We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carmelite Bar & Grill

Stirling Street | Merchant Quarter, Aberdeen AB11 6JU, Scotland
+44 1224 589101
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent23%
  • Very good31%
  • Average17%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible15%
Travelers talk about
“brownie” (7 reviews)
“scampi” (5 reviews)
Open Now
6:30 AM - 11:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
Steakhouse, European, British, Grill, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Stirling Street | Merchant Quarter, Aberdeen AB11 6JU, Scotland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 50 of 397 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2017 via mobile

Had a meal here on the 9th April & the food was amazing. Service, sorry folks, it's was a bit of a letdown. We ordered a bottle of wine, the waitress had to check with us three times which wine we ordered, then when it...More

Thank ANN J
GAaberdeen, Owner at Carmelite Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2017

Thank you for your comments, which I acknowledge some training needed on the service. reading your comments, re wine and coffees, I think this maybe down to language. We have recently employed a few newbies, who may have taken the wrong initiative in taking orders...More

Reviewed April 10, 2017

We went for mothers day 'Scrumptious' Afternoon Tea at £20pp and the reviews and the food that was listed on the menu sounded like it was going to be worth the £20 each however what arrived was okay but a little disappointing. There was a...More

Thank Becky P
GAaberdeen, Owner at Carmelite Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2017

Thank you for your constructive comments. We changed both the Classic and Scrumptious Afternoon Tea food standards, as we do on a 6 monthly review. I apologise for this mix up, and maybe the timing of this change should have different. Please contact me direct,...More

Reviewed April 6, 2017

Visited this restaurant on Friday evening after purchasing a Groupon deal. Starter and main for 4 people for £34. Great selection on menu, we did have to pay a supplement on a few of the items but still a bargain. Food was really tasty and...More

Thank julieking15
GAaberdeen, Owner at Carmelite Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2017

Thank you for your positive comments and I am pleased you had an enjoyable experience. We do endeavour to offer fun within our hospitality, along with the weekend live music. I hope to welcome you back soon.

Reviewed March 26, 2017

We had a table booked for 5pm. I had a bit of bother when booking the table and did mean to call to check I had a booking. We arrived about 4.45pm, not actually sure we were booked in but we did get a table....More

Thank Nutella11
GAaberdeen, Owner at Carmelite Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2017

Thank you for your constructive comments, and it does appear your visit coincided on a busy day. We clearly plan staffing round booked and forecasted covers, and every now and again, we do get caught with 'walk-ins' and residents adding to the plan. However, this...More

Reviewed March 17, 2017 via mobile

The room was welcoming but cold, and had to repeatedly ask for heater to be turned on. When my friend asked the manager about the heater an 1.5 hours into our visit, he raised his hand into her face and said he was busy! The...More

Thank Jackie196669
GAaberdeen, Owner at Carmelite Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2017

Thank you for your comments and I am disappointed to read of our managers apparent attitude, and I apologise on his behalf. It certainly looks like you had a collection of issues across your whole stay which we are usually successful in recognising and 'nip...More

Reviewed March 17, 2017

Best to give this place a miss (their famous afternoon teas may be better...). Understaffed - one waiter run ragged; one barman who then seemed to take over when the first waiter seemed to disappear. Lip service bland service and equally bland food - I...More

Thank Shirley M
GAaberdeen, Owner at Carmelite Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2017

Thank you for your comments, and I would appreciate discussing your experience in further detail and try have you return for a better experience. Please contact me direct.

Reviewed March 16, 2017

Good size rounds table for conversations and eye contact, good food, unusual dessert choices, not the usual choices

Thank Maglit
GAaberdeen, Owner at Carmelite Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2017

Pleased you enjoyed your steak, hope you return again soon for more interesting menu choices.

Reviewed March 9, 2017

The service was very good, the young chap was very pleasant and helpful. The food was disappointing. The sandwiches were ok, scone was nice enough but the cakes were disappointing. The chocolate cake was hard and the carrot cake was an end bit and felt...More

Thank Maureen C
GAaberdeen, Owner at Carmelite Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2017

Thank you for your kind words on service, and apologise for the apparent issue with the cake. I can assure you though, all our products are fresh, however agree we should not serve 'end pieces' of cake. This has been discussed with our kitchen team...More

Reviewed March 8, 2017

Stayed here for 2 nights and only had a drink in the bar which was fine if you can cope with copious tables of women enjoying birthdays/ prosecco high teas etc

Thank ShetlandLosa
Reviewed February 16, 2017 via mobile

Been here twice within a couple weeks. The first time with a group of friends on a busy Friday night. Service was mediocre.. but the food was lovely and everyone enjoyed what the had. I next visited on a Sunday evening with my family and...More

Thank 08091995
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 65 hotels in Aberdeen
Carmelite
733 reviews
.00 miles away
Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel
316 reviews
.06 miles away
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
502 reviews
.07 miles away
Rox Hotel
367 reviews
.07 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Madame Mews Thai Cafe
283 reviews
.04 miles away
Cafe 52
678 reviews
.06 miles away
Musa
617 reviews
.04 miles away
Contour Cafe
79 reviews
.05 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Aberdeen Maritime Museum
1,550 reviews
.13 miles away
Serco Northlink Ferries
129 reviews
.08 miles away
Tivoli Theatre
40 reviews
.05 miles away
Bon Accord & St Nicholas
15 reviews
.13 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Carmelite Bar & Grill staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$10 - $31
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
Good for
Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Open Hours
Sunday
6:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
6:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
6:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
6:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
6:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
6:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
6:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Stirling Street | Merchant Quarter, Aberdeen AB11 6JU, Scotland
  • Public Transportation: Well served by both bus and rail links.
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Aberdeenshire  >  Aberdeen
  • Phone Number: +44 1224 589101
  • E-mail
  • This restaurant is at Carmelite
Description
Carmelite Bar & Grill in Aberdeen's Merchant Quarter is a fabulous venue adjacent to the transport hub, and surrounded by FIVE of the City Centre under-cover retail centres. Known for our Intoxicating Afternoon Teas, with cocktails served from Vintage Coffee Pots into china cups, Saturdays also offer Mad Hatter Tea parties the private setting of the Library, and Rock & Roll parties in a 4 Poster Bed located in our lounge and our Waltzer with your own spinning booth. An extensive range of menus, from Breakfast & Brunch, "Wake Up till Noon" menu, a full A'la Cart style "All Day Menu' from noon till 10pm, complemented with a superb Cocktail, Champagne, Wines & Bar menu complete with "Lounge Food Nibbles" to choose from as well as afternoon teas. The antique revolving door leads into a hip lounge and informal bar & grill with floor-to-ceiling windows and sleek open plan design – a perfect backdrop for the warm service and uncomplicated cuisine.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing