We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Solomons

) #261 of 1,015 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne $$ - $$$ Indian, Asian,
West rd, Newcastle upon Tyne NE5, England
+44 191 274 2323
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent70%
  • Very good13%
  • Average4%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible6%
Travelers talk about
“curry” (27 reviews)
“rogan josh” (4 reviews)
“garlic naan” (4 reviews)
Open Now
5:00 pm - 11:30 pmAll hours
CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European, Halal, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
West rd, Newcastle upon Tyne NE5, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 384 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my partner visited this place for the first time today. I was unsure on visiting at first after mixed reviews but was pleasantly surprised as the food was really nice. Their chicken tikka massala is the best I've ever tasted! The restaurant had...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
SolomonsGroup, Public Relations Manager at Solomons, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for the great review and we hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We picked this as it was not far from our hotel. We had visited an Solomons before and knew the food would be great. We were not disappointed. We were quickly taken to our table and seated. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The...More

Thank rashdah a
SolomonsGroup, Public Relations Manager at Solomons, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for the great review rashdah a!

Reviewed May 11, 2017

I'm been going for take-away for years. My recent visit was by far the worst experience I've had with them. The food was actually ok but it was cold. I think this probably down to them forgetting about the meal. I was told it would...More

Thank smalltime76
Reviewed April 30, 2017 via mobile

Visited this restaurant today and all I can say is please don't waste your money,I paid £93 with drinks,family of five,yes I would say that's good but the meals were disgusting ,we all ordered different as well and not one was good,such a shame as...More

5  Thank dawnarm71
Reviewed April 22, 2017 via mobile

Cold naans, bhuna had crunchy onion and devoid of tomatoes. Not good. Had i been at the restaurant I would have sent it back but unfortunately it was a takeaway.

Thank Angie M
SolomonsGroup, Public Relations Manager at Solomons, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2017

Dear Angie M, your comments have been passed over to management to look into and we apologise you were not happy with your meal.

Reviewed April 18, 2017 via mobile

Usually this is my first choice of venue for Indian food. However, last visit was awful. The food wasn't nice at all. Don't know if it's changed hands or what but it's near the bottom of my choice of venues now.

Thank jayne4369
SolomonsGroup, Public Relations Manager at Solomons, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2017

Dear jayne4369, your comments have been passed over to management to look into and we apologise you were not happy with your evening with us.

Reviewed April 10, 2017

Was a large group of us and the place was empty so that made me think it might not be that good but it was, of course service was great ( think the waiters were glad of something to do ) the food came out...More

Thank ks1912
SolomonsGroup, Public Relations Manager at Solomons, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2017

Thank you for your kind review ks1912.

Reviewed March 27, 2017 via mobile

We ate here early on a Sunday evening. The service was excellent and the food good and sometimes very good. For our main courses we had the meat and vegetable thali to share. There were some tasty dishes although overall they could have been spicier....More

Thank MilesGary
SolomonsGroup, Public Relations Manager at Solomons, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2017

Dear MilesGary, Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed March 25, 2017 via mobile

Food here is absolutely fab, everything is always good. Only downside is can be a little expensive so can't afford to be a regular. More of a big treat meal.

Thank Mya27
SolomonsGroup, Public Relations Manager at Solomons, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2017

Thanks for the fab review Mya27, we really appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback and we hope to see you again!

Reviewed February 25, 2017 via mobile

Went to restaurant with a few friends. The lamb curry was decent. The chicken was dry. There was nothing in the bar when the girls wanted to get a drink for the meal as we do.. unfortunately we won't be going again.

Thank TastebudTaster
SolomonsGroup, Public Relations Manager at Solomons, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2017

Dear Tastebudtester we apologise you were not satisfied with your visit. Regards

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Achellos Italian Restaurant
300 reviews
.92 miles away
Rajnagar Bangladeshi Kitchen
83 reviews
.88 miles away
Juve Lounge
8 reviews
.61 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The MetroCentre
420 reviews
1.94 miles away
Newburn hall motor museum
79 reviews
2.24 miles away
Namco Funscape
6 reviews
1.79 miles away
Elswick Pool
11 reviews
2.15 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
jc0uls0n
September 21, 2016|
Answer
Response from SolomonsGroup | Property representative |
Hi thank you for your question. Our chefs are happy to accommodate any requests we do also offer mild dishes as well as English dishes!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$29 - $39
Meals
Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
5:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Monday
5:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Tuesday
5:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Wednesday
5:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Thursday
5:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Friday
5:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Saturday
5:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: West rd, Newcastle upon Tyne NE5, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Tyne and Wear  >  Newcastle upon Tyne
  • Phone Number: +44 191 274 2323
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing