We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Vane Arms

Thorpe Thewles Village, Stockton-on-Tees TS21 3JU, England
+44 1740 630458
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good21%
  • Average7%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
“haggis” (4 reviews)
“custard” (11 reviews)
“fish pie” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
Thorpe Thewles Village, Stockton-on-Tees TS21 3JU, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely Sunday lunch. Menu choices different and so much nicer than usual pub menu. Red Mullet was delicious, Beef was excellent and so was chicken casserole. Plenty of lovely vegetables. Chocolate tart and cornflake tart were delicious. Couldn't fault quick efficient service. Good choices on...More

Thank siangriffiths1
Reviewed February 4, 2018 via mobile

Last minute booking for dinner on the way home. Warm welcome, great service & just perfect food. Will definitely be back.

Thank Cheekybaldy
Reviewed January 29, 2018 via mobile

Called in for dinner with a friend after being recommended by another friend. My friend get pheasant which he really enjoyed and I got the burger. Tasted and looked amazing. Will definitely be returning.

Thank goatsgruff2015
Reviewed January 26, 2018

We came as a party on a lunch time for an 80th Birthday...wow...mind blowing meal. Firstly the staff could not have been more helpful. They arranged to have both the evening and lunch time menus available to us. The chef personally came to see us...More

Thank maddogbonzo
Reviewed January 21, 2018 via mobile

Mixed review for this place. On one hand if it was for the staff and how fantastic and welcoming they were in every way then it would be 5 star. Unfortunately if it was for the food and portion size it would be 2 star....More

Thank stu&jess
Vane001, Owner at The Vane Arms, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2018

Many thanks for the review, unfortunately not a great one, your comments on the welcome and staff are great to hear as we are a relatively new team at The Vane and are really trying to get things right. We normally get comments about how...More

Reviewed January 17, 2018

I visited on the evening of 16th of January 2018 with my sister. I ordered the "Comfit of duck leg on belly pork and bean cassoulet buttered vegetables" at a cost of £15.00. This dish was terrible. The veg' was BAKED BEANS!!! When I complained...More

Thank Greenhoppers
Vane001, Owner at The Vane Arms, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2018

I am so sorry you didn't enjoy your meal at The Vane, as a team we have only been in place for about 5 weeks and are really trying hard to get things right. I can assure you the dish was not 'tinned baked beans'...More

Reviewed December 4, 2017

We’ve been to the Vane Arms on several occasions but heard that it had a new manager and a new chef and so decided to try it out. After a hectic day at Nunnington Hall, we called for a quick meal and most of us...More

1  Thank ashovercouple
Reviewed December 2, 2017 via mobile

Had a fantastic meal with the family. We started with calamari and whitebait the batter was light and crispy. We could have eaten a number of the main courses but choose a fillet of the specials . Great new menu

1  Thank Davidh9593
Reviewed December 1, 2017

We not that long ago and i was a bit disappointed with the portion size, i must say the portion sizes are small but i really enjoyed the quality of our meal on my last visit- sunday roast was great! I must say the people...More

Thank andy17991
Reviewed November 19, 2017 via mobile

Absolutely amazing value. I would pay double the price for their Sunday lunch menu and I am sure all of their menus. Lovely staff, gorgeous quality food, perfect service and one of my top places now to eat!!

Thank Nikki_hh1987
Nearby HotelsSee all 9 hotels in Stockton-on-Tees
Wynyard Hall
1,191 reviews
1.88 miles away
Premier Inn Stockton on Tees/Hartlepool Hotel
481 reviews
3.44 miles away
Travelodge Sedgefield
94 reviews
3.70 miles away
Hardwick Arms Hotel
172 reviews
4.43 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Talbot
332 reviews
2.64 miles away
The Stables
366 reviews
2.54 miles away
The Wynyard Golf Club
40 reviews
2.30 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Wynyard Gardens
132 reviews
3.26 miles away
Spa at Wynyard Hall
130 reviews
1.85 miles away
Ropner Park
249 reviews
3.90 miles away
Billingham Catholic Club
9 reviews
3.26 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Paul r
August 13, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from HunnieGlasgow | Reviewed this property |
I am sorry I don't know if dogs are welcome :/
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Romantic, Families with children, Bar scene, Kids, Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Open Hours
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Thorpe Thewles Village, Stockton-on-Tees TS21 3JU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Stockton-on-Tees
  • Phone Number: +44 1740 630458
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Stay in the know!
Get the latest updates on restaurants and more in Cambrai.
Join TripAdvisor