We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Calverley Arms

#735 of 1,516 Restaurants in Leeds}
$$ - $$$, British,
Calverley Lane | Calverley, Pudsey, Leeds, England
+44 113 255 7771
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent19%
  • Very good33%
  • Average17%
  • Poor17%
  • Terrible14%
Travelers talk about
“chicken pie” (6 reviews)
“festive menu” (8 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Calverley Lane | Calverley, Pudsey, Leeds, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 30 of 458 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2017

Booked a table for the family for 17.00 on Sunday. Waited ages for the mains to come, thought we'd been forgotten about. I ordered the sirloin steak with all the trimmings. The beef was over cooked and the veg was cold and uninspiring. I also...More

Thank fazwolda
General Manager A, Manager at The Calverley Arms, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2017

Fazwolda, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We regret that you had a negative experience, and will use this as an opportunity to improve. Regards Craig

Reviewed September 24, 2017 via mobile

I went on a Sunday and had the roast beef duo platter and the meat just fell off the bone and was so tender - great quality Sunday roast , and Emma was very friendly and welcoming . Will definitely be going again

Thank danielalackhoff
General Manager A, Manager at The Calverley Arms, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2017

Hi Daniel, Thank you so much for this review, myself and the team really appreciate your comments. Kind Regards Craig

Reviewed September 17, 2017 via mobile

This place looks great to look at but really you will find it's overpriced and not all that! Ordered from the set menu which is the only reason why I bothered having dessert considering main course was so disappointing. Ordered steak well done. It came...More

Thank Jade871
General Manager A, Manager at The Calverley Arms, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2017

Hi Jade it is really disappointing to read your review and I can see how we have let you down. I want to offer to make this up to you and to investigate this further, if you are happy for me to do this then...More

Reviewed September 14, 2017 via mobile

Very nice place ..staff lovely ....nice intimate place to chat ....lovely garden ..nice place in the summer ..never had a meal there .but always busy

Thank joanne w
General Manager A, Manager at The Calverley Arms, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2017

Hi Joanne, Thank you so much for your kind review. ill make sure I pass it onto the team, they will really appreciate it. Kind Regards Craig

Reviewed September 12, 2017 via mobile

Visited with a friend last night and had dinner. Overall, a disappointing experience. I opted for pizza which was served on a wooden board - it was small, with a hard not crispy base which was very difficult to cut and dry with hardly any...More

Thank haribo26
General Manager A, Manager at The Calverley Arms, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

I'm very disappointed to read your review. we pride ourselves on having a great ambiance and serving fantastic food so it saddens me that this was not the experience you had. Thank you for the constructive feedback. I take it on board and will deal...More

Reviewed September 12, 2017 via mobile

A group of around 12 of us had a meal here on Saturday. The meals were lovely but a bit on the expensive side. The waitress was fantastic. Very attentive & double checked the orders. All our meals arrived together which I was very impressed...More

Thank lizzydrippin1412
General Manager A, Manager at The Calverley Arms, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Hi Lizzy Thank you for your nice review myself and the team are very pleased with it. Regarding the pricing, we keep an eye on the market, but try to keep it competitive with similar pubs and restaurants. Kind Regards Craig

Reviewed September 8, 2017 via mobile

Thought the menu offered a good range of choice for all the family and the food was very good. The service was excellent - will visit again.

Thank Esme1210
General Manager A, Manager at The Calverley Arms, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017

We really appreciate your positive review! We take pride in our work and love to get feedback like yours. Kind Regards Craig

Reviewed September 4, 2017

The pub looks inviting and is part of the Vintage Inns chain. Has a welcoming atmosphere BUT........that's it. Visited twice: once in July and once last week. Food in July so poor (salad mainly cucumber which swam in its own water in the bottom of...More

Thank PrestonBarry
General Manager A, Manager at The Calverley Arms, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017

Hi Barry, I'm sorry to hear about your experience, if you get in touch with me by email listing the issues you have had I will respond to you and see what I can do to make it up to you. calverleyarmspudsey@vintageinn.co.uk Kind Regards Craig

Reviewed August 29, 2017 via mobile

Visited this place yesterday afternoon. Took a while for drinks to arrive and waited ages for the food. Luckily we weren't in a rush. Food ok, but not amazing. Nice to sit out in the large beer garden in the sunshine.More

Thank Julie A
General Manager A, Manager at The Calverley Arms, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2017

Hi Julie A, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. I appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive...More

Reviewed August 28, 2017

I went for a meal last night, I ordered veggie burger and it was burnt and dry. My sister ordered a burger and it was very burnt so she complained to the waitress who didn't even apologise, just took it away and came back saying...More

Thank Carol B
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Deeva Restaurant
382 reviews
.98 miles away
The Fleece
53 reviews
.86 miles away
New Inn
19 reviews
.59 miles away
Clubhouse at Woodhall Hills Golf Club
5 reviews
.69 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Rainbow Factory
59 reviews
.83 miles away
Firefly Pottery
26 reviews
1.99 miles away
Emsley's Farm Shop
49 reviews
2.21 miles away
Old Kings Arms
18 reviews
1.69 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Thumper999
April 27, 2017|
Answer
Response from Craig T | Property representative |
Hi John Thanks for your query. All our room rates include a complementary continental breakfast. This includes fruit, yoghurts, cereal, meats, pastries and teas and coffee. If you decide you fancy a cooked English breakfast... More
0
Votes
small114
March 13, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from igthomson | Reviewed this property |
I believe so, yes. They are friendly enough so just ask!
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Scenic view, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Calverley Lane | Calverley, Pudsey, Leeds, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Leeds
  • Phone Number: +44 113 255 7771
Description
The Calverley Arms in Calverley is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing