We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Deri Inn

) #616 of 914 Restaurants in Cardiff $$ - $$$ , British,
Heol y Deri | Cardiff, South Glamorgan, Cardiff CF14 6UH, Wales
+44 29 2062 6237
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good14%
  • Average11%
  • Poor18%
  • Terrible27%
May 10, 2017
“New menu ”
May 4, 2017
“Mothers Day”
Open Now
11:30 am - 11:00 pmAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Heol y Deri | Cardiff, South Glamorgan, Cardiff CF14 6UH, Wales
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 100 of 334 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2016 via mobile

Had an amazing meal with friends on Saturday, they did tell us there would be an hour wait but it was clearly busy - we even got our food within 45 minutes! They looked completely rushed off their feet but seemed to keep a smile...More

Thank Bethan M
deriinn, Manager at Deri Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2016

Hi Bethan, Thanks for taking the time to review us, I'm very pleased you and your friends had an enjoyable experience Saturday evening. I'm glad to hear my team communicated with you appropriately as to the wait for food, and I'm even more pleased they...More

Reviewed September 19, 2016

Ate here on a Saturday night with my 17 yr old niece, my 12 yr old son, my 84 yr old mother and myself. Table booked for 6.30pm. All started fine. We all chose food off the two course deal menu. Placed our main course...More

Thank Catherine C
deriinn, Manager at Deri Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2016

Hi Catherine, Thank you for taking the time to review us here at The Deri, I'm sorry your visit didn't live up to your expectations. Unfortunately, sometimes, there can be an extended wait for food, and due to the vast layout of the pub it...More

Reviewed September 17, 2016 via mobile

Every experience I've had at The Deri has been more than pleasant and this occasion was no different. The friendly staff and speedy service is always a delight, and the food is good quality and hearty - just what you need after a long day...More

Thank Stephanie C
deriinn, Manager at Deri Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2016

Hi Stephanie, Thanks so much for you excellent review, I'm glad to see we are ticking all the boxes for you and all your family. We look forward to seeing you again soon :) Thanks Natalie

Reviewed September 17, 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I popped in for lunch today. He had cod and chips. I had burger and chips. The chips were well overcooked, the fish was greasy but the burger was beautiful. Onion rings were ok. The food in general could have been hotter...More

Thank All_Honey27
deriinn, Manager at Deri Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2016

Hi, I'm sorry to hear you were impressed with your food on this occasion, I hope you brought this up to the team while you were here and they were able to sort this out for you. I will also be raising the issue of...More

Reviewed September 14, 2016 via mobile

My god. I previously wrote a review a stated that the service was bad to which I had a response to day they are trying to improve! ! Well a quick update that no improvement has taken place. I was there last night and it...More

Thank Simon P
deriinn, Manager at Deri Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2016

Hi Simon, I'm very sorry to hear about your disappointing visit I will be speaking to the team member in question, as this is unacceptable behaviour. Please can you email us at deriinncardiff@emberinns.co.uk so we are able to speak directly to you Many thanks Natalie

Reviewed September 14, 2016 via mobile

Been back 3-4 times in past few months, experience EVERY time mirrors comments on here (poor service, dirty tables, bad food, staff don't care). Manager seems like a nice guy, but apologies few and far between. Cold chips sent back, warm ones sent out as...More

1  Thank Aisling P
deriinn, General Manager at Deri Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2016

Hi, First of all, thank you for taking the time to review us, secondly i'm disappointed to hear that you have had some negative experiences with us here at the Deri, as we pride ourselves on making visits enjoyable for our guests. Our team are...More

Reviewed September 13, 2016 via mobile

Absolutely amazing food totally worth the 25 mile trip to visit don't know what people are on about on here. Amazing food friendly staff and I recommend the ultimate burger deffo worth a visit (even the dinosaur is full)More

Thank Tardis500
deriinn, General Manager at Deri Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2016

Hi, Thank you for your excellent review, we work very hard to maintain a high standard, so the team will be chuffed to read your comments and see they are being recognised. I'm also glad the dinosaur had an enjoyable meal. Hope to see you...More

Reviewed September 2, 2016 via mobile

Overcooked steak and the food had obviously been kept warm for a long time. .. crusty mash potato, despite us telling our server we had moved indoors to a warmer spot. No communicating between staff apparently they'd been looking for us for 10 minutes. Appalling...More

1  Thank saladwilliams
deriinn, General Manager at Deri Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2016

Hi, I'm sorry to hear about your disappointing experience here at the Deri, team communication is very important to us here, so this will be an issue I will be taking up with my team to ensure this does not happen again. I hope this...More

Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

Food is OK and fairly reasonable. Not amazing dood but not awful - standard pub grub. Quite quick to be brought to you.More

Thank SianFon
deriinn, General Manager at Deri Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2016

Hi Thanks for your review. We are a pub that serves food , but like to think that we serve good food at affordable prices. We have some great lunchtime and evening offers that are well received by the guests. Hopefully we will see you...More

Reviewed August 20, 2016 via mobile

Visited here on a Saturday lunch time as a foursome. The place was very quiet and we had been sent here on a recommendation from our relative who lives locally. Firstly the service. This is the single worst episode of customer service any of the...More

1  Thank lugg2004
deriinn, General Manager at Deri Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2016

Hi Thanks for taking time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am not sure when you exactly visited as you mention a comment of 'we've got a new chef'. I have a settled kitchen team and have for quite a while now. It disappoints...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Gateway Of India
359 reviews
.54 miles away
Manor Parc Restaurant
88 reviews
.72 miles away
Ozzy's Sandwich Bar
60 reviews
.88 miles away
The Butchers Arms
162 reviews
.44 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Castell Coch
1,261 reviews
1.65 miles away
Mountain View Ranch
287 reviews
1.83 miles away
Parc Cefn Onn
99 reviews
1.99 miles away
Thornhill Farm Shop
111 reviews
1.50 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Deri Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$5 - $19
Meals
Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 12:00 am
Friday
11:30 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Heol y Deri | Cardiff, South Glamorgan, Cardiff CF14 6UH, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  South Wales  >  Cardiff
  • Phone Number: +44 29 2062 6237
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing