We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Swan

$$ - $$$, British,
Harborne Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B15 3TT, England
+44 121 454 2359
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent27%
  • Very good32%
  • Average22%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible7%
Travelers talk about
“scallops” (20 reviews)
“fish cakes” (10 reviews)
“pork belly” (9 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 AM - 11:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Harborne Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B15 3TT, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 150 of 524 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2016

Visited in a large group for an 18th birthday, a good selection ti on of starters and mains plus an array of desserts, my meal was well presented and tasted delicious

Thank Lolly1952
WhiteSwanManagement, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2016

We're glad you enjoyed the birthday celebrations and hope to see you again soon, thank you!

Reviewed April 25, 2016

Well I think this place is quite inventive and for the price I think the meals are rather nice. I recently ate here and had the lamb, it came with chorizo, shallots asparagus and was really very nice. The waitress was lovely and attentive, the...More

Thank Jo_nelson
WhiteSwanManagement, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2016

Hi Jo, thanks for taking the time to give us a great review. We're glad you had a good time and enjoyed your lamb rack.

Reviewed April 24, 2016

We were celebrating an 18th birthday with a party of 20 people. My rib eye steak was appalling and fatty. I should have complained at the time. Cutlery was dirty and had to be changed. No attention to detail as far as customer service is...More

Thank Lorraine M
WhiteSwanManagement, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2016

Hi Lorraine, we apologise that your visit didn't go as planned. Please give us an email if you'd like to dicuss this any further. enquiry@thewhiteswanpub.com

Reviewed April 10, 2016

Atmoshoere and staff very good. Had roasts that were not good, with overcooked and long ago cooked roast potatoes and Yorkshire Pudding that they were dried out and not pleasant to eat..

Thank AlanfromWare
WhiteSwanManagement, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2016

Hi Alan, thanks for taking the time to review The White Swan, we're glad you enjoyed the service and apologise for the unsatisfactory food. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesistate to email us at enquiry@thewhiteswanpub.com.

Reviewed April 8, 2016 via mobile

Not great experience not sure what the hype is all about ordered the wagyu burger, the bun was bigger than the pate proportions not right

Thank Hung T
WhiteSwanManagement, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2016

Hi, thanks for letting us know, if you would like to discuss this further please email enquiry@thewhiteswanpub.com

Reviewed March 27, 2016

I'm a regular and really like the place. Unfortunately, a disappointing visit on Good Friday when the restaurant was only a third full for a late lunch. More than 2 hours for 3 courses is too long especially with 2 young children who we struggled...More

1  Thank LizzieMurphy
WhiteSwanManagement, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2016

Hi LIzzie, please don't hesistate to give us an email at enquiry@thewhiteswanpub.com if you would like to discuss this further.

Reviewed March 27, 2016

My wife and I ate here on a recent Saturday evening and found the surroundings, food and service to be very good. In the evenings there is no charge for the carparking that some have remarked upon, but it is refundable if you mention it....More

Thank Newburyboy
WhiteSwanManagement, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review The White Swan, we're glad you enjoyed your evening. You're very right, car park tickets can be refunded or taken off your bill.

Reviewed March 23, 2016

White Swan is a relaxing well presented pub with attention to detail in the decoration. I had a burger which was served with chips and sauces. I asked the staff if it would be possible to replace the chips with salad and they promptly did...More

Thank Persephone S
WhiteSwanManagement, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review The White Swan, we are glad the overall evening was pleasant for you and we hope to see you again!

Reviewed March 22, 2016 via mobile

A regular here. The choice and ambience is excellent. We found that the main courses were well presented and sourced but the sweets were poor. For example the Eton Mess was all cream with sauce swirl and no fruit...bad! Generally this is a very reliable...More

Thank TechnoProf
WhiteSwanManagement, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2016

Thanks for taking the time to review The White Swan, we apologise for the desserts not living up to expectation, but if you give us another shot we'd love to try and wow you!

Reviewed March 19, 2016

After having driven past this restaurant lots of times and never going in, we decided to try it. We were pleasantly surprised. The interior is nice, cosy and welcoming. The staff were friendly. Yes the menu is pricer than some where like a sizzling pub,...More

Thank Mary O
WhiteSwanManagement, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2016

Hi Mary, thanks for giving us a review and we're glad you had a good experience with us. We hope to see you again.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Colbeh Persian Kitchen & Bar
100 reviews
.38 miles away
Fiesta Del Asado
1,327 reviews
.42 miles away
The Garden House
838 reviews
.39 miles away
Shiraz
334 reviews
.39 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Birmingham Botanical Gardens and Glasshouses
842 reviews
.22 miles away
Broadway Casino
152 reviews
.71 miles away
Grosvenor Casino Birmingham Broad Street
50 reviews
.98 miles away
Birmingham Oratory
23 reviews
.47 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The White Swan staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$20 - $53
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Harborne Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B15 3TT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Midlands  >  Birmingham>  > Edgbaston
  • Neighborhood: Edgbaston
  • Phone Number: +44 121 454 2359
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing