We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Golden Lion

44A High Street, Newmarket CB8 8LB, England
+44 1638 672040
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good41%
  • Average13%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible9%
Travelers talk about
“mixed grill” (4 reviews)
“curry” (8 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
DETAILS
44A High Street, Newmarket CB8 8LB, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 184 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2017

We wanted somewhere to eat late afternoon without any time wasting. It was 'curry night' so the drink was included in the price. Food was served even before my wife had got back from the loo. Nicely presented; tasty. Well done!

Thank Peter G
Golden Lion N, Manager at The Golden Lion, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words- please come back for a curry again :)

Reviewed March 15, 2017 via mobile

18-45 weds , 15min wait at bar ,staff seem confused only 2 serving as at least 15 customers waiting ! Walked out ,

Thank 2525mab
Golden Lion N, Manager at The Golden Lion, responded to this review

thanks for taking the time to review us. We apologise that unfortunately on this visit it wasn't up to our usual standards, these comments will be discussed and addressed.

Reviewed March 12, 2017

Excellent value 3 meals and drinks for £22,The pub is brilliant for accepting kids even when really busy,Go to bar to order and not a long wait even when busting with people. .Wont win any food awards but for £22 its amazing value and you...More

Thank Zoo7Zoo
Golden Lion N, Manager at The Golden Lion, responded to this review

Many thanks for your positive review. :)

Reviewed March 7, 2017

Breakfast great price, speedy service, perfect poached eggs, atmosphere lacking, however it was morning and so not a party atmosphere! Not peaceful enough to work in though. Everything I expect from weatherspoons, will continue to have my breakfasts here.

Thank snapper
Golden Lion N, Manager at The Golden Lion, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us. We look forward to seeing you in for breakfast. :)

Reviewed March 2, 2017 via mobile

We all know that all witherspoon pubs are cheap and cheerful so we do not expect 5* food and service but I do expect basic edible food and clean glasses and chinaware. Sadly what I got yet again was a filthy glass and poorly cooked...More

Thank Familiesandfun
Golden Lion N, Manager at The Golden Lion, responded to this review

We are very sorry that your visit wasn't up to our usual standards. These comments will be discussed with the team and addressed.

A TripAdvisor Member
21
Reviewed February 25, 2017 via mobile

It's spoons - cheap drink, cheap food, seating available. The staff were pleasant. What more could you want?

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Golden Lion N, Manager at The Golden Lion, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us. :)

Reviewed February 22, 2017 via mobile

Have eaten there quite a few times for breakfast as good value but it has its downsides when it's busy sometimes food can be cold and sent back. But it's biggest need is a refurb it's not been done in years and some of the...More

Thank Russell B
Golden Lion N, Manager at The Golden Lion, responded to this review

I have addressed these maintenance issues with our head office. thanks for the review.

Reviewed February 21, 2017

i don't know what has happened to The Golden Lion in recent months, whether they have had a change or a shortage of staff, I don't know. Just a couple of months ago, you could go to the bar to order your meal and wouldn't...More

Thank SusieSeptember
Golden Lion N, Manager at The Golden Lion, responded to this review

Sorry we didn't get things right for you this time. These comments will we addressed with our team.

Reviewed February 20, 2017 via mobile

Friendly staff, pretty small compared to London weathetspoons, beautiful back garden / smoking area, worth a visit for a pint

Thank Perry F
Golden Lion N, Manager at The Golden Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us :)

Reviewed February 19, 2017 via mobile

Grabbed a quick lunch with a friend - a cheap and quick meal. I ordered a halloumi and sweet chilli wrap which tasted great. This was accompanied by a soup rather than chips. When I started to eat my soup, it was stone cold. The...More

Thank smithemmalee
Golden Lion N, Manager at The Golden Lion, responded to this review

Many Thanks for your review.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Pocket Bistro
362 reviews
.09 miles away
The Pantry
514 reviews
.09 miles away
Thai Street Cafe
308 reviews
.06 miles away
El Guaca Mexican Grill
97 reviews
.08 miles away
Nearby Attractions
National Heritage Centre for Horseracing & Sporting Art
236 reviews
.09 miles away
Palace House
5 reviews
.08 miles away
Newmarket Thai Spa
13 reviews
.27 miles away
The Spa
15 reviews
.52 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Foreverwaljing
Does this place open for breakfast on a Sunday?
August 28, 2016|
Answer
Response from Golden Lion N | Property representative |
Yes open everyday from 8am.
0
Votes
millyjane_xo
Hi, Was wondering if this pub is dog friendly - is there a garden? Thanks!
August 22, 2016|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Golden Lion N | Property representative |
Hi Millyjane, unfortunately we only allow guide dogs on the premises, sorry.
0
Votes
Roy H
Do you actually have a car park?
June 16, 2015|
Answer
Response from Golden Lion N | Property representative |
Not anymore sorry.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$3 - $16
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 44A High Street, Newmarket CB8 8LB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Newmarket
  • Phone Number: +44 1638 672040
  • E-mail
Description
This Wetherspoon pub is the former Golden Lion, a long-standing fixture on High Street. The sign of The Golden Lion is thought to have originated with King Henry I. Known as the Lion of Justice, Henry started a royal menagerie at Woodstock, which included lions - reputedly the first to be seen in England.