We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Tollgate

142 Fornham Road, Bury St. Edmunds IP32 6AX, England
+44 1284 755237
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good25%
  • Average12%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible16%
Travelers talk about
“steak” (33 reviews)
“priory hotel” (4 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
142 Fornham Road, Bury St. Edmunds IP32 6AX, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

At last a brewery has taken the initiative to be dog friendly. I'm sure a lot of dog owners will appreciate being able to take their dogs with them whilst being able to enjoy a meal inside. The food was excellent and staff very friendly...More

Thank Matthew E
Elena S, Manager at The Tollgate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to give us a review most of greene king pubs allow dogs in they just don't advertise this. Thanks again Matthew E and hopefully if people read this trip review they might just come along.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

visited on Saturday 16/09/2018 very busy. Food very good ann well priced. Would visit again as we stayed at the Priory hotel opposite

Thank ivanholder
Elena S, Manager at The Tollgate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello ivanholder thanks for taking time out to leave us a review glad you enjoyed your visit and hopefully the next time your in bury st eds i you will say hello

Reviewed September 9, 2018 via mobile

We stopped in for a meal. It was quiet when we arrived, some tables had been reserved, the table we sat at had not been wiped down, and the wasn’t cleaned whilst we were there. We waited to get drinks very slow service as the...More

Thank Helen J
Elena S, Manager at The Tollgate, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2018

Wow you did not have a great visit, slow service, sewage water and disgusting shame you did not give us feedback on the day but waited to leave us this review on TA we try to please all our guests and always go the extra...More

Reviewed September 7, 2018

We went a couple of times during the world cup. The food was good and the locals were exceedingly friendly. The atmosphere was good. Thoroughly enjoyable.

Thank David D
Elena S, Manager at The Tollgate, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2018

Thanks David D glad you found us friendly and appreciate the time you took to leave us a good review hope to see you again :)

Reviewed September 1, 2018 via mobile

We’ve not been here for several years so thought we’d give it a try. The staff are friendly the food was very good and reasonably priced. I would definitely return.

Thank Liz L
Elena S, Manager at The Tollgate, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2018

Good morning Liz L thanks for taking the time to leave us a review made my Sunday morning glad you came and hope to see you again :)

Reviewed August 28, 2018

12 of my family went there on 27th august[august bank holiday] and had lovely meal, the food was really hot, we had pre-ordered the food so didn't hav to wait long, was friendly server, asked if food was ok and if we wanted any more...More

Thank 730websites
Elena S, Manager at The Tollgate, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

Hello 730websites Thanks so much for taking time out to leave us a review I really appreciate this Thanks again from the Tollgate team :)

Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

Wish I’d taken a picture! Served up ‘ Hunters Chicken’ cooked in the microwave ( confirmed by server)! White pasty chicken, melted cheese and poured bbq sauce.... that hadn’t seen the grill let alone an oven! It looked disgusting . After having my handbag stolen...More

Thank jai_kai_de
Elena S, Manager at The Tollgate, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

Sorry you felt you had write this review but we did everything possible on the day to correct the meal which was replaced and also refunded by my assistant manager I assure you I did not ignore you as I always personally deal with any...More

Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

Had the most amazing meal, tasted so good, no long wait and very friendly service, top quality 10/10

Thank Steve A
Elena S, Manager at The Tollgate, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2018

Thanks steve A for your review glad you enjoyed our Sunday lunch really hope to see you soon and thanks for taking time to leave us a nice comment

Reviewed August 17, 2018 via mobile

Oh dear not so good this time . Had a lovely Sunday roast one weekend could not fault the meal whatsoever. But on my second visit for the Sunday roast it was a disappointment, you have a choice of pork chicken or beef, I had...More

1  Thank Richard R
Elena S, Manager at The Tollgate, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2018

So sorry you did not enjoy the meal, wish you had said something on the day then we could have sorted this out for you, we do have lots of complements for our Sunday roasts and always fully booked I do hope you visit us...More

Reviewed August 11, 2018 via mobile

Went for a meal with friends and had a good evening. Food was ok and the service good but the tables and menus were very sticky which did let it down a little.More

Thank blossombob
Elena S, Manager at The Tollgate, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2018

Hello blossombob thanks for the review tables and menus will be checked this morning and all old sticky menus will be binned this is a daily job and will get on to the team today as this is not acceptable glad you had good service...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 9 hotels in Bury St. Edmunds
Best Western Priory Hotel
588 reviews
.06 miles away
The Angel Hotel
1,341 reviews
1.13 miles away
All Saints Hotel
457 reviews
1.13 miles away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
660 reviews
1.33 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Woolpack Fornham St Martin
170 reviews
.46 miles away
Casa
576 reviews
.92 miles away
Pea Porridge
738 reviews
.77 miles away
Bay Tree Cafe
143 reviews
.90 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Moyse's Hall Museum
135 reviews
.98 miles away
CurveMotion
165 reviews
.66 miles away
Hidden Gardens of Bury
7 reviews
.92 miles away
The Woolpack
15 reviews
.59 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Denise P
March 2, 2018|
Answer
Response from elliston61 | Reviewed this property |
no
0
Votes
315939Sue
April 24, 2016|
Answer
Response from pc4925 |
Yes they do
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$5 - $20
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 142 Fornham Road, Bury St. Edmunds IP32 6AX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Bury St. Edmunds
  • Phone Number: +44 1284 755237
  • E-mail
Description
Traditional Freshly cooked food served with a rustic charm in a modern but relaxed atmosphere.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing