We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Northumbrian Piper

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Fawdon House, 1 Fawdon close | Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 2AH, England
+44 191 285 6793
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for The Northumbrian Piper and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Description: Hidden away, it has for decades, remained one of Gosforth's best kept...
Hidden away, it has for decades, remained one of Gosforth's best kept secrets, serving as a welcoming watering hole for residents of the town's Red House Farm Estate, Great Park and the surrounding areas. But now the word is officially out and discerning diners from across the region are descending upon and discovering the culinary treasures of this stunning, hidden gem.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 201 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 109
    Excellent
  • 46
    Very good
  • 24
    Average
  • 18
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Very nice but.....

Have to say the food was excellent and served by very pleasant staff the but is it feels really cramped in the restaurant area you are ouch in chairs with every neighbour and people constantly squeezing past.....not good when you've got little ones still the food is well worth a visit

4 of 5 starsReviewed December 19, 2015
Michael N
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

201 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Food was ok the pub is nice because its tucked away and has a nice atmosphere but the food lets it down. Not dog friendly which is really disappointing!!

Helpful?
Thank lucy24pony
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Every year, as my father is Scottish, we like to celebrate Burns Night with a traditional supper of Haggis, Neeps and Tatties. This year, having had several great meals at the Piper over the years, we decided to try out their Burns supper menu. As my mother doesn't like haggis, we were pleased that the usual meals were still on... More 

Helpful?
Thank klcx292
JohnnyGandLynne, Owner at The Northumbrian Piper, responded to this review

Well thank you so much for your lovely review. You have no idea what a difference it makes when you here that people love the food. The Burns night food was a late decision prompted by our butcher Donald Gilbert in Gosforth we have tried it before but not much take up. When he told me he had sold shed... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have been to the Piper twice now for Sunday dinner now and both times I have been highly impressed. I work every weekend, so when I do get the odd Sunday off I don't want to spend a days holiday stuck in the kitchen cooking a roast! I've been to various chain pubs, when I've really fancied a lovely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cassandra K
JohnnyGandLynne, Owner at The Northumbrian Piper, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review and support. Im so pleased that you enjoyed what we have to offer which is simply a tasty proper homemade Sunday lunch with proper everything from vegetables to gravy and everything in between. What a contrast to the last review that we got, it goes to show people are so different. As... More 

North Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A wonderful menu at this venue is enhanced by their willingness to provide food prepared and cooked the Slimming World way. This means that any 'reducing' members of your party can enjoy a beautifully prepared meal and stay within the eating plan they are following, magic. If you would like a particular SW recipe Joanne is more than happy to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 755annesw
JohnnyGandLynne, Owner at The Northumbrian Piper, responded to this review

At last a very satisfied Customer in this crazy season for pubs and restaurants where people are stressed, things do go wrong and staff face heavy criticism. You prepared in advance by asking what we can and can't do which was great because we were able to tailor to your needs and it all worked out well. As I said... More 

Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016 via mobile

After reading fantastic reviews I thought I was in for a treat. There was 4 adults and 3 children dinning. The pub didn't seem very busy when we arrived at 3pm. We all ordered separately for our families. When our starters came my belly pork was stone cold but in a hot plate. And our friends were still waiting on... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sanderso1
JohnnyGandLynne, Owner at The Northumbrian Piper, responded to this review

Another seasonal mess up by us it sounds my apologies for this one too. We were in fact run off our feet that day in different areas/rooms of the pub and it continued like that. I think the kitchen had not realised the orders were linked on investigation so maybe a bit of a communication error on our part. Not... More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2015 via mobile

Have to say the food was excellent and served by very pleasant staff the but is it feels really cramped in the restaurant area you are ouch in chairs with every neighbour and people constantly squeezing past.....not good when you've got little ones still the food is well worth a visit

Helpful?
Thank Michael N
JohnnyGandLynne, Owner at The Northumbrian Piper, responded to this review

Thanks for your review much appreciated sorry the place must have been busy the day you came in sometimes it seems very large when it's quiet. The pub is a strange shape inside I think and it's difficult to set tables our an differently. I do agree with you that the area is small but at least the food pleased... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

Our search for a suitable place for the traditional family Christmas Meal led us here, away from the run-of-the-mill chains and 2-for-1s. There are, between the seven of us, such varying preferences and immeasurable fussiness, so for this choice to be unanimously agreeable was A Very Good Thing. The menu is quite wide-ranging with meals that sound high-quality and prices... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Dan B
JohnnyGandLynne, Owner at The Northumbrian Piper, responded to this review

Apologies that we didn't match up to your expectations in this case and apologies for taking time to tell you we didn't have something this is not good. We do look for other ways to serve food so that it looks its best clearly this didn't work for you in this case. I think once a couple of things go... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
907 reviews
547 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 514 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2015

Generally supported here and my wife suggested we came here tonight. The only real problem was that my wife's steak pie was cold (which they took away, microwaved and returned). Chilli and Garlic Prawns starter was delicious. Fish and chips looked good but had a bit much grease about the fish. Chips were homemade and great. Other main of chicken... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sleep007
JohnnyGandLynne, Owner at The Northumbrian Piper, responded to this review

Sorry about your problem that you incurred im interested to know what night you came to see us so that I can put some issues right and improve for the next time you come in. Can you let me know please on thenorthumbrianpiper@hotmail.co.uk thanks More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2015

In a party of seven there were no complaints from anyone. Sunday dinner was excellent and the kids all enjoyed their puddings. Good service and very reasonably priced. There is a fantastic outside area for the kids to run about and play. I will definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank reddave249
JohnnyGandLynne, Owner at The Northumbrian Piper, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking time out to review our Sunday lunch I'm so pleased that everything was good for you we do try to do our best always. Hope you return soon. More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2015

I think the Northumbrian Piper has a bit of an identity crisis. The food is of mid-range restaurant quality (great burgers and steaks, an excellent fish cake, very well presented greek salad) but dining there recently the whole place became a pub quiz venue so we had to sit and eat this very good food in the middle of a... More 

Helpful?
Thank arborfieldman
JohnnyGandLynne, Owner at The Northumbrian Piper, responded to this review

Thank you for your review its much appreciated. As regards pub versus restaurant we are definitely a pub first although we do try to provide food which is freshly made not bagged or boxed and of the best ingredients. Sorry you fell into our Tuesday quiz it is a bit of a problem in that diners may still be finishing... More 

Travelers who viewed The Northumbrian Piper also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Ponteland, Northumberland
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Northumbrian Piper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Fawdon House, 1 Fawdon close | Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 2AH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Tyne and Wear  >  Newcastle upon Tyne
  • Phone Number: +44 191 285 6793

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 13 - 32
  • Cuisine: British, Pub, Steakhouse, Barbecue

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children

Description

Hidden away, it has for decades, remained one of Gosforth's best kept secrets, serving as a welcoming watering hole for residents of the town's Red House Farm Estate, Great Park and the surrounding areas. But now the word is officially out and discerning diners from across the region are descending upon and discovering the culinary treasures of this stunning, hidden gem.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Northumbrian Piper and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
7 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Northumbrian Piper staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?