We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

HeiHei

46 Dean Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1PG, England
+44 191 222 1882
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good22%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
“pak choi” (10 reviews)
“shredded pork” (10 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Chinese, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
46 Dean Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1PG, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 501 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went as a group of 13, including 6 children for my niece’s 9th birthday. The staff couldn’t have been friendlier or more helpful and made us very welcome. The food was great. We had a real mix of starters and mains and everything we...More

1  Thank HMS67
Jerome11110, Manager at HeiHei, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for choosing heihei as a place to hold your party. Happy birthday to the lovely children and best wishes:)

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We've been to Hei Hei for dinner around 4-5 times in the last few months and the food and service never fail to be anything other than excellent. The staff are genuinely nice - not as formal as some of the Stowell Street eateries -...More

2  Thank MichaelCR23
Jerome11110, Manager at HeiHei, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for coming to Heihei. It is our honor to make you satisfied with the diner and service.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Everyone has their favourite Chinese restaurant. Whether it’s a stowell street classic or an out of city takeaway. Mine was orchid - why has it closed? My main man Kevin chan what’s happened? Because of Orchid being closed I tried Hei Hei, on review it’s...More

Thank leighmil
Jerome11110, Manager at HeiHei, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear sir/madam, thanks very much for your patronizing, and we are really appreciated your genuine comments and advise to our service. Our management team keen to hear different voices in-order to improve our customer services. We look forward to see you again in hei hei,...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Not bad! We picked a couple of spicy dishes and they were as authentic as i expect they could be in the uk. Ive lived in China before so I know. I would go there again no problem if i was visiting Newcastle again. I...More

1  Thank danchaofan
Jerome11110, Manager at HeiHei, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your support! Danchaofan~egg fried rice:)

Reviewed May 13, 2018

Service somehow... lost! For two times, the orders had been changed with other tables... The food was OK but will not comeback.More

Thank RuiM_Coelho
Jerome11110, Manager at HeiHei, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2018

Dear Sir Thanks for coming to our restaurant again and your valuable comments. We got some new staffs and it was also quite busy on Saturday night. Sorry for any unhappy things you experienced in our restaurant. We will continue to improve the quality of...More

Reviewed April 28, 2018

Great little restaurant on Dean Street with quite an extensive menu. We especially enjoyed the baked aubergine, spring rolls and kung po prawns. A 2 course meal for 3 people + a bottle of wine and a vegetable side dish for just over £60 was...More

1  Thank Simon D
Jerome11110, Manager at HeiHei, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2018

Dear Simon It is my honor to hear the excellent experience in our restaurant. Hope to see you soon. Best regards

Reviewed April 25, 2018 via mobile

My prawn fried rice was disappointing. Lots and lots of rice, then play “hunt the prawns”; also dry because there was not much sauce.More

Thank Chrissie G
Jerome11110, Manager at HeiHei, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2018

Thanks for your comment! I am very sorry to hear your unhappy experience in our restaurant. Actually, egg fried rice with king prawns is one of the quite traditional Chinese food and normally without any source. However, if you do not like your food, you...More

Reviewed April 16, 2018 via mobile

Been here twice the servers were very friendly here and answered questions about the food and which part of China the food came from and how it is made and all the food that we had been served was very nice. I would recommend the...More

1  Thank jenniferstephenson
Reviewed April 10, 2018

called in last night " monday" only one other table seated so no problem getting a table we chose from the menu as opposed to the banquets the soft shell crab starter was the best ive ever had the ribs huge but a tad bland...More

2  Thank graham8808
Reviewed April 4, 2018

I travel and my family from edinburgh to newcastle.A good meal to eat in this restaurant.have fun,i want to introduce you to this restaurant salt and pepper king pr awns and sizzling lamb with coriander.nice food.enjoy my dinner in restaurant.the waiters is nice smiling.good service.

1  Thank Boon Teong G
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 83 hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Grey Street Hotel
101 reviews
.03 miles away
Surtees Hotel
621 reviews
.05 miles away
The Vermont Hotel
2,319 reviews
.11 miles away
easyHotel Newcastle
750 reviews
.12 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Nadon Thai - Newcastle
191 reviews
.03 miles away
Miller & Carter Steakhouse
2,794 reviews
.02 miles away
Dacantus
365 reviews
.07 miles away
Safari Cafe Bar & Grill
51 reviews
.01 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Grey Street
1,079 reviews
.07 miles away
St Nicholas Cathedral
468 reviews
.05 miles away
Newcastle Castle
652 reviews
.10 miles away
Side Gallery
27 reviews
.12 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
ash005
July 14, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Alan Z | Reviewed this property |
I'm not sure about this, you might want to ask the staffs there.
1
Vote
Annette W
March 10, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Jemma5555 | Reviewed this property |
I wouldn't think so. Friday and Saturday night yes but week night and daytime you will be fine.
1
Vote
Juls P
January 14, 2015|
Answer
Response from Yoco C |
Yes they are.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$13 - $28
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
3:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
1:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 46 Dean Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1PG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Tyne and Wear  >  Newcastle upon Tyne
  • Phone Number: +44 191 222 1882
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;