We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Summerhouse

Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Bute Park, Cardiff, Wales
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

26 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Showing 26: English reviews
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I've been going to the Summerhouse in Bute Park for many years - it's such a great asset to the park. Wonderful location and usually (weather permitting) a hive of activity. This year a new franchisee has taken over the venue and reading from the recent reviews, it would appear to be not quite as good as it used to... More 

1 Thank Haydn P
Level Contributor
181 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Cheap roll with bland sausage and dry egg followed by burnt tea cake and lukewarm, weak coffee. Nothing more to say but avoid and go to secret garden cafe nearby.

2 Thank David M
Level Contributor
355 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lukewarm cappuccino and a burnt toasted tea cake. Won't be going here again. It could be so much better and is in a great location in Bute Park.

1 Thank louiseholistic
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were interested to see what this cafe was like under new ownership. It turned out to be a change for the worse. We had two rolls - each of cheap shop bought white bread, with no salad provided. The menu is extremely ordinary. I was given instant coffee from a tin! The girl serving seemed to have no idea... More 

1 Thank Rodgent
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Didn't eat there then, was too disgusted with the place, have eaten there before, and to be fair the food and drinks were quite reasonable

1 Thank Roger B
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016 via mobile

Came here with high expectations. I was very dissappointed. This place is nothing more than a stationery burger van offering very very low quality, greasy cheap and nastie food. Lovely location but shame they can't be bothered to give their customers anything more than the awful food you would get at a dodgie burger van. Very dissapointed considering the lovely... More 

3 Thank Ozcymru
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2016

Went the the park today on our usual family outing.We always stopped off at the Summerhouse.NOT ANY MORE! What a rip off.I paid £2.20 for a tub with half a scoop of ice cream in it.The people that have taken over this establishment need to have a rethink.How you can think this is good trade is beyond me.I visit the... More 

3 Thank PAUL S
Nicola D, Owner at The Summerhouse, responded to this review

Hi Paul Thank you for sharing your recent experience. As a new team it is so important for us to hear the good, the bad and the ugly. We're really sorry you didn't feel our ice-cream was of good value - if you had come to see us on the day we could have rectified the issue. Our goal is... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2015 via mobile

Stopped for a mid ride coffee. Staff very pleasant and the coffee was lovely. So nice, I returned later in the day for a panini. Just what the doctor ordered!

Thank James P
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2015 via mobile

We haven't been here before and honestly didn't even know it was here. We came here Saturday before the rugby started, it was very busy but were served quickly by a lovely polite girl. Then sent around for coffee. The system seems to work very well. We ordered food and thought we would have to wait for a while as... More 

1 Thank sjones29
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2015

Arrived here at 3.30pm on a sunny September afternoon.Most of the tables had been cleared and put away leaving around three tables to choose from. Put in my order for two latte's to be greeted with a sigh from the young lady serving. She obviously didn't want to be there and got the feeling she didn't want us to be... More 

1 Thank Ieu1

Travelers who viewed The Summerhouse also viewed


Been to The Summerhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    4 of 5 stars
Cafe, British
Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating
Good for
Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bute Park, Cardiff, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  South Wales  >  Cardiff
This is a fab cafe in Bute Park in Cardiff. It opens at 8.00am and does wonderful cooked breakfasts, even on Sundays. Lunches,snacks etc.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Summerhouse staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?