We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Hare and Hounds

$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
426 Lickey Road | Rednal B45 8UU, Birmingham, England
+44 121 457 9743
Website
Today
11:30 am - 12:30 am
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Mon - Thu 11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 11:30 am - 12:30 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

95 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 95: English reviews
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This pub gets really busy and lively towards the weekend. Really pleasant pub, that does nice food and not too expensive.

Helpful?
Thank catsbumfluff1
birmingham
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visit this restaurant quite regularly because the food is always well cooked. There is plenty of choice and Suzanne, our waitress is always very friendly but professional.

Helpful?
Thank jrsss
General Manager A, General Manager at The Old Hare and Hounds, responded to this review

Thanks for the review & thanks for mentioning Suzanne, I've passed your feedback on to her. Hope to see you soon Caroline & the team More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went here to have a meal and a drink with a friend. Lovely clean restaurant with great friendly staff. Food was excellent we opted for the set menu , plenty of choice . Didn't have to wait long and it was served with a smile . Great value for money , will definitely be returning .

Helpful?
Thank KKaydee
General Manager A, General Manager at The Old Hare and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Caroline & the team More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Everybody really enjoyed this food, it came quickly the service was good the food was hot, tasty and I had a fried chicken burger and to my surprise it was moist tasty and good value for money

Helpful?
Thank Cora F
General Manager A, General Manager at The Old Hare and Hounds, responded to this review

Thanks for the review Cora, the chicken burger is becoming a popular item on the summer menu. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit. Caroline & the team More 

Alvechurch, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I'm hoping that I went on a bad day, as I hate putting in bad reviews! The interior was nice and the food was okay but you get what you pay for! Unfortunately we had to wait for over 30 minutes for our food, we had to ask how long it would because we had been waiting for so long.... More 

Helpful?
Thank showers16
General Manager A, General Manager at The Old Hare and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I'm sorry you were disappointed with your experience. I'd really like to get some more information regarding your visit. Please contact me at oldhareandhoundsrednal@emberinns.co.uk so I can further investigate the issue. Regards Caroline More 

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a great meal our waitress Jen was great, very polite and remember us from our previous visit. Will make it our regular.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
General Manager A, General Manager at The Old Hare and Hounds, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, I've passed your nice comments on to Jen Hope to see you soon Caroline and the team More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Popped in here with my friends and so glad we did staff oh so friendly and the food was oh so lovely our waitress was so nice in fact it was all lovely great relaxed atmosphere I shall without a doubt return

Helpful?
Thank kirsty j
General Manager A, General Manager at The Old Hare and Hounds, responded to this review

Brilliant review Kirsty! Thanks for the kind words & be sure to visit again soon. Caroline & the team More 

Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016

I was surprised to find this Pub had been given a contemporary make over. It was clean, comfortable, the food was very good and service excellent. The food is simple but well presented and quickly served. I was very pleased that the environment reflected the peaceful decor. There was no loud music blasting out so eating and talking was enjoyable.... More 

Helpful?
Thank merlinBirmingham
General Manager A, General Manager at The Old Hare and Hounds, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, I have passed your comments on to Cameron & Suzanne. Make sure you visit again soon! Caroline & the team More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2016

Few busy weekend nights and staff still welcoming and friendly. Reacted well when some customers spoke to them terribly. All fab at their job even at the end of the night when they all were probably very tired. Just wanted to praise them.

Helpful?
1 Thank Trixie K
General Manager A, Manager at The Old Hare and Hounds, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review Trixie! The team really appreciate compliments when they're working under pressure, I'll make sure to pass this on. Regards Caroline More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2016

Lunch with an ex colleague; food was excellent, arrived promptly and was hot and plentiful. Reasonably priced too. Would visit again.

Helpful?
Thank Brian E
General Manager A, General Manager at The Old Hare and Hounds, responded to this review

Thanks for the review Brian, hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Caroline & the team More 

Travelers who viewed The Old Hare and Hounds also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to The Old Hare and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$3 - $10
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Waitstaff
Good for
Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 12:30 am
Saturday
11:30 am - 12:30 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 426 Lickey Road | Rednal B45 8UU, Birmingham, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Midlands  >  Birmingham
  • Phone Number: +44 121 457 9743
Description
Community pub selling up to 11 cask ales. Full menu available serving food until 10pm.
Monday Games night & Cask night
Wednesday Music Quiz
Friday Wine offers
Saturday Regular live music
Sunday General Quiz & wine offer

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Old Hare and Hounds and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Birmingham, United Kingdom
10 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Hare and Hounds staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?