages. We look forward to seeing you soon!
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing