We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Fisherman's Lodge

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
391A Street Lane, Leeds LS17 6HQ, England
441132694981
Website
Today
11:30 am - 9:30 pm
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Tue - Wed 11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Thu - Sat 11:30 am - 9:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

34 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 34: English reviews
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

It was one of the Fishermans Lodge themed evenings Gin Tasting. There were several courses of food interspersed with a fascinating talk on the history of gin and the recent revival of speciality gins. Each course was superbly presented and was complimented by different samples of gin. The food was beautifully prepared and presented. Scallops with a special sauce, Asparagus,... More 

Helpful?
Thank John-Kaye5
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Since the restaurant change I thought I'd give it a try as the decor looks beautiful! I order the fish tapas which was £17 for 5 dishes I think, great value. The food was nice although everything was deep fried and kind of tasted the same, I though some were going to be actual tapas as stomaching 5 fried dishes... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sophietrueman
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Went on Saturday afternoon for the first time and was pleasantly surprised the restaurant is very welcoming and the staff are excellent,the gentleman who seated us was very informative answering any questions concerning the food and wine, Thoroughly enjoyed the meal and am looking forward to trying it again probably on the entertainment night which I believe is once a... More 

Helpful?
Thank billbuster
DavidFishermansLodge, General Manager at The Fisherman's Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks so much for positive review, we are delighted you enjoyed your meal with us, really looking forward to seeing you again in our restaurant. If you would like to join us for the next entertainment night, we have our monthly Jazz night on the 30th of August, should be a fantastic evening - call me directly on 07989... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Queued up for 30 minutes at the take away even though there were only 3 customers in front of us. Staff were slow, inexperienced and in no rush to serve us. Fish and chips were good but over-priced. It cost us over £16 for fish and chips with peas for 2 people. We won't be visiting again in any hurry.

Helpful?
1 Thank middleclasslass
DavidFishermansLodge, General Manager at The Fisherman's Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for taking time to write the review, firstly I must apologise for the service you received, as you will see if you look at a previous review we have had a real issue on our takeaway in the previous 2 weeks. Exactly 5 months since we took over from Marlows and these are the first two negative reviews... More 

Leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016

Can't rate the food because I never got any. Called in at the take away part and was unable to get served. The people there just carried on what they were doing, continually avoiding any eye contact, despite clearly seeing me standing there for many minutes. My advice to the management would be to hire some staff that can be... More 

Helpful?
Thank John W
DavidFishermansLodge, General Manager at The Fisherman's Lodge, responded to this review

Hi John, Thanks for the review, I am appalled at the service you received, we are hugely driven by customer service and our customer service is constantly praised as being exceptional. (see rating on here for service!) Please can you get in touch with me and tell me the day and time of your visit so I can properly investigate... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

Visited this restaurant recently. Despite it being obvious that we were all seniors, we were not offered the seniors menu until we specifically asked. The welcome from the waitress on duty was, to put it mildly, not warm and not friendly. The tomato soup that some of us had was hardy warm and nowhere near hot. We had to ask... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DrPaulPiano
DavidFishermansLodge, General Manager at The Fisherman's Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, and I'm delighted that you enjoyed the food. Really disappointed you didn't receive the high level of service that we're so proud of at our restaurant. I've looked into the day you were with us and spoken to our manager on that shift and taken all your comments on board.... More 

Otley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016 via mobile

Having given an extremely poor review to the takeaway when it was Marlowe's, I was invited to return to the Fisherman's Wife following the refurbishment. My honest opinion is that it was well worth the return. From the minute we arrived, we were politely greeted by Phoebe and shown to a table in the window. Immediately asked if we would... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wundawabbit
DavidFishermansLodge, General Manager at The Fisherman's Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Sally, You are most welcome, and thank again for returning following your poor experience under the previous ownership. I have made sure the kitchen has been made aware of your comments r.e the Fish your partner was served, they have accepted you were correct in your assumption that the fish should have rested for 20-25 seconds longer before being... More 

Wembdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016

We have been going to this place for years and have always enjoyed the food and friendly staff-the recent makeover is a bit odd with lots of wood clad to many surfaces but fortunately the fish and chips remain as good as ever. traditional but worth a visit. The puddings are very old fashioned......but I like that!!

Helpful?
Thank Phil C
DavidFishermansLodge, General Manager at The Fisherman's Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Phil, Thanks for the great comments, and we're delighted to hear you enjoyed the fish & chips. I regards to the change of name, having taken over at the turn of the year, we felt like the interior had grown a little dated and was in need of a fresh identity, we came up with the "Fishing Lodge" theme... More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

Serving and seating a large party (15+) all of which ordering different meals off menu, is always going to be a challenge. Pleased to report its one The Fishermans Lodge rose to without a challenge. As name suggests fish orientated restaurant, but did have burger and a veg lasagne also on menu. All food came out hot and in good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Myles G
DavidFishermansLodge, General Manager at The Fisherman's Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a great review, we really do pride ourselves on being a great destination for groups and parties so we're delighted to hear you and your guests enjoyed your experience with us. It was a real pleasure to serve you guys and we're greatly looking forward to seeing you all... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2016

but.............. that depressing old hat music that you play hasn't - It needs bringing up to date ASAP!!!!!!! The atmosphere is dreadful - get this right and you'll be on to a winner!!!!!!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie M
DavidFishermansLodge, General Manager at The Fisherman's Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Debbie, Thanks for taking the time to leave us this feedback, I am truly devastated as one of the things that we have been complimented on constantly is the atmosphere and ambiance of the restaurant since its renovation. I will look into this straight away and see what improvements are still to be made on this front, we are... More 

Travelers who viewed The Fisherman's Lodge also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Fisherman's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$11 - $21
Cuisine
British, Seafood
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi, Takeout, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Reservations, Highchairs Available
Good for
Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 9:30 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 9:30 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 9:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 391A Street Lane, Leeds LS17 6HQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Leeds
  • Phone Number: 441132694981
Description
Brand new, fully refurbished Fish Restaurant on Street Lane, serving traditional Yorkshire Fish & Chips, selection of Tapas style sharing dishes, lobsters (depending on market availability), daily specials and a nice selection of meat and vegetarian dishes. Dedicated childrens menu makes The Fisherman's Lodge an excellent location for families and childrens parties. Ideal for guests of ages and able to cater for large parties up to 70 guests and bespoke menu design available. Gluten Free all day every wednesday. Live music every month, special menu's and a variety of genres. Fully Licensed bar area with fully stocked bar and our speciality gin menu - 10 unique and specially selected gins with a weekly special. Full takeaway on site, booking in the restaurant recommended.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Fisherman's Lodge staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?