We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sand Martin

) #265 of 914 Restaurants in Cardiff $$ - $$$ , British,
Fford Fred Keenor, Cardiff CF11 8ER, Wales
+44 29 2023 2526
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good21%
  • Average11%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible11%
Travelers talk about
“scampi” (5 reviews)
“beef” (8 reviews)
“pudding” (6 reviews)
Open Now
11:30 am - 11:00 pmAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Fford Fred Keenor, Cardiff CF11 8ER, Wales
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a great time here before the champions league. Food was fast and good considering how busy the place was! Thank youMore

Thank Gizmondo88
Luke F, Manager at Sand Martin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Gizmondo88, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts after visiting. It was a very busy day with the football, but we are glad you enjoyed your visit! Next time you are in, please make yourself known to either myself,...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Walked in for a meal, ordered two chicken burger meals, nothing special. Buns were not great, something between dry and aerated. Mustard mayo missing off the wife's. Didn't complain as in a rush. Service was fine, however...... Popped to the toilet before leaving to find...More

Thank Chompyswede
Luke F, Manager at Sand Martin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Chompyswede, I'm awfully sorry you did not enjoy your meal here with us, it's a real blow when we fail to deliver the high standards we set for ourselves, and we do try our upmost to rectify any issues at the time. With regards...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited on a bank holiday Monday. Hardly any staff took ages for table to be cleared food was not good. Place was cleanMore

Thank jadeperri
Luke F, Manager at Sand Martin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi jadeperri, I'm really sorry you did not enjoy your visit with us, we strive to deliver the best possible service and food to you, and I'm sorry you felt we did not. I will look further into why this has happened in order to...More

Reviewed May 20, 2017 via mobile

Was disappointed with their carvery on Sunday. Everything tasted like frozen food including the meat. Food was hard with no taste what so ever. Nothing was fresh, me & my partner left still hungry. Very disappointed as I have been here quite a lot over...More

Thank jaydeashleighxx
Luke F, Manager at Sand Martin, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi jaydeashleigh, I'm awfully sorry to hear you left disappointed after visiting us, we work really hard on delivering the best possible customer service and food, and apologise if we did not deliver this. I can assure you nothing is frozen, as a company, we...More

Reviewed May 4, 2017

I have reviewed the Sand Martin before, but not for over a year. This is my local family pub/restaurant, and we eat here several times a month. In the past month we have had both evening meals from the menu - fish and chips (fantastic!),...More

Thank Athravan
Luke F, Manager at Sand Martin, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2017

Hi Athravan, It's great to hear that you enjoy coming to our establishment, the team are really committed to delivering the best possible service to you, our loyal guests! I also love the yee ha burger, it's very tasty, I'm glad you enjoy it too!...More

Reviewed April 30, 2017 via mobile

Took my sons and grandsons to this establishment today, i personally have been about 4 times previous but yet again hot food, very tasty, and good portion sizes. The establishment has a huge restaurant area where you are able to enjoy your company without anyone...More

Thank mike0410
Luke F, Manager at Sand Martin, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2017

Hi mike0410, Thanks very much for your lovely review after visiting us, I will pass on your kind words to the team, as they will then know the hard work they are putting in is paying off! Next time you are in, please make yourself...More

Reviewed April 21, 2017

We call in to The Sandmartin regularly for a no cooking date night without the children. It's local, clean, good value for money and has excellent parking. We usually have the 2 for £10 menu, it really is a bargain. There is a fair choice...More

Thank Ceriann G
Luke F, Manager at Sand Martin, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2017

Hi Ceriann G, Thank you so much for a brilliant review, it's always refreshing to hear when we are getting things right, I will pass your comments onto the team, as I'm sure they will be delighted to hear them! Next time you are in,...More

Reviewed April 20, 2017

Neither my husband or I fancied cooking this evening so we went to the Sand Martin. They have a new 2meals for £10 menu. There are 10 meals on the menu and vegetarians are well catered for. We both had rump steaks and salad and...More

Thank Tomskid53
Luke F, Manager at Sand Martin, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2017

Hi Tomskid53, It's always great to hear when the hard work we are putting in is paying off, so thank you for leaving your feedback with us! The deal is very good value, so come and try it again soon, as it may not be...More

Reviewed April 17, 2017 via mobile

I visited this place with friends for dinner as it was a central point for all of us to eat. I wasn't particularly expecting great things...just picked the place at random for a bite to eat! However, I was very impressed. There was plenty of...More

1  Thank Louiselizzy
Luke F, Manager at Sand Martin, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2017

Hi Louiselizzy, Thank you very much for your brilliant review after visiting us, we pride ourselves on delivering the best possible customer service and food to all of our valued guests. The dessert cabinet is very popular here, and yes there is a large selection,...More

Reviewed March 29, 2017 via mobile

Visited a few times, for the carvery and the food off the menu. Good choice and decent prices too. The portions are large and definitely worth the money. Also the carvery is as good an most other carvery chainsMore

1  Thank WelshPride2011
Luke F, Manager at Sand Martin, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2017

Hi WelshPride2011, Thank you so much for leaving your excellent review, we work really hard on delivering the best possible service and food to you, our valued guests! Next time you are in, please make yourself known to either myself, or another senior member of...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Calabrisella Cardiff
509 reviews
.57 miles away
Janata Palace
78 reviews
.55 miles away
The Lansdowne
72 reviews
.46 miles away
Happy Gathering
299 reviews
.58 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Tramshed Cardiff
90 reviews
.79 miles away
Victoria Park
81 reviews
.89 miles away
Chapter
175 reviews
.64 miles away
Cardiff City Stadium
209 reviews
.11 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
AlfieL10
can you book a table on a saturday?
May 12, 2017|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from Luke F | Property representative |
Hi, Yes, you can book a table for any day, the only time we do not accept bookings is when there is a match or event on in the stadium next door. Many thanks.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Fford Fred Keenor, Cardiff CF11 8ER, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  South Wales  >  Cardiff
  • Phone Number: +44 29 2023 2526
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing