We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clarendon Arms

44 Castle Hill, Kenilworth CV8 1NB, England
+44 1926 852017
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good36%
  • Average16%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
“steak” (22 reviews)
“sunday roast” (10 reviews)
“coleslaw” (4 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
$$ - $$$
44 Castle Hill, Kenilworth CV8 1NB, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year

81 - 90 of 354 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2016

Expected more and got little. Cramped, bright, no atmosphere restaurant. I have no idea how they are classed as well as they are. The food was average to say the least, the service was lacking (one drink served and never asked for another), gammon undercooked,...More

2  Thank MikeL999
Reviewed October 22, 2016 via mobile

We booked for a family celebration. The food was fabulous. Value for money. The service attentive. Ambience gorgeous. Clean. Really busy. Plenty of staff. Would definitely go again.

1  Thank LMS662014
Reviewed October 16, 2016 via mobile

I must admit that I am quite a regular customer at the Clarendon. I only live round the corner, so it is my"go to" for dates, birthdays, family parties and other social event and the team never fail to disappoint. Came here yesterday with my...More

Thank gayle67Kenilworth
Reviewed October 12, 2016 via mobile

We had the chicken and home made fish finger ciabattas. Both lovely and came with chips and coleslaw for £6.50. Couldn't ask for more, great value and location opposite the castle.

Thank e1kon
Reviewed October 11, 2016

We Catholic priests had our Deanery lunch here today. The wait for starters was about an hour. A bit long. But the food was very good. I had an excellent cheeseburger, but it was rather cold. All in al an enjoyable pub lunch. Would certainly...More

Thank father f
Reviewed October 2, 2016

Decided to pop in here for Sunday Lunch. The fact that most tables were reserved we saw as a positive sign. Oh how wrong we were. We ordered the roast beef and the vegetarian roast with sausages. Even though there seemed to be quite a...More

1  Thank Ellabella208
MINTPUBS, Owner at Clarendon Arms, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2016

Dear Ellabella, We would like to apologise for the food & service that did not meet expectation. This is not typical of The Clarendon Arms as we always strive to deliver excellent quality food which is good value and is served by a friendly and...More

Reviewed September 26, 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I saw this what we thought cute pub. Sat down 10 mins later ordered our drinks 15 mins later got our drinks. Then we had to ask for a menu. After asking to order was asked "what do you want" then the...More

3  Thank cadams212
MINTPUBS, Owner at Clarendon Arms, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2016

Dear cadams212, Whilst we do appreciate feedback both positive (its really nice to have great feedback) and negative (gives us a chance to put things right), we do find your review a little challenging to appreciate. The reason being, that you have made presumptions about...More

Reviewed September 24, 2016 via mobile

Visited for a staff night out, group of 20 ish; all the food came at the same time, service was good. We had our own room which was good for speeches - we provided our own music. I had fish pie and chocolate brownie and...More

Thank chalkie5
MINTPUBS, Owner at Clarendon Arms, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2016

Dear Chalkie, Thank you for your review and we are really happy that you enjoyed your food and that you would return. We hope that we can be even better the next time you come and persuade your colleagues that we are a great pub...More

Reviewed September 12, 2016

Stopped off to see the castle on Saturday the 3.9.16 on the way to Lancashire from Essex and it was tipping it down. Went into this pub as was rated on doggie pubs as 5*. Was not disappointed. The pub is lovely with lots of...More

Thank Xanlyn
MINTPUBS, Owner at Clarendon Arms, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2016

Dear Xanlyn Thanks so much for your lovely review. Its great to have such positive feedback. We love dogs and making customers happy! We hope its not too long before you pass by again. We look forward to seeing you all soon. Kind Regards Sean,...More

Reviewed September 12, 2016

Went with family for Lunch ,good kids menu ,chose Pork very bland usual veg mix just very average but sweets were very good , although first choice was not available .Reasonable prices but had to pay parking charges nearby pub refunded but did not see...More

1  Thank anneat50
MINTPUBS, Owner at Clarendon Arms, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2016

Dear Anne, Thanks for taking the time to review us and give us your feedback. One very important point that we would like to make & we are sorry that you were not aware when you visited. If you bring in the refund voucher from...More

Nearby HotelsSee all 7 hotels in Kenilworth
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
294 reviews
.37 miles away
Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick
612 reviews
.52 miles away
Grand Hotel
142 reviews
.84 miles away
The Peacock Townhouse Hotel
404 reviews
.98 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Cross at Kenilworth
1,069 reviews
.46 miles away
Pomeroys Bistro
460 reviews
.64 miles away
Le Raj spice
332 reviews
.54 miles away
Ego Mediterranean Restaurant & Bar, Kenilworth
1,041 reviews
.62 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Kenilworth Castle
1,581 reviews
.06 miles away
Abbey Fields
79 reviews
.42 miles away
Priory Theatre
34 reviews
.50 miles away
Talisman Theatre and Arts Centre
15 reviews
.65 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Clarendon Arms staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 44 Castle Hill, Kenilworth CV8 1NB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Warwickshire  >  Kenilworth
  • Phone Number: +44 1926 852017
  • E-mail
Classic pub-grub alongside more exquisite Mediterranean flavours. Excellent range of real ales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing