We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Cafe Spice

Certificate of Excellence
Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European, Bangladeshi
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
111 Chillingham Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE6 5XL, England
0191 265 6565
Website
Today
5:00 pm - 12:00 am
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 5:00 pm - 12:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 89: English reviews
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016

We went on Monday evening & it was very quiet The service was first class as was the food I always have a portion of fries with Indian food & they were the tastiest I have EVER had . I had Chicken Tikka & salad as a starter & chicken Korma with pilau rice as a main course whilst my... More 

Helpful?
Thank leighty81
Newcastle, England
Level Contributor
91 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016

We had booked in advance but when we arrived at this half empty restaurant on a Saturday evening around 6:45 we were disappointed to be told we had booked for the next day however when we told the waiter the date he realised his mistake and we were shown to our table without an apology. The food was good but... More 

Helpful?
Thank SarahnJ0hn
Newcastle upon Tyne
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2016

I have always ordered from this Indian takeaway. It has great choice and usually great quality food. However, on this occasion it was unbelievably disappointing. The chicken in my curry was VERY tough and chewy and genuinely inedible. I had to leave most of it because it was so dry and tough. How is it actually possible to get chicken... More 

Helpful?
Thank NewcastleTravelller
JahirU, Manager at Cafe Spice, responded to this review

Dear Newcastle Traveler Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry to hear that your food was as bad as you described it. we would like to say that we take all feedbacks positively and seriously and always look at ways to improve our service and food. please could you mention the day and date or the order that you... More 

Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
473 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2016

Two of us ate here courtesy of Groupon discount. We had Prawn Bhaji on Puree and then Chicken Tikka Masala and Chicken Rojan Gosh. Both were pleasant and given the discount it was good value for money. The standard early bird menu is £9.50 for 3 courses.

Helpful?
Thank bdon257
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2016

excellent service food very hot will dine again reasonable price drinkks good value would recommend to others

Helpful?
Thank janettesc0tt
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2016

If you like your Indian food this is a place to try, good food well served and with the right amount of attention enough, but not over powering.

Helpful?
Thank gengiskarn
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
473 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2016

Four of us ate here tonight and all had different starters and mains. They were all equally good, the food nicely presented and we were quickly served by pleasant staff. It had been a while since we had been here but intend coming back fairly soon. The early bird deals 5 to 7pm appear good value too.

Helpful?
Thank bdon257
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2016 via mobile

Initially guy at bar seemed good. He was pretty professional. In other hand can't say much for young chap who served me. Useless maybe??? Took his time serving me ... Then my food all came out at once ... Starter was meant to be chicken wings ... Looked more like anorexic chicken wings ... About one tiny bite of meat... More 

Helpful?
Thank NRM1980
JahirU, Manager at Cafe Spice, responded to this review

Dear NRM1980 I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the food you had that night, also you felt the service by one of the staff was not good. I have had a word with the chef and waiters regarding that night, the food you mentioned, that is how we do it sir, we cooked everything per potion... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
624 reviews
305 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 879 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2016

my partner and I visited in January. cosy clean restaurant. waiter attentive good knowledge of menu. starters came in good time. a little wait for the main, but not a long time to complain. overall tasty . will try for takeaway next time.

Helpful?
3 Thank enncle
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2016

I had a takeaway from here last night Not only did I have to wait for ages despite having e mailed my order in ......but the curry was so sweet and greasy it made me feel ........... I don't like giving a bad review particularly when it's a local independent business .....but I'm sorry

Helpful?
1 Thank daveharrop_12
JahirU, Manager at Cafe Spice, responded to this review

Hi Dave am sorry to hear that you had to wait a long time for your order, and then not to have enjoyed your meal because the masala was to sweet. we will have a look at the way we do our masala and address it with our chefs. Please talk to the manager next time you order and we... More 

Travelers who viewed Cafe Spice also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Cafe Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Cuisine
Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European, Bangladeshi
Meals
Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
5:00 pm - 12:00 am
Monday
5:00 pm - 12:00 am
Tuesday
5:00 pm - 12:00 am
Wednesday
5:00 pm - 12:00 am
Thursday
5:00 pm - 12:00 am
Friday
5:00 pm - 12:00 am
Saturday
5:00 pm - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 111 Chillingham Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE6 5XL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Tyne and Wear  >  Newcastle upon Tyne
  • Phone Number: 0191 265 6565

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cafe Spice staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?