We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
46 Pudding Chare, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1UE, England
01912327193
Website
Saturday
Closed
Hours:
Mon - Fri 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Mon - Sat 5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Sat 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

323 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 320: English reviews
Newcastle
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We popped in for a quick tea on the way to a concert The restaurant was busy and they were preparing for the arrival of a party of 18.The lady who greeted us was very friendly and we waited only a couple of minutes for a table to be prepared. We just had a pizza each which was just as... More 

Helpful?
Thank SunnyJim_9
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Let me just say that the vegan menu here is very good, the food was delicious although I think could do with alittle less dry Italian herb on every dish. Although the food was good the service we reserved from the gentleman working was less then desirable. It was a case of here have your Fanta and then walked away,... More 

Helpful?
Thank ChloeMayBarron1
MammaMia12345, Owner at Mamma Mia, responded to this review

Dear Chloe I would like to start by apologising that your experience with us was not up to your satisfaction. I beleive the tastcard does have to be booked in advance which is mentioned on there website. We have had problems with over use of tastecards on our busier evenings and the 50% off our reasonable prices can be very... More 

Malton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2016

Went with friends on a visit to newcastle. Had the happy hour menu. We all had wedges with garlic mayo dip to start, this was good. My two friends then had pizza which looked v. Nice , I had chicken pasta in Bolognese sauce which was also nice. We had a bottle of merlot wine that was excellent. To finish... More 

Helpful?
Thank Noel R
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016 via mobile

We walked into the resturant and the smell wasnt very pleasant it smelt like sewage. Never got to try the food as the smell was off putting. They had air freshers all over but these did not mask the smell. The young girl who seen to us was lovely and tried to keep us in the resturant but unfortunately we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jayjaybarrow
MammaMia12345, Owner at Mamma Mia, responded to this review

Dear reveiwer My apologies in regard to the smell you noticed as the upstairs flats have been having recent problems with drainage, we have noticed near our rear maintenence hatch this smell can become strong. We had beleived this issue was dealt with but we are hoping to have this matter completely resolved by the end of today. I hope... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016 via mobile

This "supposed to be Italian" restaurant is as bad as the name.. I can't mention one thing that stood out as being positive. The food was alright, but far from what to expect from a true Italian restaurant.. Waste of money

Helpful?
Thank Casper S
MammaMia12345, Owner at Mamma Mia, responded to this review

Dear reader I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit and felt the need to take photos of your empty plates to prove this point. We think our food and service are very good value for money and feel dissapointed that at no point through your meal you provided us with any opportunity to rectify the mentioned mistakes. Kind... More 

England
Level Contributor
161 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2016

Firstly this is 100% genuine. I have been here recently at the weekend and was very disappointed with the standard of meal. I only had a pizza and it was below average in my opinion.The bolognaise sauce wasnt nice and although being honest I have had worse pizzas it just wasnt good. The restaurant was almost empty at a peak... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrT98
MammaMia12345, Owner at Mamma Mia, responded to this review

Dear reader. I would like to start my answer by saying that I remeber yur visit and you did not arrive at peak time, actually being the last customer to leave at around 10.30. Our peak time is generally around 5to 7-8pm. I am sorry you did not enjoy your pizza as we go to great lengths to ensure our... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016

Often come to Mamma Mia when I want a quick and cheap bite to eat with some friends. Lovely cosy atmosphere and always had really good service. Recently became vegetarian (slowly going vegan) and was pleasantly surprised at the array of extremely tasty options. It's great that they cater to all diets so all people in groups with different dietary... More 

Helpful?
Thank Becca G
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2016 via mobile

Can here for food on Wednesday about 6pm was quite empty. Seated by friendly waitress, shared a starter and then all had pasta. We all loved it! £15 for shared starter,main meal and 1/2 bottle of wine! Good value, I wouldn't come here for a big celebration but def for good food at a good price

Helpful?
Thank ClaireMarie87
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2016 via mobile

I brought my friend here today, 3rd May, for lunch. We had met the owner at NEVFEST so we were itching to try this place. We were welcomed by an older lady who was so lovely. We went for the vegan menu which had great choices. Our food was lovely. Nice, simple Italian food. Reasonable prices too. Only two things... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sazzykins28
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2016 via mobile

On a busy Saturday evening after a football match this place was full, they still managed to fit us in. The staff were fun and friendly. Food was very good, really tasty and well made. Highly recommend the stuffed mushrooms with chef'own pate - delicious.

Helpful?
Thank Jim L

Travelers who viewed Mamma Mia also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Mamma Mia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Cuisine
Italian, Pizza, European, British, Gluten Free
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Large groups, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Families with children
Open Hours
Monday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 46 Pudding Chare, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1UE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Tyne and Wear  >  Newcastle upon Tyne
  • Phone Number: 01912327193
Description
A traditional Italian restaurant with a cosy and relaxed atmosphere.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mamma Mia staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?