We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Boatman Freehouse - CLOSED

Millbrook, Guildford GU1 3XJ, England
+44 1483 568024
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent20%
  • Very good29%
  • Average18%
  • Poor24%
  • Terrible9%
Dec 18, 2014
“disgusting service”
Aug 19, 2014
“Now called THE WEYSIDE INN”
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Millbrook, Guildford GU1 3XJ, England
All Details
Reviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 50 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014

Did the walk along the river from Godalming to Guildford and popped in for a drink and some light lunch. Good selection of drinks and we had the pie of the day. Which was very nice in its own bowl with mash and vegetables in...More

Thank MEADVALE
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Had a lovely Sunday Lunch on a beautiful day this weekend. We were able to sit outside on the terrace - which was lovely - the only downside is you have to order from the bar if sat outside. Food was done nicely - basically...More

Thank dickiej
Reviewed April 1, 2014

What an ideal place to sit out and sup beer & down good pub food in the sun. The most relaxing atmosphere we have found. Its not local but we when we can we make a speacial trip out to enjoy a great few hours...More

1  Thank Glynsan T
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had our work's Christmas lunch here and I think it's fair to say that often food cooked en-masse from a set menu can be somewhat underwhelming. However, the overwhelming feeling from our party was that the food served up for us all was very...More

Thank Timberford
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The pub itself and the view of the river were good. We had our meal in the conservatory part and it was very warm thanks to the wood burning stove. The staff were fine too. The food was not all great. One of our family...More

Thank scottieYorkshire
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We have been to this restaurants many times over the years because of the great location. But the standard of food has gradually got worse. Tasteless food and the specials were definitely not special. Premium prices for mediocre food. Such a pity when the location...More

1  Thank Irene P
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Nicely done pub. They had champagne on offer when we were there and there was a reason... much better to go for the nicest prosecco that some shoddy champagne. The food all looked good and the space and light inside is nice. My glass was...More

Thank LibertytripS
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Although we made a reservation by phone they didn't have a record of it. I chose a chicken cheese and chorizo ciabatta and my husband a burger however the quality of these were not good. Would not recommend the food .

1  Thank 0306sarahandsteve
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Beautiful location, but if I think about their dirty glasses (all of them), dishes, tables and floors, I certainly wouldn't go back there - never! The staff requires a bit of work on their customer service skills as well.. If you want a meal cooked...More

1  Thank DeeDee8Dexter
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The pub is in a lovely location on the river but, unfortunately, the Sunday roast was completely tasteless. I don't think I've ever had such an awful pub roast! Even the veg just tasted of water, not sure how you can get carrots wrong?! Such...More

Thank ClaireLondres
Chris K, Owner at The Boatman Freehouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

We are sorry you had issues with the food. It is a pity you did not speak to the Manager about it, as he had only positive responses from customers he spoke to regarding their meals that lunchtime. He would like to show you we...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Fresco DeliKafessen
147 reviews
.10 miles away
Olivo - Ristorante Italiano
1,023 reviews
.04 miles away
Cote Brasserie - Guildford
1,116 reviews
.07 miles away
Meat the Greek
311 reviews
.07 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Guildford Castle
376 reviews
.11 miles away
Guildford's Yvonne Arnaud Theatre
158 reviews
.04 miles away
Museum
30 reviews
.13 miles away
Tunsgate Arch
27 reviews
.18 miles away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Average prices
$11 - $26
Cuisine
Good for
Families with children, Scenic view
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Millbrook, Guildford GU1 3XJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Guildford
  • Phone Number: +44 1483 568024
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing