We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Maenllwyd Inn

Rudry, Caerphilly CF83 3EB, Wales
+44 29 2088 2372
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good25%
  • Average15%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible11%
Travelers talk about
“scallops” (20 reviews)
“belly pork” (17 reviews)
“cheesecake” (14 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 PM - 11:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Welsh, Brew Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Rudry, Caerphilly CF83 3EB, Wales
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (1,348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,348 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Great atmosphere. Always made to feel welcome. Good selection of food and excellent service. Will return

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank Sue L
Reviewed 2 days ago

I have been here about 5 times now and it can be a be a bit hit and miss. Went there last Sunday and it took 45 mins to be served our roast dinner after having to go find the waiter to take our order...More

Review collected in partnership with Chef & Brewer
Thank kimdavies344
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Very very disappointed. We had booked a table a few days before and upon arrival were told we would have a 15 minute wait for our table. (we didn't mind waiting for a short while as we could see they were very busy) 15 minutes...More

Thank Danielle M
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Visited this restaurant for a family birthday. What a beautiful pub hidden in the Welsh countryside and is very popular. The pub itself has a lot of history and is a beautiful building. The staff were very welcoming and the food was of a very...More

Thank JacobsMAJ
Reviewed 5 days ago

Very nice setting lovely friendly service food not the best such a disappointment as the place has so much protential needs a Good chef to prepare good food

Review collected in partnership with Chef & Brewer
Thank Juliedrew69
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent food and service, staff always very polite Great venue.Alex is doing a great job covering while the manager is away.

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
1  Thank E5814FTkeiths
Reviewed 1 week ago

Been a few times in the past but this was the best. Went there for a family meal at the weekend and came away feeling great because everything just worked. We were attended to by great staff, especially Alex, the food was excellent - to...More

Thank Alastair M
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I went for a family birthday. I ordered the pork, the menue says served with crackling and stuffing. Is this not the best bit? The crackling and stuffing is the main reason why I ordered the pork bit I didn't get either of those and...More

Thank Amy R
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Would definitely recommend serving hot food on warm plates... instead of cold food on cold plates. Would make the meals much more enjoyable an prompt you to return.

Thank Georgie0808
Reviewed 1 week ago

We drove 140 miles from Warwickshire to take an uncle out for lunch as a treat, having not been to the Maenllwyd since the mid-1960's! Although it has changed beyond recognition, the ambience was warm, friendly and inviting. Alex, our server, was very attentive and...More

Thank janetandrichard
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Cefn Mably Arms Pub
59 reviews
2.77 miles away
Glanmors
261 reviews
2.75 miles away
Caerphilly Mountain Snack Bar
67 reviews
2.73 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Battlefield Live Caerphilly
8 reviews
2.27 miles away
Caerphilly Castle
1,427 reviews
2.83 miles away
Caerphilly Mountain
270 reviews
3.08 miles away
The Visitor Centre - Caerphilly
165 reviews
2.76 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
_nigelburnell
November 19, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Richard R | Reviewed this property |
I doubt it as it's not a general car park!
0
Votes
Tracey D
August 7, 2016|
Answer
Response from GeorgeBathampton | Property representative |
Hi there, unfortunately we are unable to you accommodate your request as we only now take booking for a maximum of 12 Guests. Kind regards Mike & Tony
-1
Votes
babe24-7
March 31, 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Mike W | Reviewed this property |
As its a country pub I'd assume so, but I'm not 100% sure. There are some benches with nice views by the overflow car park as well which should be dog friendly. Best bet is to call them and double check :)
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$40 - $60
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, Late Night
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Scenic view
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Rudry, Caerphilly CF83 3EB, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  South Wales  >  Caerphilly County  >  Caerphilly
  • Phone Number: +44 29 2088 2372
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing