We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Arden Oak

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
20 Arden Oak Road | Sheldon, Birmingham B26 3LX, England
+44 121 743 3438
Website
Today
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Sat - Sun 9:00 am - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

169 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 169: English reviews
Birmingham
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Please don't go to this restaurant!!! We visited today, and we were shown to a table. We sat for ages, then we had to go and find someone to come and take our order. She took our order and said we could visit the salad bar. We had long finished our bowl of salad, and again had to find someone... More 

Helpful?
Thank LMWBirmingham
General Manager A, General Manager at The Arden Oak, responded to this review

Thank you for your review LMWBirmingham Please accept my apologies for the issues you encountered during your recent visit. We aim to ensure all of our guests are served within a timely manner and receive good quality food and service and I can see from your comments this did not happen. At present we are going through some changes but... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

never know with this place. sometimes its clean and staff are friendly and service is good. other times its filthy, salad bar is dirty, unkempt and salad and bread rolls are stale. salad is mushy and bread rolls are chewy. staff are rude and you can be waiting a lifetime for service. oh and they are super pedantic about who... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sabska
General Manager A, General Manager at The Arden Oak, responded to this review

Thank you for your review sabska. I completely agree that consistency is key within the business and that the same standards of cleanliness and service should be delivered no matter what time of day our guests visit. Please be assured that your comments have been taken on board and I shall be using your experience with us as examples when... More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After visiting other Harvester pubs in the area I was unfortunately surprised by the quality of food and service here. The manager was rude and uninformative, the waitresses looked bored- vacant even and the food was sub-par at best. I am deeply disappointed with the time I spent here and I will not be recommending this Harvester to anyone anytime... More 

Helpful?
Thank George W
General Manager A, General Manager at The Arden Oak, responded to this review

Thank you for your review George W I am truly sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent visit to us and that you were disappointed with the service and food you received. I will be speaking to the team regarding your comments to ensure this does not happen in the future. More 

Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nice Harvester, it was not long from our airport hotel to get here, car parking was easy, seating was not a problem, choice of meal was suitable, service was really very good, helpful staff and for the cost of the meals we were very happy, unlimited Salad bar and bread rolls no complains we were very happy with the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Whitewater24
General Manager A, General Manager at The Arden Oak, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Whitewater24 We are always happy to hear when our guests have enjoyed their visit to us. We look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The place is dirty, toilets are filthy, tables are sticky and the cutlery dirty. We ordered fish, chips and mushy peas. The cod itself was so tough you couldn't actually cut it. It reminded me of fish that had been defrosted in a microwave. We complained and were offered another, we declined. We then had potato skins and battered mushrooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dcasey1
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2016

Ok, so i was waiting to pick my parents up from B-ham international and no suprise the flight was delayed by 3 hours. With time to kill found a local Harvester on Arden oak road, usually not too impressed with Harvester but this time was an exception the food was brilliant the service was spot on, I was warmly greeted... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sircobs
General Manager A, General Manager at The Arden Oak, responded to this review

Hi Sircobs What a great review cant thank you enough for your brilliant comments I hope your parents had a brilliant holiday kind of glad that there flight was delayed so that you had the opportunity to visit The Arden Oak hope to see you again bring the parents next time Thanks Howard GM More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2016

We chose this restaurant for a family birthday celebration. The food was excellent and the service from our waitress was A1+. However, the Team Leader was very rude when asked a simple question and after reporting him to the Manager the TL stopped clearing our table and we left feeling very disappointed with the service and attitude of this particular... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda D
General Manager A, General Manager at The Arden Oak, responded to this review

Hi Linda I am realy sorry that you left feeling let down by my team leader from your comments every thing was going great I will look in to the night in question and resolve any traning issues that need addressing please except my apologies for the night in question. Thanks Howard GM More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2016 via mobile

Visited last week with partner and daughter, found it to be ok to be honest, 2 women sat by us had a whinge about some bits and pieces on floor but hey ho. Food was ok and enjoyed the well stocked salad bar, friendly staff. Pretty good to be honest

Helpful?
Thank JustAl15
General Manager A, General Manager at The Arden Oak, responded to this review

Hi JustAl15 Thanks for your comments I always get concerned when guests say that things were OK or just good next time you are in it would be great to have a chat to see how we can make your visit to The Arden oak Brilliant. Next time you are in ask for my self Howard Thom GM More 

Worcester. UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2016

Decided to give this a go on the way to the NEC for a concert as we were passing. I just wish we carrying on driving. The place was not busy yet the tables were dirty and there was a few with dirty dishes on, even though the staff were talking to each other and did not look busy. At... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jane S
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2016

Went here with my family for a get together meal.to many kids running around yelling.beer was good,but the locals at the bar using the f word a lot.food was rubbish.steak very poor.the help yourself buffet even worse.tomatoes all soft,obviously from yesterday.shan't bother again

Helpful?
1 Thank Steven A
General Manager A, General Manager at The Arden Oak, responded to this review

Hi Steven Sorry that you did not have a great experience here at The Arden Oak I will look in to all of your comments. We are a family restaurant some times we do have children running around we do try to get the parents to look after them as best we can our salad bar is put out fresh... More 

Travelers who viewed The Arden Oak also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to The Arden Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$4 - $19
Cuisine
British, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 20 Arden Oak Road | Sheldon, Birmingham B26 3LX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Midlands  >  Birmingham
  • Phone Number: +44 121 743 3438
Description
At The Arden Oak Harvester in Sheldon food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Arden Oak and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Birmingham, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Birmingham, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Arden Oak staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?