We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travelers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

About
Nestled in the heart of National Trust country, this traditional village pub is a popular haven for walkers, ramblers and lovers of the outdoors. Known locally for its excellent food, fine cask ales and extensive garden, it's a great place to relax with friends and family.
PRICE RANGE
$5 - $27
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
FEATURES
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free off-street parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Wine and Beer, Digital Payments, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Dog Friendly
Reviews (408)
Filter reviews
405 results
Traveler rating
217
88
44
34
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
217
88
44
34
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday roast fish and chips ciabatta sticky toffee pudding pies beef the pub large garden dog friendly pub busy sunday new management be visiting again friendly atmosphere lovely meal portion sizes pubs landlord
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

5 out of 5 Sunday roast. The Jolly Farmer is a picturesque pub on the edge of Whitmoor Common. Perfect location for a walk on an autumnal Sunday morning, followed by a warm and hearty roast at the Jolly Farmer. Food is delicious and staff...are very attentive. Also felt very Covid-secure and dog friendly. Thank you Jolly Farmer and we will be back!More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 1 week ago

Been meeting up with friends on Friday evening at various pubs in the area and the fish and chips here were the best of the lot. Also friendly and attentive staff.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went here last Sunday with friends after a lovely walk with the dogs. We had reserved table 32 on the patio as doing under the grapevines appealed to me. It was fabulous from start to finish. A wonderful warm welcome and the staff were so...attentive. I shared a ploughman’s lunch platter with my girlfriend and it was enormous and had so much more variety than your typical cheese bread and pickles. The platter included delicious sausage rolls, ham, and we requested Stilton instead of cheddar. Plenty of bread, pickled onions and chutney to complement everything. The smell of the Sunday roast wafting through was heavenly and it looked really good too but we were only having a light lunch, am definitely going back for a roast in the next few weeks!! Very safe too, all staff wore masks and plenty of room between tables. Hand gel etc available in abundance. A great traditional pub experience, thank you. Caroline xxxxMore

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had heard about this pub from some friends so I decided to give it a try - this was in August. The pub owner himself greeted me at the door and made me feel so at home! They followed all of the Covid protocol...to the letter - must be so difficult to do that and still make it so warm and welcoming but somehow they managed it. I tried two of their tap bitters and had the fish and chips - it was delicious! I fancy myself a bit of a beer connoisseur, and I could tell the beer was fresh and they clearly clean and maintain the lines regularly. They have a beautiful outdoor garden and the coolest tiki bar which reminds me of my days living in Orlando! This is a must! I'll definitely make it a stop every time I'm in the area!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped at the Jolly Farmer after a dog walk on Whitmoor common. We had booked a table outside under the grape vines. We felt completely safe as there were sanitizer stations present and the tables were spaced out. The staff wore face masks and...we were asked to wear them when moving from our table. The food arrived and was delicious. A sharing ploughman’s which was giant and a few starters. Staff were attentive and prices fair.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
FellowTraveler582062, Owner at The Jolly Farmer, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for the nice review, in these Covid restricted times it's made a tough industry even more difficult and it makes it worthwhile when we can make customers happy.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a very poor lunch here, dry chicken curry, pie of the day very bland and I wouldn't think home made and not good quality ham with ham egg and chips. Service not up to scratch, not very friendly and no wine list if...you want to buy a bottle, only by the glass! All the specials were listed on the paper menu as well as the blackboard but the ones on the board were more expensive! Have been visiting this pub for years and such a shame the food and service has gone downhill.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
FellowTraveler582062, Owner at The Jolly Farmer, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We apologize that you didn't find the lunch up to standard, we take on board criticism in order to improve the Jolly and hope that you will give us another opportunity.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Food was very nice and arrived quickly, we had no choice but to sit outside which was all fine except for a strong sewage smell due to a nearby septic tank.(Blamed on the neighbour..?). Asked for a few £s off our meal due to the...stench but this was refused by the manager. Not sure how you can justify charging full price in that situation and from reading past reviews it’s an issue going back many years. Otherwise nice food and good service and the waitress was helpful and apologetic but the smell prevents a 4 star.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
FellowTraveler582062, Owner at The Jolly Farmer, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are sorry that the agricultural nature of your visit spoiled the lunch, it is easier for us to move customers to the other side of the property but we are limited if the complaint comes after the lunch is eaten.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been regularly visiting the Jolly Farmer pre Covid and have been every Sunday since, feel completely safe, food is delicious. Perfect way to spend a Sunday thankyou Phil and your team for making our Sundays so relaxing. Definitely recommend

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
FellowTraveler582062, Owner at The Jolly Farmer, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for the nice review, we appreciate your patronage.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I visited with my elderly mother...it was the first time she had ventured out to lunch since March..We were abit apprehensive about social distancing and adherence to the safety measures ..but we shouldn't have worried. We were made to feel safe and secure...all the necessary...measures were in place and adhered to....and our Sunday lunch was delicious ! Thank you Jolly Farmer...we will certainly be back !More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
FellowTraveler582062, Owner at The Jolly Farmer, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for the nice review, we appreciate your patronage.

Reviewed September 18, 2020 via mobile

Was really looking forward to returning here but was sadly disappointed. The food was nothing like it used to be. We ordered whitebait which rather than being in a light crispy batter as before was covered in bright orange bread crumbs and had obviously come...from a cheap frozen food supplier. The staff were friendly & helpful but I was surprised that, unlike all other restaurants and pubs I’ve visited recently none of them wore any face coverings or observed any rules of distance. Nor did they even ask their customers to put on face coverings inside the pub. As I work with vulnerable people it didn’t a feel safe environment so I won’t be visiting againMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
FellowTraveler582062, Owner at The Jolly Farmer, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are sorry that you had a bad experience, the whitebait is very definitely not cheap and we note that your review was before Covid restrictions that required staff to wear masks, indeed we are aware that some of our customers may be in the...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Worplesdon Place
581 reviews
1.01 miles away
Asperion Hillside Hotel
510 reviews
1.05 miles away
Gorse Hill
113 reviews
1.65 miles away
Travelodge Guildford
142 reviews
2.17 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Fox Inn
192 reviews
1.62 miles away
The White Lyon
422 reviews
1.12 miles away
Worplesdon Place
522 reviews
1.00 miles away
Bird in Hand
578 reviews
1.31 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Containment
241 reviews
1.41 miles away
Merrist Wood Golf Club
10 reviews
2.02 miles away
Sutton Green Golf Club
10 reviews
1.43 miles away
Worplesdon Golf Club
14 reviews
1.60 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Thefoodie1945
July 30, 2020|
Answer
Response from FellowTraveler582062 | Property representative |
Most lunchtimes do not require a booking except for Saturdays and Sundays, hope that helps.
0
Votes
BoardingPass694251
January 26, 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from C7196NIchrisb | Reviewed this property |
Yes...
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing