We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
32 High Street | Newmarket, Newmarket CB8 8LB, England
+44 1638 666200
Website
Today
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 102: English reviews
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

My friend recommended we try here for our girls night out as she had eaten here on a previous occasion. We weren't disappointed. The food was delicious although we did wait a while. The bill was a pleasant surprise too as we had the special which includes a starter,main and either rice or a naan bread,all for £10.95. Prawn dishes... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda B
Anfor U, Owner at The Lancer, responded to this review

Apologies for the delay, though we're delighted you enjoyed your food/dinner. We get many recomemdations. If you recommend to a friend you will get 10% off your next order. If you would like to order prawns it's an additional £3 More 

Merseyside
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Myself and my wife visited this place after a recommendation . We ordered and after we had made our order the party of locals on the next table informed us we could get three courses for £10.95 This was not told to us when we ordered . When we received a £43 bill we asked if he would honour the... More 

Helpful?
Thank WillMerseyside
Anfor U, Owner at The Lancer, responded to this review

I'm sorry about your experience you received particularly you like your Indian and we admire those whose favourite cuisine is Indian as it has diverse dishes from the eastern Asian countries. Our food is fresh and quality and drink wise, yes a little bit expensive. The reason being is drink prices are high and we use top brand drinks. We... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Ordered our meal, got chatting with the ladies at the table next to us, they pointed out the special offer on the board outside, we had already ordered but I asked the waiter will this still apply to us, he said" I'll see what we can do" the offer outside advertised starter main rice or nan for £10.95, we ordered... More 

Helpful?
Thank cubajax
Anfor U, Owner at The Lancer, responded to this review

Madam we are sorry for the confusion and my staff present should have informed you prior to ordering. Yes the offer could have been used when processing your order. We are disappointed you feel this way so we will pay you the difference on your meal. Get in touch and let us know. More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have eaten inside and ordered from this restaurant before. Excellent food and service and value for money!!

Helpful?
Thank Lewis9301
Anfor U, Owner at The Lancer, responded to this review

Thank you for your custom. We use fresh, soft chicken, lamb and ingredients for better quality and taste at affordable prices - you can't resist. Dining in you can experience the freshness direct from the kitchen. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I regularly eat here when I stay in Newmarket. The food is always fresh, well presented and hot. The quality of the meat is what makes it better than most places. Don't be put off by the fact that there at not many people eating in as during the week it is usually reasonably quiet. Staff always friendly and very... More 

Helpful?
Thank JamesP1008
Anfor U, Owner at The Lancer, responded to this review

We use fresh meat as opposed to frozen mutton in most places so the texture is soft and tender, therefore better 'quality.' We have a promotional 2 course meal and it's important to meet customers needs - that's what we endeavour/strive to do The cobra draught is refreshingly cold. Thanks James 👍🏽 We appreciate your loyalty and hope to see... More 

Derbyshire village
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I was in Newmarket for a night last week and I came across this restaurant near to my hotel in the centre of town. The restaurant was not busy. The food was excellent, as were the service and the selection on the menu. Would not hesitate to return and recommended highly.

Helpful?
Thank Goldenrocket
Anfor U, Owner at The Lancer, responded to this review

We appreciate the comments. Thank you. We get recommended by many hotels in town so next time you check in, be sure to visit us. 😀 More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2016

Decided to try the sunday special buffet, menu states £9.95 all you can eat buffet, 8 dishes, we asked the waiter how this worked and was told we could order a starter, a main, rice was between 2 people, and you could have 1 Bahji between 2 people, the only thing not included was king prawn dishes! So 4 buffets... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amanda A
Anfor U, Owner at The Lancer, responded to this review

I do aplogise madam, there must have been a mis-calculation and confusion. If you pop in or message us we will resolve this. More 

Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2016

Great food and great service. This restaurant was the first place I ever ate Indian food and it's now one of my favorites.

Helpful?
Thank Gina S
Anfor U, Manager at The Lancer, responded to this review

Thank you very much and we hope to see you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2016 via mobile

I haven't eaten much Indian food before, but this got me hooked. I tried the saffron cashew chicken, garlic naan, the onion bhajee, the poppadoms with chutneys, and pilau rice. My favorite was the naan and chicken. It was exquisite! There were four of us, and we were all so pleased with our dishes. The atmosphere and decor here was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
Anfor U, Owner at The Lancer, responded to this review

We appreciate taking your time writing a review, thank you. The saffron cashew chicken is a nice, sweet flavoured dish with saffron from Spain. It is quite a unique dish, similar to our chutnies. We hope you return soon so you can try out more delishous and 'equisite' mains. More 

perthshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2016

Don't know if they were all tired after a busy Racing weekend but we were greeted by a pleasant girl but after that the service was poor.The waiter never engaged or ever attempted a smile.Though pappadums brought relatively promptly with tasty chutneys the long,very long wait for the main courses almost made us wonder why? My husband enjoyed his sea... More 

Helpful?
Thank racingfanPerthshire
Anfor U, Owner at The Lancer, responded to this review

Hi madam, First and foremost I would like to say I'm sorry for the service you experienced. I have spoken to my staff concerning this situation as I was in the kitchen during the dinner service. I have acknowdged you were greeted/welcomed by a waitress as she escorted you to your table. We're sorry to here about the delay and... More 

Travelers who viewed The Lancer also viewed

 

Been to The Lancer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$7 - $11
Cuisine
Indian
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Cash Only, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Wine and Beer, Delivery, Parking Available
Good for
Large groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 32 High Street | Newmarket, Newmarket CB8 8LB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Newmarket
  • Phone Number: +44 1638 666200
Description
One of the most popular restuaurants in Newmarket and should be on your site already. We are a family-run business established since 2006. We cater for all your requirements, we also do takeaways and deliveries including Just-Eat. We cater for large groups and any special occasion from stag-do and wedding party to birthdays and valentines day. Please book in advance. Our 30 year experience chef will warm up your taste buds and provide you with a magnificent and truly exquisite palette - try for yourself, and come down and visit The Lancer - we promise to make your dinner unforgettable.Note: We have a total seating capacity of 60, so any large bookings are welcome and MUST be booked in advance. Kurzi dishes and Kachi biryani must be ordered prior to booking.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Lancer staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?