We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Inn

6 Swansea Road | Penllergaer, Swansea SA4 9AQ, Wales
+44 1792 894097
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good22%
  • Average14%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible20%
Travelers talk about
“mixed grill” (3 reviews)
“beef” (4 reviews)
“curry” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
6 Swansea Road | Penllergaer, Swansea SA4 9AQ, Wales
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 215 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

For a pub meal the choice is good and at reasonable cost. It was a busy night and we did not have to wait long for our meals. Staff are friendly and courteous. Meals were filling and value for money, would recommend for a local...More

Thank Susan M
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A year since my last visit. Enjoyed my potato and courgette soup and gammon. Pleased the onion rings were an improvements on last visit. Having grown up in the Valleys, but now living in England, my son was able to have the local delicacy of...More

Thank Jango1969
OldInnManager01, General Manager at The Old Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Jango1969 Many thanks for your lovely review and feedback, we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your meals and that there was an improvement since your last visit. I shall pass all your comments onto the team. We look forward to serving you...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Food was great and well priced, a great range of wine and beers, not too expensive. Fabulous for kids, board games for kids and adults. Well worth a visit!

Thank LizzyJH06
OldInnManager01, General Manager at The Old Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello LizzyJH06 Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a lovely review. The board games are a great addition! Warm Regards Tracey & The Team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Called after a walk in local area. Food was unfortunately the worse I've ever eaten out we should have known when a family were complaining just as we had ordered ours. The seafood platter to share was only just enough for one. The sweet potato...More

Thank CezTom
OldInnManager01, General Manager at The Old Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good Morning CezTom Thank you for taking the time to review us we can only learn and improve from such feedback. I have passed on your comments to the kitchen team and will take up the no check back comment with the FOH team too....More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked table for a catch up with some pals. Staff were brilliant and the sirloin was perfect. Definitely call again.

Thank ChrisHire
OldInnManager01, General Manager at The Old Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi ChrisHire Thank you very much for the lovely review you have given us, it was our pleasure serving you and your friends and we look forward to you all visiting again in the future. Kind Regards Tracey & The Team

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My wife and I have visited this restaurant many times and always enjoy the welcome, attention and quality of fare they produce there! Our last visit was Sunday last and although we called at 2.45pm they were still able to furnish us with either a...More

Thank phillip o
OldInnManager01, General Manager at The Old Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Phillip O Thank you very much for our lovely review, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoy your visits with us and shall pass all of your comments onto the team. Warm Regards Tracey & The Team

Reviewed October 13, 2017

Family travelled from Lancashire, Berkshire and Gwent to meet up for a meal. The Old Inn in Penllergaer is ideally situated off the M4. The food, as usual, was tasty and good value for money, we would thoroughly recommend the curry with the side dishes.More

Thank evvansC
OldInnManager01, General Manager at The Old Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi EvvansC Many thanks for our lovely review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us, our curries are becoming a favourite! I will pass your comments on to the team and we hope to welcome you again soon Kind Regards...More

Reviewed October 5, 2017 via mobile

Went there Saturday with my husband for a meal and have been many times before and it's always been 'Ok' Ordered the steak, restaurant seemed pretty quiet so thought it wouldn't be much of a wait. 40 mins later out come out meals along with...More

2  Thank Charlotte H
OldInnManager01, General Manager at The Old Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Charlotte I'm very sorry to read of your poor quality steak and I have passed your feedback onto our catering department. I have also taken up your issues with my own kitchen team and FOH staff as the service you were presented with this...More

Reviewed September 30, 2017

Called there this lunchtime, had Lasagne, asked if I wanted chips, was charged £1.75 extra, no side salad, wife had chicken and jacket potato, side salad consisted of two lettuce leaves, potato was so cold a knob of butter in middle did not melt, chicken...More

1  Thank byron898
OldInnManager01, General Manager at The Old Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review and I am sorry that your visit was less than satisfactory - I have passed your comments onto my team and will investigate findings. Kind Regards Tracey

Reviewed September 17, 2017

Six of us meet for a catch up. The atmosphere was nice. Food and drink was very good Children are made very welcome..

Thank Lesley D
OldInnManager01, General Manager at The Old Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Hi Lesley Always pleasant to read such positive reviews Lesley - thank you for taking the time out to do so and I have passed your comments onto my team. Warm Regards Tracey & Team

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Buck Inn
313 reviews
1.18 miles away
Tafarn-y-Trap
57 reviews
1.65 miles away
Toby Carvery The Cockleshell
383 reviews
1.43 miles away
Lezzet Authentic Restaurant
171 reviews
.61 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Sherwoods
8 reviews
3.40 miles away
Funsters Play Factory
59 reviews
3.54 miles away
Penllergare Valley Woods
304 reviews
.45 miles away
Dylan Thomas Birth Place
194 reviews
3.89 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Chanty M
August 24, 2017|
Answer
Response from Tracey M | Property representative |
Hi ChantyM Yes we now allow dogs into our small bar area. Hope to see you soon! Kind Regards Tracey
1
Vote
Heather G
June 18, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from OldInnSwansea | Property representative |
Yes we do have disabled facilities and they are situated next in the front lobby.
1
Vote
Mike H
April 14, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from OldInnSwansea | Property representative |
Hi Mike We have a small walled garden for your dog at present we do not allow them in the pub but this is being looked at as we speak - fingers crossed soon they will be allowed in our bar area. Tracey
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Large groups, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Friday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 6 Swansea Road | Penllergaer, Swansea SA4 9AQ, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  South Wales  >  Swansea County  >  Swansea
  • Phone Number: +44 1792 894097
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing