We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Tue, 6/15
8:00 PM
About
The Old Cottage is an idyllic village pub that is bursting with character, endless charm, and flawless style. The perfect escape from the demands that come hand in hand with everyday life, this premium pub, bar, and restaurant is perfectly equipped to accommodate all of your dining requirements, no matter what the occasion. With an expansive menu and great selection of wines, real ales, and lagers on offer every day of the week, The Old Cottage is a great place for a three-course meal, celebratory drinks, or even a refreshing cold pint on a summer’s day. We are also a child friendly pub, so please feel free to bring your little ones along to enjoy lots of family friendly fun. We even have a
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (792)
Filter reviews
790 results
Traveler rating
270
188
116
117
99
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
270
188
116
117
99
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scallops enjoyable lunch food was lovely lovely evening jenny
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Excellent vegan menu, it’s always a welcome sight when you are given your own menu to choose from. Excellent starter of mixed mushrooms on toasted bread followed by a main course of a coconut curry served with boiled rice. Too full to try dessert!

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at The Old Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are glad that you were impressed by the vegan options we have available and look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have been here many times and it is a lovely place and staff are friendly and helpful, however they are clearly stretched, condiments never arrived nor a glass of water asked for. Can understand. Starters were lovely but the Sunday roast was luke warm...at best. Perfectly edible but not warm enough. Could have asked for it to be microwaved but took a view to just get on with it. Some of our group had fresh cooked stuff and all very good. On this occasion, sorry guys for the Sunday Roast. Average at best. We will be back and would recommend the place but will order off menu next timeMore

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?1  
General Manager A, Manager at The Old Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited on only on the second day of the indoors being open and was a fantastic experience! The staff were lovely, it felt covid safe and the good was super tasty! I'd highly recommend and cant wait to return!

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at The Old Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

241naomic, thank you for your kind words and this wonderful review! We look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First lunch out post lockdown. Excellent food and very welcoming staff. Our waitress couldn’t have been more helpful

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Cold food all round, raw leeks that were unpleasant for everyone and to top it off an unsuitable child's dinner with small bones included. Complained to staff that it was dangerous for a 3 year old and they did not apologise or even care. Never...going backMore

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

So lovely to be back at the Old Cottage for a post-lockdown family meal and birthday get together - really great food (thanks to Leon and Kelly) and a friendly welcome and great service from Sophie. Safe and clean too. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
General Manager A, Manager at The Old Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We are so pleased to hear you had a great time with us. We will pass your kind words onto our team. We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed May 6, 2021 via mobile

Despite the hail stones, wind and rain we were well looked after under a large umbrella with heating. The service was friendly and helpful, the food was lovely. I had the dirty burger, my friends had the chicken and my wife had a salad. We...all enjoyed it.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed May 5, 2021 via mobile

Went for lunch with some friends. Weather was a bit cool, but the intermittent hail showers didn’t spoil our lunch. The staff did a great job, managing to keep cheerful and serving us at the table. We all enjoyed the food. Just great to be...out.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed May 5, 2021 via mobile

As long time regulars we have to commend Sophie and her team for providing a warm welcome, great service and excellent food,on a very chilly afternoon with the odd shower. The garden is well served by umbrellas and the main one has heaters above. We...were dressed for the temperature and brought blankets for knees. An enjoyable afternoon was had.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed December 9, 2020

delicious 3 course meal - enjoyed by myself and 2 other friends Had salmon/ prawn, pork followed by eton mess. Others had turkey dinner. Special online sign up offer so we had 50% off the festive menu which was real bonus.

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?1  
General Manager A, Manager at The Old Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2020

Michelle W, thank you for sharing your positive experience! We look forward to your next visit! Take care!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Manor Parc Country Hotel
242 reviews
.94 miles away
New House Country Hotel
1,197 reviews
1.15 miles away
Masons Arms
46 reviews
2.29 miles away
ibis Cardiff Gate - International Business Park Hotel
747 reviews
2.47 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Lazy Panda
13 reviews
.89 miles away
Manor Parc Restaurant
135 reviews
.94 miles away
Miller & Carter - Thornhill
882 reviews
.88 miles away
Pendragon
341 reviews
.83 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Mountain View Ranch
425 reviews
2.27 miles away
Caerphilly Mountain
326 reviews
1.95 miles away
COFFI VISTA Caerphilly
221 reviews
2.44 miles away
Y Galeri
22 reviews
2.45 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
roxymccraig
September 10, 2020|
Answer
Response from KINGUNCLE | Reviewed this property |
Safe to say we’re going to have to disagree on this one.
0
Votes
William R
November 13, 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Ben W | Reviewed this property |
Well I learnt from Gavin that the pies come in pre cooked pastry and are prepared off site! I'd also like to thank you for bringing to our attention being called trouble makers - I've already sent an email to the CEO and a... More
1
Vote
patgriff600
July 2, 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Bernie F |
Hi Pat. You can use this card but you won't receive any discount. Thanks, Bernie.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Old Cottage

The Old Cottage is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3
  • Atmosphere: 4