We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blue River Cafe

The Bridge Bridge Road, Maidenhead SL6 8DW, England
+44 1628 674057
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent15%
  • Very good26%
  • Average20%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible23%
Feb 18, 2018
“Hotel Restaurant”
Feb 8, 2018
“Breakfast after a stay in the hotel.”
Open Now
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Bridge Bridge Road, Maidenhead SL6 8DW, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (659)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 653 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Out with friends and we decided to go out for Sunday Lunch, rang the Blue Cafe and they were most helpful to say it was a booking with no warning. They fitted us straight in we all decided to have the Carvery and it was...More

Thank pauldF2294NT
gmthames2017, General Manager at Blue River Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed two days at the adjacent hotel and had my breakfasts and dinners here. It was quiet most of the time, though they appear to hold weekend events (tribute acts and weddings). Tables at the far end have great views of the bridge and...More

Thank Stephen A
gmthames2017, General Manager at Blue River Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your kind review, so glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Thames Riviera on a future occasion.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited today as we were in the area, truly awful. At the bar, as the server was waiting to serve us, we were discussing the limited Easter menu on offer; expressing our disappointment that not even a side order of chips or a sandwich menu...More

Thank Victoria W
gmthames2017, General Manager at Blue River Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments. My sincere apologies for your experiences - would you contact me in person,please. Kind Regards Jonathan Brown Interim General Manager 01628 674057

Reviewed March 3, 2018

Really nice situation right on Maidenhead Bridge, interior welcoming and nice river views - Menu has something for all, Sunday Carvery is good

Thank Whetherby
Neil W, Manager at Blue River Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review We look forward to welcoming you back soon Regards Neil Wheeler Group Operations Director

Reviewed February 26, 2018 via mobile

We only stayed one night, bar was a rip off, £2.00 for a squirt of lemonade to go in my Malibu. Breakfast was warm and swimming in fat, bacon dried out, undercooked fried eggs, yuk not going there again.

Thank jacky p
Neil W, Manager at Blue River Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review I would ask that you contact me directly to discuss your disappointing comments Regards Neil Wheeler Group Operations Director

Reviewed February 18, 2018

If you are staying at the Riviera Hotel you get 20% off your first meal or a free drink.To be honest,that is what most people were in there for I suspect ,as didnt fancy going in there on our second evening. Food wasn't too bad...More

Thank MAZ865
Neil W, Manager at Blue River Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your honest review - we take all feedback on board to work on improvements with our team We look forward to welcoming you back soon Regards Neil Wheeler Group Operations Director

Reviewed February 8, 2018

Friendly service,good juice and cereal followed by poached eggs on toast with bacon,yummy.Coffee stewed and awful.

Thank Jo S
Neil W, Manager at Blue River Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your honest review I will look at our coffee supplier for improvements Regards Neil Wheeler Group Operations Director

Reviewed February 7, 2018 via mobile

I have been a loyal frequent customer for a couple of years now and for me they offer the best deal for a Sunday Roast (£ 11 ish) around town!!! Plus unlimited help to vegetables too!!! And if sunny, you can seat outside at the...More

Thank Robert S
Neil W, Manager at Blue River Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review We look forward to welcoming you back soon Regards Neil Wheeler Group Operations Director

Reviewed January 30, 2018

We decided to visit this place despite reading all the reviews and it was not the best decision really. The slow cooked meal we ordered was not good. It was very okay. Some of the people in the cafe are really nice but the food...More

Thank tanveerraval
Neil W, Manager at Blue River Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your honest review I would ask that you contact me directly to discuss your experience Regards Neil Wheeler Group Operations Director

Reviewed December 29, 2017

Absolutely awful experience. Slow service at bar and in the restaurant. Food cold when it arrived, was not offered any condiments, had to find someone to ask. Food was returned, at the extremely high price of a Christmas lunch, this was not acceptable. Food was...More

Thank sharon s
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 hotels in Maidenhead
The Thames Riviera Hotel
757 reviews
.02 miles away
The Thames Hotel
253 reviews
.21 miles away
Taplow House Hotel
705 reviews
.62 miles away
Premier Inn Maidenhead Town Centre
461 reviews
.78 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Bianco Nero
266 reviews
.55 miles away
Grenfell Arms
266 reviews
.27 miles away
Miller & Carter Steakhouse
426 reviews
.53 miles away
Thai Orchid - Maidenhead
367 reviews
.06 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Engage Watersports Ltd
74 reviews
.49 miles away
Boulter's Lock and Ray Mill Island
260 reviews
.69 miles away
Oak And Saw Village Inn
43 reviews
.79 miles away
Maidenhead Heritage Centre
96 reviews
.70 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Blue River Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$10 - $36
Meals
Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Monday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Bridge Bridge Road, Maidenhead SL6 8DW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Berkshire  >  Windsor and Maidenhead  >  Maidenhead
  • Phone Number: +44 1628 674057
  • E-mail
Description
Located on the River Thames, it has the ideal scenery with a large beer garden and terrace perfect for summer dining. Indoors is spacious, with comfy seating areas and live sports throughout the day. Live music is also available on Friday evenings in our bar area.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing