We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Northern Whig

$$
British, Grill, Pub, Gastropub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
2-10 Bridge Street, Belfast BT1 1LU, Northern Ireland
+44 28 9050 9888
Website
Improve this listing
Today
12:00 pm - 1:30 am
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 1:30 am
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 319 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 103
    Excellent
  • 85
    Very good
  • 59
    Average
  • 35
    Poor
  • 37
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Average

Haven't been to this place in years so called in between shopping for a cocktail which I must add was delicious however the barman looked less than enthusiastic about having to make it. The restaurant area seems too very popular so I'll be back to try the food.

3 of 5 starsReviewed 2 days ago
Lovetotravel8910
,
Belfast, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

319 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Craigavon
Level Contributor
141 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

£10 for 2 courses mid week is great value for money . Great choice on menu..pasta , burgers , chicken, risotto, pork , beef and fish ...good variety. Friendly service.

Helpful?
Thank Turky26
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Haven't been to this place in years so called in between shopping for a cocktail which I must add was delicious however the barman looked less than enthusiastic about having to make it. The restaurant area seems too very popular so I'll be back to try the food.

Helpful?
Thank Lovetotravel8910
Thornton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

We called in on a night out but the smell of the venue made us leave very promptly. It looked great but needs to smell great too.

Helpful?
Thank Mairead T
TheHoratioGroup, Manager at Northern Whig, responded to this review

Hey We have brought your review you the attention of the people that matter and can assure you that the problem is being addressed. Many Thanks The Northern Whig Management Team More 

Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015

Expected much more based on on-line and friend's reviews. Service was slow (staff off sick) but the waiter stank of nicotine and the place was almost empty. Fish n'chips would have been just okay at ~£5 but at almost £10 they were poor - I'll try something else next time.

Helpful?
Thank Robin B
TheHoratioGroup, Manager at Northern Whig, responded to this review

Hey Thanks for the review and we can only apologise that you feel our food is not worth the amount we charge. Staff being off sick should not reflect slow service so for that we are sorry. Many Thanks The Northern Whig Management Team More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015 via mobile

First time back here in about 10 years. Holey Moley. Do these people ever taste their food - in here with my son having one burger and one pasta and I have to say I have been really surprised (in a bad way) by the quality. Think Tesco ready meals. In fact, get a Tesco meal, pay less and don't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sean M
TheHoratioGroup, Manager at Northern Whig, responded to this review

Hey We are sorry you feel that our food is not up to your standards however considering the volume of both these dishes we serve daily we have yet to receive feedback like yours. Thanks The Northern Whig Management Team More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2015 via mobile

Had a lovely experience here. Went there expecting Christmas menu which had unfortunately finished and there were no vegan options on the standard menu. The waitress was so helpful and spoke to the chef who agreed to make a stuffed pepper minus the dairy. I was very impressed with how willing they were to accommodate me! The food was so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Littlem0tel
TheHoratioGroup, Manager at Northern Whig, responded to this review

Hey Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review and we are glad you enjoyed your experience. We hope to see you again soon Many Thanks The Northern Whig Management Team More 

Belfast
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2015

I was here for a Christmas do. My starter (portobello mushroom) was very small (although delicious), but my main (nut roast) was lovely, and a friend who had the stuffed pepper was very impressed. Those having meaty options also had no complaints. I had Christmas pudding for dessert, with rum and raisin icecream, and again it was very nice. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank jimbtho
TheHoratioGroup, Manager at Northern Whig, responded to this review

Hey Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you enjoyed your experience and can only apologise about the slow service at the bar. We have passed on all comments regarding food to our chef's. Many Thanks The Northern Whig Management Team More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2015 via mobile

I know you don't expect the best meal at a Christmas dinner but for £25 plus an extra £2.50 each service charge I was expecting a lot better than what I got. I didn't even get the right meal, apparently someone else had taken mine! The main meal consisted of a huge pile of mashed potato with whatever meat you'd... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lee M
TheHoratioGroup, Manager at Northern Whig, responded to this review

Hey We can only apologise that we did not meet your expectations regarding Christmas dinners. All feedback regarding food has been past onto our chef's. Many Thanks The Northern Whig Management Team More 

CO.ANTRIM
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015

Called in here in Sunday and Monday 13th and 14th December both times around 4/5 o'clock..Place was very busy on Sunday, but managed to get a seat ok..Pleased with my Guinness and Wife had a lovely cocktail.We stayed for about 1hour and the table which was rammed with empties wasn't cleared in that time..Things took a turn for the worst... More 

Helpful?
Thank JeffCo_antrim
TheHoratioGroup, Manager at Northern Whig, responded to this review

Hey Thanks for leaving us a review, we are glad you enjoyed your drinks enough to come back two days in a row. Our toilet issues have been raised and we can assure you that we are doing our best to ensure this does not happen again. We hope this doesn't put you off coming back to visit us again... More 

Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015 via mobile

Went here for our work Christmas late lunch and drinks. Had the stuffed mushroom for starter and seabass for main - both of which were good and tasty enough, only criticism ..I know it's Ireland but what a lot of spuds with the fish!! I had the mini desserts for afters, not great- to be honest you would be better... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank M B
TheHoratioGroup, Manager at Northern Whig, responded to this review

Hey Thanks for leaving us a review regarding your Christmas lunch. I'll be sure to pass on your comments to our chef's regarding the food. Christmas is a very busy time for ourselves and drink orders can take a bit longer than normal. We hope to see you again soon Many Thanks The Northern Whig Management Team More 

Travelers who viewed Northern Whig also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Northern Whig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 2-10 Bridge Street, Belfast BT1 1LU, Northern Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  Belfast
  • Phone Number: +44 28 9050 9888

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 10 - 25
  • Cuisine: British, Grill, Pub, Gastropub
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 1:30 am
Monday
12:00 pm - 1:30 am
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 1:30 am
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 1:30 am
Thursday
12:00 pm - 1:30 am
Friday
12:00 pm - 1:30 am
Saturday
12:00 pm - 1:30 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Northern Whig staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?