We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carmelite Bar & Grill

Stirling Street | Merchant Quarter, Aberdeen AB11 6JU, Scotland
+44 1224 589101
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent23%
  • Very good31%
  • Average17%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible15%
2 weeks ago
“Really fine food and lovely waiters but slow service”
4 weeks ago
“Great food”
Open Now
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
Steakhouse, British, Grill, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Stirling Street | Merchant Quarter, Aberdeen AB11 6JU, Scotland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (414)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Came here with my family for Xmas day as they could apparently cater for allergies and it was a disaster from the get go. I went into pay the remainder of my meal and they had got the number of people wrong – not a...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Kim G
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My boyfriend and I booked in for a Hogmanay Meal where there was a few choices for all three courses which was great. The place was really busy on arrival in the main restaurant and the cost was £35 per person for the set menu....More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank KayleighG333
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked a family meal for after the pantomime, weeks in advance. I had an email the night before reminding me of my booking. I was then woken with a telephone call at 9am on the day to cancel my booking. No reason was given....More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank carolclose_10
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

16 of us went to the Carmelite for a Christmas lunch. We had a really good meal with great service. To be honest, I was not aware of this hotel before we went there. It is only a few minutes walk from the train and...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Brian M
Reviewed December 2, 2018

Arrived with a group of friends to be greeted by a man at the door who was quite rude but thinking he was funny we were shown to our table left 20 minutes waiting on drinks order then another 55 mins before our high tea...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Shiggyshoe
GAaberdeen, Owner at Carmelite Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience, which disappoints me as the owner - We do pride ourselves and receive many positive comments from our usual positive an welcoming hospitality. I apologise this was not the case here on your visit. I am confident there was...More

Reviewed October 23, 2018 via mobile

This was excellent value indeed! The coffee was great, the food was ‘as seen on screen’ which is always a relief with Groupon. The service was also much better than past experience so an all round 10 from me!! I would whole heartedly recommend 👍

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 201suzanner
GAaberdeen, Owner at Carmelite Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2018

Thank you for sharing your Brunch Stacker experience, and I am delighted you thoroughly enjoyed it. It's a great 'chilling out' experience - hope to welcome you back soon

Reviewed October 22, 2018

They have a history of booking musicians then not paying them. Take your money elsewhere, dont support this behaviour.More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank towley182
GAaberdeen, Owner at Carmelite Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2018

Carmelite has over a dozen entertainers associated with our live music acts, both local and international acts perform every weekend. We have never had any issues paying for services provided. This message is a slur campaign from a musician who arrived late and tried to...More

Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

Prohibition Aberdeen is not a place that I’ll be going back. Thought it was strange on a Saturday night with town seething with people that hardly any people here but we decided to order drinks and they were awful, only way to describe it the...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Thorn39
GAaberdeen, Owner at Carmelite Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2018

Looks like you have posted on the wrong site - we are not Prohibition, we don't have doormen and we certainly don't intimidate our customers. We at Carmelite make fabulous cocktails, have great food and warm hospitable service - may I suggest you visit us...More

Reviewed October 4, 2018

Their website claims that the afternoon tea is "simply divine" and "sumptuous" and is "renowned". Based on my experience, I struggle to see how they can justify such lofty claims. If this afternoon tea is renowned in Aberdeen, it would not be for good reasons....More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Traveller001Scotland
GAaberdeen, Owner at Carmelite Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2018

This is disappointing to read, which I will immediately review the recent change in presentation and standard. We do offer a very competitively priced Afternoon Tea Stand, and we rarely receive such adverse comments about the offering. So, it may have been a 'one off...More

Reviewed October 1, 2018

Please go here for the Sunday Roast, it is spectacular! Even better value if you buy the Sunday Roast Deal on Groupon. Sadly, the service isn't great with a lot of young staff not working together as a team very well, but the food is...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Suzi R
GAaberdeen, Owner at Carmelite Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

Thank you your positive review, and hopefully you will come back for another Sunday lunch - pleased you enjoyed the food. We will review your service comment as we tend to be more relaxed on a Sunday, which maybe needs addressing.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 66 hotels in Aberdeen
Carmelite
759 reviews
.00 miles away
Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel
323 reviews
.06 miles away
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
520 reviews
.07 miles away
Rox Hotel
373 reviews
.07 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Madame Mews Thai Cafe
300 reviews
.03 miles away
Cafe 52
692 reviews
.06 miles away
Musa
621 reviews
.04 miles away
Contour Cafe
79 reviews
.05 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Aberdeen Maritime Museum
1,609 reviews
.13 miles away
Serco Northlink Ferries
136 reviews
.08 miles away
Tivoli Theatre
46 reviews
.05 miles away
Bon Accord & St Nicholas
16 reviews
.13 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Carmelite Bar & Grill staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$6 - $31
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
Good for
Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 11:45 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 11:45 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Stirling Street | Merchant Quarter, Aberdeen AB11 6JU, Scotland
  • Public Transportation: Well served by both bus and rail links.
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Aberdeenshire  >  Aberdeen
  • Phone Number: +44 1224 589101
  • E-mail
  • This restaurant is at Carmelite
Description
Carmelite Bar & Grill in Aberdeen's Merchant Quarter is a fabulous venue adjacent to the transport hub, and surrounded by FIVE of the City Centre under-cover retail centres. Known for our Intoxicating Afternoon Teas, with cocktails served from Vintage Coffee Pots into china cups, Saturdays also offer Mad Hatter Tea parties the private setting of the Library, and Rock & Roll parties in a 4 Poster Bed located in our lounge and our Waltzer with your own spinning booth. An extensive range of menus, from Breakfast & Brunch, "Wake Up till Noon" menu, a full A'la Cart style "All Day Menu' from noon till 10pm, complemented with a superb Cocktail, Champagne, Wines & Bar menu complete with "Lounge Food Nibbles" to choose from as well as afternoon teas. The antique revolving door leads into a hip lounge and informal bar & grill with floor-to-ceiling windows and sleek open plan design – a perfect backdrop for the warm service and uncomplicated cuisine.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing