We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shire Horse

Bath Road | Littlewick Green, Maidenhead SL6 3QA, England
+44 1628 825335
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent27%
  • Very good23%
  • Average20%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible15%
Travelers talk about
“mixed grill” (8 reviews)
“sea bass” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Gastropub, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Bath Road | Littlewick Green, Maidenhead SL6 3QA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (587)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 586 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Even though we were told the wait time for food would be 45 mins we didn’t think that would be bad considering it was a Saturday. However instead we waited over an hour an half with no one coming anywhere near us to apologise for...More

Thank 234jag28
Reviewed 1 week ago

Waited for an hour and a half for food. When arrived it was cold!!!! Everyone that worked there kept giving us different excuses for the delay. Whilst my husband was at the bar waiting to speak to someone there were three other people complaining.

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank patriciamckee1
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have never written a review about a place before but I feel compelled to after today’s visit. First time visiting today and suffice to say it’ll be the last. Waited over half an hour to be served, the lady then gave me the wrong...More

1  Thank Far2410
marinsimona, Manager at Shire Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and please accept our apologies for the service received on your visit. Please be reassured that this is not how we usually operate and we are working very hard to overcome the...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We waited ages at the bar to order food and when we finally got served we were told the kitchen was shut!!Whats that all about?Why wasnt a sign put up to tell everyone?More

Thank Zanna8
marinsimona, Manager at Shire Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Zanna, We are sorry you had to experience that, we did have an unexpected issue in the kitchen that meant we had to shut at short notice and did not have time to make a sign especially considering the volume of guests we still...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Birthday party lunch very poor service waited over an hour food poor roast potatoes very hard roast pork not from a joint had good meal here before today very poorMore

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank thrtylerfamily
marinsimona, Manager at Shire Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear guest, As you know, the service you had on your last visit is not our usual service and we are sorry that we fell short on your birthday, please email us your contact details at 6236@greeneking.co.uk , we'd like to present our apologies in...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were in the restaurant for a total of nearly 3 hours. Upon arrival there was barely anyone in the restaurant but it took for us to approach the bar to order drinks, it was then a further half an hour before they arrived. We...More

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank jadestoney1990
marinsimona, Manager at Shire Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and please accept our apologies for the service received on your visit. Please be reassured that this is not how we usually operate and we are working very hard to overcome the...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Having just visited Cliveden we drove past this pub and decided to have a quick drink on the way home. The weather was nice so we sat outside, the garden seating was ok however the beer barrel planters flowers were dead, it would really enhance...More

Thank Sharon C
marinsimona, Manager at Shire Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Sharon, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We spoke with our gardeners to freshen the plants up a little bit and hopefully it will happen soon. We look forward to you visiting and trying our menu. Best wishes, Jan

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

All staff we engaged with were very friendly and were clearly working hard. The meals were all very good - steak, pie (clearly home made), hunters chicken , couldn't fault the food. The reason for the low rating? It took 3 hours for us to...More

Thank SpangleFizz
marinsimona, Manager at Shire Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for your time writing this review. We are experiencing some challenges with our kitchen at the moment but, as the food states, we are working very hard to overcome these. We look forward to you visiting again. Best wishes, Jan

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A relaxing pleasant pub environment just off the A4 as you drive away from Maidenhead. It's a favourite lunch spot for me, with excellent parking facilities, a wide range of traditional and good value dinner and lunch menus, a tasty selection of snacks as well...More

Thank davidG7863ST
marinsimona, Manager at Shire Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear David, Thank you for taking the time to write, we are pleased to see our efforts are being recognised and we value your input as a regular guest. The Shire Horse team is looking forward to all your future visits. Best wishes, Jan

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We are a young family and were greeted by a freindly waitress. Unfortunately it was mainly downhill from there. After ordering we waited for about an hour for our food with no explanation given as to why there was a delay. We ordered a 2nd...More

Thank Dinerclan123
marinsimona, Manager at Shire Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear guest, We usually let our guests know when there is a wait, please accept our apologies that somehow we missed telling you, a lesson to be learned indeed: this was discussed with the team and action plan is in place to avoid recurrences. Thank...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 hotels in Maidenhead
Hurley House Hotel
127 reviews
1.53 miles away
Kingswood Hotel
66 reviews
1.83 miles away
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor
1,212 reviews
1.90 miles away
Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa
709 reviews
2.04 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Crown
202 reviews
.98 miles away
The Cricketers
116 reviews
.79 miles away
Stubbings Cafe
150 reviews
.53 miles away
Thatched Cottage
107 reviews
.66 miles away
Nearby Attractions
BCA Zoo
56 reviews
1.00 miles away
Animal Rangers
25 reviews
2.99 miles away
Norden Farm Centre for the Arts
188 reviews
1.23 miles away
Maidenhead Heritage Centre
99 reviews
2.44 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Bosh4
May 9, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from marinsimona | Property representative |
Hi! TRADITIONAL ROASTS Roast topside of beef£10.99 Trio of roasts£11.99 beef, turkey and pork with all the trimmings Roast turkey breast£9.79 with sage & onion stuffing Roast pork loin£9.79 with sage & onion stuffing Roast... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$8 - $29
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bath Road | Littlewick Green, Maidenhead SL6 3QA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Berkshire  >  Windsor and Maidenhead  >  Maidenhead
  • Phone Number: +44 1628 825335
  • E-mail
Description
Great british pub offering excellent value for money food and an excellent range of real ales lagers wines and spirits. Cosy fires in winter and a large garden for the summer
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;