We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The village diner

$
Cafe, British, Welsh
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Pottery Hill, Ewenny, Bridgend, Mid Glamorgan,, Bridgend, Wales
01656665468
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

25 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 25: English reviews
Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2016

I happened to call in last week with my wife who is in a wheel chair for afternoon tea at about 4pm and on wheeling my wife down the ramp, asked where the disabled toilets where so my wife could make a visit before we settled down for afternoon tea. No disabled toilets, but toilets up the ramp, to the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tiffer1946
Awhite1969, Manager at The village diner, responded to this review

We are so sorry to hear of your disappointment it is regrettable about our toilet situation as for the staff attitude and using her mobile I am so sorry to hear this and all staff will be spoken too about this situation I would like to express our deepest apologies More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2016 via mobile

I had lunch with my partner and two children yesterday at the cafe and I will not be visiting again as two of us now are unwell with cramping stomachs and nausea and vomiting. We should have complained at the time but three of us had chips which were tough and some were raw. Also of the tables were covered... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Nat O
Awhite1969, Manager at The village diner, responded to this review

Unfortunately as explained to you on day we had a problem with the chips that was delivered that day that they wouldn't cook properly hence why you was given a alternative meal as you could see by tables we was extremely busy so was struggling to keep up with clearing , I am sorry to hear you didn't feel well... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2016 via mobile

Lovely girls and food ok but not on the ball re service. Meal was not hot enough and everytime we asked for something it was brought 5 mins later. No one seemed to be in charge.

Helpful?
Thank SusieQ12390
Awhite1969, Manager at The village diner, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write s review the diner is a family run business so one member of the family is always there on premises either on the counter or in the kitchen cooking so can't always be seen but in future any problems ask to speak to one of us and we be happy to help... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2016 via mobile

Me and my mum come here all the time for lunch, we love the food! The only place we can find that does real home cooked dinners (real food) not pub grub that you find everywhere!!! Corned beef pie chips and gravy every time!! Yummy! Don't even get me started on the cakes and desserts... To die for! :)

Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaWilliams056
Bridgend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2016

Prompt service with a smile. we chose where we wanted to sit.the waitresses were attentive and pleasant.

Helpful?
1 Thank John_C186458
Port El Kantaoui, Tunisia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2016

Full welsh breakfast comprises of two sausages, two eggs, two rashers of fat free bacon, beans /& toms, toast 2, "proper" sliced fried potatoes, with extras if hungry - nice cup of tea (coffee not so good). Lunches served as well as Sunday cooked lunches; tea and a large variety if cakes, snakes; a good choice all round with parking... More 

Helpful?
Thank dafudd
Awhite1969, Manager at The village diner, responded to this review

Thank you very much for kind review always appreciated More 

Neath Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2016 via mobile

Visited with friends. Was nice and full, so seemed popular. Cakes looked delicious and fresh. Tea was lovely and served in nice clean crockery. Food was of good quality and quantity! Price was good value. Nice atmosphere. Service needs improving, but not so much that it caused us any real problem...one tea was forgotten which had to re-ask for and... More 

Helpful?
Thank JFoodie456
Awhite1969, Manager at The village diner, responded to this review

Thank you for kind review More 

Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2015

Called in here after spending the night in the camper near Ogmore beach. Good value breakfast at a reasonable price. Enough said.

Helpful?
Thank chris j
Awhite1969, Manager at The village diner, responded to this review

Thank you for kind review More 

Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2015

Good place to eat, clean and excellent value for money, the portions are huge, service is good and the staff are friendly, the only fault is the toilet, outside across the car park and not very clean to say the least

Helpful?
Thank heckum457
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2015

Went to the Village Dinner last Saturday for breakfast with my family, the girl on the counter was really helpful, if a little dizzy, we had a lovely breakfast which we found was really good value. The deserts looked amazing, pity it was morning time as we would definitely have got stuck into them. Overall we will definitely be going... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ruby Thomas t

Travelers who viewed The village diner also viewed

Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Ogmore, Vale of Glamorgan
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to The village diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Cafe, British, Welsh
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Takeout
Good for
Dining on a budget, Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Pottery Hill, Ewenny, Bridgend, Mid Glamorgan,, Bridgend, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  South Wales  >  Vale of Glamorgan  >  Bridgend
  • Phone Number: 01656665468

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The village diner staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?