We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

James Street South

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
21 James Street South | BT2 7GA, Belfast BT2 7GA, Northern Ireland
+44 28 9043 4310
Website
Today
5:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Sat 5:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Wed - Sat 12:30 pm - 2:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

805 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 795: English reviews
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Have always wanted to try this restaurant and was really glad that we did. The a la carte menu is really expensive but the pre theatre menu is much more reasonable. There was a good choice on this menu when we were in and portion sizes were good. Definitely so where to visit again.

Helpful?
Thank GlobalTraveller063
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Excellent menu with locally sourced ingredients, good choice of dishes for all palates. Very good wine list.

Helpful?
1 Thank LiMcG
Belinda T, Reservations Coordinator at James Street South, responded to this review

Dear LiMcG Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review and sharing your kind comments with others. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Belinda More 

N. Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Simple surroundings and good food - the service, provided mainly by William, was attentive and charming...not sure we'd have enjoyed the experience quite as much had he not been there. He was knowledgeable when asked for advice about which wine to choose and our 11 yr old thought he was really "cool".... The food was good but not great....the cheeseboard... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank anniebr
Belinda T, Reservations Coordinator at James Street South, responded to this review

Dear anniebr Thank you for your recent review and taking the time to share your comments with others. We are pleased that you enjoyed most of your evening and William looked after you well and are sorry if you felt let down by other parts. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards Belinda More 

London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

This restaurant is lovely - the food is delicious and locally sourced and the ambience is charming and the service is excellent.

Helpful?
1 Thank Claire S
Belinda T, Reservations Coordinator at James Street South, responded to this review

Dear Claire S Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review and sharing your kind comments with others. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Belinda More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely service , warm welcome , quiet when we visited but it was a rainy midweek evening. I had the Guinness Salmon then the Cod, both were exceptional also loved the champ and garlic cabbage. This is a must on a business trip to Belfast.

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
Belinda T, Reservations Coordinator at James Street South, responded to this review

Dear Michael W Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review and sharing your kind comments with others. We are delighted you enjoyed your meal and look forward to welcoming you back to Belfast soon. Kind Regards Belinda More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I dined at James Street South for our wedding anniversary. We sampled the tasting menu with wine. The whole experience was heavenly and the tastes were sensational. Presentation and service were exemplary. Both the restaurant and the bistro next door make beautiful lemon drop martinis! If you're looking for somewhere special I would highly recommend James Street... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank David R
Belinda T, Reservations Coordinator at James Street South, responded to this review

Hi David R Thank you so much for your recent review and taking the time to sharing your kind comments with others. We are delighted you enjoyed celebrating you wedding anniversary with us and look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Belinda More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Amazing food and service, first time there and can wait to go back. From starter to main course everything so tasty. . . . . . . . .

Helpful?
1 Thank Abcde34
Belinda T, Reservations Coordinator at James Street South, responded to this review

Dear Abcde34 Thank you so much for your recent review and taking the time to share your kind comments with others. We are delighted you enjoyed your evening with us and look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Belinda More 

Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Food great and beautifully presented but atmosphere is for me and my colleagues stifling. The formal approach is not to my taste which is a pity the food is first class. It is expensive given the execellent competition Belfast offers.

Helpful?
Thank ps001303
Belinda T, Reservations Coordinator at James Street South, responded to this review

Dear ps001303 Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal. We are sorry if you felt let down by the atmosphere as we do try to make our customers feel relaxed and comfortable. Kind Regards Belinda More 

County Monaghan, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Possibly the worst meal I've ever eaten. Came here to continue the celebrations for my birthday and what an absolute disappointment! From first glance at the menu, I was unsure. Usually, there are two or three options that I just can't decide between but on this occasion, I had to try to pick the best of a not very appetising... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank 41sin_adm
Belinda T, Reservations Coordinator at James Street South, responded to this review

Dear 41sin_adm We are so disappointed to read your recent review and we are so sorry that you felt so let down by your experience. This is certainly not how we intend our customers to feel. Our manager William remembers speaking with you on the night and he is very sorry that you have left feeling this way. Kind Regards... More 

Belfast
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very expensive for a meal of average quality. Small portions which now seems to be the norm for 'upmarket' establishments. £32 for a small steak ( of average quality ) + another £4 for each vegetable is a little excessive. Won't even mention the wine list ! Have eaten here before and enjoyed it but really not impressed this time.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank dunluce
Belinda T, Reservations Coordinator at James Street South, responded to this review

Dear dunluce We are so disappointed to read your recent review and apologise if you felt let down by your experience as this is not how we want our customers to feel. We are saddened that you say you won't return. Kind Regards Belinda More 

Travelers who viewed James Street South also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to James Street South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$22 - $93
Cuisine
Irish, European, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Dining Style
Fine Dining
Good for
Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Open Hours
Monday
5:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Tuesday
5:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Wednesday
5:30 pm - 9:30 pm
12:30 pm - 2:30 pm
Thursday
5:30 pm - 9:30 pm
12:30 pm - 2:30 pm
Friday
5:30 pm - 9:30 pm
12:30 pm - 2:30 pm
Saturday
5:30 pm - 9:30 pm
12:30 pm - 2:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 21 James Street South | BT2 7GA, Belfast BT2 7GA, Northern Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  Belfast>  > City Centre
  • Neighborhood: City Centre
  • Phone Number: +44 28 9043 4310
Description
City Centre Restaurant with Cookery School. Using the best of Northern Iris produce for a seasonal menu. Set lunch and pre theatre daily from fifteen pounds and fifty pence for two courses, A La Carte and Tasting Menu always available. Now with Private Dining Room and The Bar and Grill, a more casual dining option located next door.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of James Street South and other visitors
6 questions
Ask a question
Chipping Campden, United Kingdom
2 months ago
Belfast, United Kingdom
Chipping Campden, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from James Street South staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?