We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pantry

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Guineas Shopping Centre, Newmarket, England
441638661181
Website
Today
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 9:30 am - 4:00 pm
Mon - Sat 8:00 am - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

501 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 495: English reviews
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Went for breakfast a couple of times, It is now our go to place in Newmarket for a breakfast / brunch. Food very well presented, very well cooked and not that expensive. Service with a smile is always good and the staff here are very pleasant indeed.

Helpful?
Thank Steve G
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely food and drink great service fresh local produce.would definitely go there again.The burgers are pure meat heaven.

Helpful?
Thank Baz C
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Stopped for coffee and cake ,lovely .nice overall menu not too many choices which suits me ,but plenty of different things . Lovely staff ,not rushed even though we were there at lunch time but only wanted coffee , I would highly recommend

Helpful?
Thank karen h
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I love this place. My wife and I eat here every time we visit the East of England. There is always something interesting on the menu and the dishes are well cooked and good combinations. With so many restaurants just identikit chains of mediocre Italian food these days, The Pantry takes quality local ingredients and sets them centre stage. It's... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Taken here by family for a early lunch and the place was packed. The service and food was great. Happy to return here the next time I'm in the neighborhood.

Helpful?
Thank Christopher F
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came for a simple lunch but ended up having a steak and the fish platter. The steak was great quality and beautifully cooked. I had the large sized fish platter. The platters are available in two sizes. Smoked salmon, smoked mackerel and fish pate, served with salad, potato salad and crusty bread. All very tasty. It was heaving and... More 

Helpful?
Thank sharonhassan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Overall, the saving grace of this place is the good food. The staff is much more of a mixed bag; some were polite but some were outright rude. We were given a telling off for having not waited to be seated, despite there being no sign to do so and it being more of a café as opposed to a... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Finn_CG
Anne-Marie W, Owner at The Pantry, responded to this review

Dear Finn_G, I am contacting you regarding your recent visit, firstly I am was so sorry to read about the poor service you received; I am so frustrated to hear this and I applies that this happened in our business. The first issue you mentioned was being 'told off' for not waiting to be seated, this is absolutely not part... More 

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2017 via mobile

Busy place and clear to see why. The food is great and reasonably priced and the staff are so friendly. We had deli boards which were great value. Lovely cakes too.

Helpful?
Thank Paul M
Kings Lynn
Level Contributor
155 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2017 via mobile

We had wandered about the High Street area of Newmarket and we're looking for somewhere to have a light bite to eat. We came across The Pantry, just off the High Street. It was packed (always a good sign). We went in and found and we're able to sit at the table in the window. Very appealing menu. We had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline M
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2017

I enjoyed a very pleasant late lunch with my two adult daughters. Attentive service and excellent food. One of my daughters ordered the fish finger sandwich dish, which was delicious, whilst the other enjoyed the mixed seafood option. My choice of soup was equally flavoursome. I enjoyed the fact that it was a little less busy than usual as we... More 

Helpful?
Thank 3gamins

Travelers who viewed The Pantry also viewed

 

Been to The Pantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Cafe, European, British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Highchairs Available, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
9:30 am - 4:00 pm
Monday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Guineas Shopping Centre, Newmarket, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Newmarket
  • Phone Number: 441638661181

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Pantry staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?