We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Playwrights Bar & Bistro

4-6 Hay Lane | Cathedral Quarter, Coventry CV1 5RF, England
+44 24 7623 1441
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good32%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
“lamb shank” (9 reviews)
“eggs benedict” (3 reviews)
“salad” (15 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, European, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
4-6 Hay Lane | Cathedral Quarter, Coventry CV1 5RF, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 90 of 265 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2016

After going to this café for many years to meet friends and have lunch I am very sad to say I will not be visiting again. Not only has the menu been slashed so really very little choice compared to old menu. Sorry but I...More

Thank Janet W
Playwrights C, Manager at Playwrights Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2016

Hi Janet I am very sad to read your review, firstly, by the fact that you say our menu has been reduced. You say you have been dining with us for many years, well our menu has not changed for 4 years, and is almost...More

Reviewed July 11, 2016

A lovely little café, but unfortunately the food and service were a bit iffy. We will be back though, hopefully just an off day.More

Thank CeriPaterson
Playwrights C, Manager at Playwrights Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2016

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. I'm sorry you found us a bit 'iffy' on your recent visit but I am also grateful that you are willing to give us another try. Hopefully next time you will enjoy your visit more and...More

Reviewed July 8, 2016 via mobile

We were visiting Coventry & came across the Playwrights. The menu outside looked inviting so decided to have lunch, on entering we were shown the specials board & taken to a table. My wife ordered the ham salad & had the ploughman's lunch. Both meals...More

Thank nigel C
Reviewed July 2, 2016

The party had meat eaters, vegetarians and vegans and there was something for everyone. They even had an entire menu for vegetarians/vegans too. Sensible prices and nice atmosphere.

Thank ekcihey
Reviewed July 1, 2016 via mobile

Always such tasty gluten free food :) would recommend every time for gluten free in Coventry to come here. Staff are always happy, polite and helpful

Thank Kerrie M
Reviewed June 27, 2016

The food here is really lovely and the setting in the old cobbled road of Hay Lane is exquisite. Really enjoyed the afternoon the food and the setting and wouldn't hesitate to recommend Playwrights to family and friends.

Thank miriam370
Reviewed June 15, 2016

The restaurant we were at had closed their coffee machine down, without asking us if we wanted coffee, so we found Playwrights. Jolly glad we did too. Very friendly welcome and we bought more than just coffees. One member of staff gave us a discount...More

Thank Neil_Sussex_UK
Reviewed June 4, 2016 via mobile

Just happened to walk by here whilst looking for somewhere different for a late lunch rather than going to a chain. Had seats outside down a pretty cobbled side street of historic buildings, so it was a nice setting for sitting out and enjoying the...More

Thank girlstridge
Reviewed May 25, 2016

We were looking for a place to have a coffee and discovered that this place does gluten free burgers. This was the first place that we had found such a phenomenon! Once inside it just got better and better.We were tempted by the daily specials...More

Thank lindaA9871DU
Reviewed May 22, 2016 via mobile

We dined here last night with friends and thoroughly enjoyed our meals and the atmosphere. Food cooked to perfection and service excellent. Thank you so much, we will be back soon!

Thank ScorpionBlonde
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Rising Cafe - From the Rubble
531 reviews
.12 miles away
The Golden Cross
77 reviews
.01 miles away
Falafel Corner
97 reviews
.10 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Coventry Transport Museum
3,055 reviews
.24 miles away
Coventry Cathedral
1,715 reviews
.08 miles away
St. Mary's Guildhall
292 reviews
.03 miles away
Herbert Art Gallery and Museum
581 reviews
.11 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Susan H
July 27, 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from lisajones136789 | Reviewed this property |
god knows considering they think fish is for vegetarians.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$7 - $20
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 4-6 Hay Lane | Cathedral Quarter, Coventry CV1 5RF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Midlands  >  Coventry
  • Phone Number: +44 24 7623 1441
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing