We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Cork & Claw

#461 of 1,440 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
British, Bar, Grill, Pub
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
18 New Road | Yeadon, Leeds LS19 7SE, England
+44 113 391 0755
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Sun 12:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Tue - Sat 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Showing 99: English reviews
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A bit on the expensive side but worth it.I had the fish and chips and it was really good.The drinks are a bit pricey which bumps the bill up.The staff were very friendly.

Thank Dorothy E
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016

Me and my husband live nearby and usually go to the Stansfield down the hill, we thought we would try the Woolpack for a change but we're disappointed with both the service and the food. I ordered the fish skewer which was undercook, when I asked if it could be cook a little more the waitress was v off with... More 

Thank Waders81
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016 via mobile

Went here last night to celebrate my birthday having previously been before on 3 occasions was looking forward to it. We arrived and asked for a table of 4 to eat we sat there for 30 minutes no one came over with a menu I went over to the bar to ask for a menu was just totally ignored the... More 

Thank Marcia S
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016

Went to this restaurant for the first time having passed many times.The staff were really helpful.I went with my sister in law and had the early bird menu.We were both very impressed.Had salmon fishcakes and then I had battered haddock chips to die for,mushy peas and tartare sauce,My sister in law had the seafood linguine.Excellent!!!!!!!!!

Thank Dorothy E
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2016 via mobile

Mediocre food. Disappointing lobster. Over priced and poor quality. No flavour. Nice staff ok service. Won't return or recommend.

Thank Andrea G
Yeadon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016

Peter and Rachelle have now left the Cork and Claw, but their very high standards have maintained. We were a party of ten, all highly praised the quality of the food, the excellence of service, and the pleasant, attentive staff. Cannot fault this restaurant.

2 Thank JohnHall_12
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2016

We have been to this restaurant several times and really enjoyed it, but what a disappointment tonight. We have always had the Early Bird menu (which is good value at £12.95 for 2 courses) but when we asked for the menu for this tonight, we were told it was not available today. On being asked why, the waitress was evasive.... More 

4 Thank ChrisyF
CorkandClawTeam, Owner at The Cork & Claw, responded to this review

We are sorry that you were disappointed that the early bird menu was not available. We are currently changing the menu slightly and as everything is fresh we had to remove certain items that normally sit within the early bird selection. It will be available from next week onwards so we do hope you try it again soon. Our ratings... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2016 via mobile

Made the error of reviewing this under the older name of The Woolpack, Anyway, my review is about the pub side, though it's awfulness must surely not be great for the eating side . A Saturday night. 2 out of 3 hand pulled ales on. One was cloudy and sour and returned. Swapped for the remaining ale. Had to wait... More 

1 Thank gordon s
CorkandClawTeam, Owner at The Cork & Claw, responded to this review

I am very unhappy with your review for various reasons. Our hand pulled ales - we always have 3 on and they are considered by our locals to be some of the finest in the area. Your experience was a bizarre and rare circumstance that all 3 ales ran out at the same time and as anyone knows the cloudy... More 

Level Contributor
115 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2016 via mobile

Had a meeting with colleagues in Leeds. We just stumbled across this pub by chance and it was very good. Decor and surroundings good. Food good and reasonably priced. Service excellent. I'd definitely eat here again.

Thank bigdogharvey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2016

I went here back in November looking forward to a really good seafood selection, unfortunately they didn't have one! It was just your typical salmon, tuna, prawns and lobster, nothing that really seemed seasonal or different or perhaps even local. The food itself was quite nicely cooked, but it just seemed like corners were being cut. The waiter was lovely... More 

Thank ACL515
CorkandClawTeam, Owner at The Cork & Claw, responded to this review

We've never had anyone wait 5 months to write a review and its unclear as to whether you have been more recently. Nonetheless, the reasons for our choices of seafood is that they appeal to a much wider audience than a select few, so a business case rather than personal choice. Not sure that 'local' is the right phrase either... More 

Travelers who viewed The Cork & Claw also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire

Been to The Cork & Claw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    4.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$7 - $33
British, Bar, Grill, Pub
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Open Hours
12:00 pm - 6:00 pm
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 18 New Road | Yeadon, Leeds LS19 7SE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Leeds
  • Phone Number: +44 113 391 0755
The Cork & Claw is a Seafood, Bar and Grill restaurant. Great atmosphere and fantastic freshly prepared food in a relaxed and intimate setting. Reservations recommended.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Cork & Claw and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Cork & Claw staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?