We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Pantry

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Guineas Shopping Centre, Newmarket, England
441638661181
Website
Today
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 9:30 am - 4:00 pm
Mon - Sat 8:00 am - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

483 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 478: English reviews
Mildenhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Called in for lunch, very busy, staff extremely helpful. Food excellent _ we tried starters and mains, wide choice, difficult decision but ended up ordering open fish finger sandwiches. These were excellent, fresh fish made into fish fingers on ciabatta bread with rocket and tartare sauce. Would definitely recommend eating here.

Helpful?
Thank JB5209
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Outstanding little place for a nice meal or a quick tea. Good prices and excellent service. I'd recommend early afternoon seating.

Helpful?
Thank bullseye69
England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I ate here on a Friday evening in November and was surprised that the restaurant wasn't full. The food is excellent and the staff were friendly and attentive. The restaurant specialises in good local sourced food. I had a delicious bowl of plump mussels in a beer juice with bacon pieces while my companion had a generous portion of lamb... More 

Helpful?
Thank RB-2004
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited today 'on spec' with young family during busy service, nevertheless we received a warm welcome. Scones and cake were generous and tasty; tea was super. Just what we were looking for!

Helpful?
Thank honey_still_for_tea
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we discovered this magical place two years ago. it is unbelievably good value and excellent food. just returned from eating out regularly in paris and the pantry stands alongside the best in paris. breakfast and dinner are equally superb and the cuisine is all beautifully presented , tastes superb and you will return.

Helpful?
Thank tonyparker100
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good food right through the day including evening meals, they have got the formula so right. Hard to say much more, especially when there is so little to criticise.

Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went today for lunch, having heard good things. We entered the cafe and stood waiting to be seated. After sometime we made our way to a table and no server approached us. As we sat down a waitress asked if we were only two and said she would see if she could find us a table, so we got... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sallypoo08
Anne-Marie W, Owner at The Pantry, responded to this review

Dear Sallypoo08, I was extremely saddened to read about your experience on Thursday and I must apologise that you had such a poor greeting and seating. Big warm welcomes and being served in a timely manner are a very important part of our business and all of our team are trained in this importance. I understand how frustrating it must... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went for a meal here. Lovely food, friendly staff, and reasonably priced. Only down side was the custard for the mini doughnuts was like water in consistency and flavour. It would have been 5 stars otherwise. It's still a great place to eat and I will continue to eat there.

Helpful?
Thank cris1973445
Anne-Marie W, Owner at The Pantry, responded to this review

Dear Chris, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your experience.. excluding the watery custard; we are on the case to make sure this does not happen again. We hope to see you again with perfect custard so we can give you a 5 * experience! Thanks again, Anne-Marie More 

Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2016

I ordered a salad however the lettuce leaves proved rather gritty which meant I was unable to eat all of it. I reported this to the management but the only comment was that the salad leaves had been washed and no apology was offered. (Interestingly it was the manager who asked if everything was OK with our meal and clearly... More 

Helpful?
Thank 3gamins
Anne-Marie W, Owner at The Pantry, responded to this review

Dear 3gamins, I am contacting you regarding you review following your experience with us recently, firstly I am terribly sorry that your salad leaves were gritty; I realise that, that is not very pleasant and should not happen if the leaves are prepared correctly. Secondly I am also apologetic that having informed the manager on duty you were left feeling... More 

1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2016 via mobile

Although not a regular visitor to the restaurant it has been for a number of years the venue of choice whenever we have eaten out in Newmarket. Previously we have always been impressed with the quality of food, atmosphere, cocktail and service. However on this occasion we were disappointed in all of these areas. No mixers available to make cocktails... More 

Helpful?
Thank TabbyTooty123
Anne-Marie W, Owner at The Pantry, responded to this review

Dear Katy L, I am contacting you regarding your feedback following your recent meal at The Pantry, firstly I must apologise that you had such a poor experience, myself and the team are both saddened and embarrassed that this was the case. It is such a shame that having enjoyed previous visits that we were no where near the standards... More 

Travelers who viewed The Pantry also viewed

 
Kennett, Newmarket
 

Been to The Pantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Cafe, European, British, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Highchairs Available, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Open Hours
Sunday
9:30 am - 4:00 pm
Monday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Guineas Shopping Centre, Newmarket, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Newmarket
  • Phone Number: 441638661181

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Pantry staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?