We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Sutton Arms

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Darlington Road | Elton, Stockton-on-Tees TS21 1AH, England
+44 1642 582350
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

333 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 333: English reviews
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I must admit to always going for their early doors specials. They have added a new £6 main to their £9 for 2. When we visited this included duck leg with Cointreau sauce and pheasant hot pot. Excellent chips and nice veg included. Plus bottle of wine for £6 - absolutely excellent and outstanding value. And always a good cask... More 

Helpful?
Thank 1hugh1
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Overpriced for something I do better at home. Steak had more gristle than meat, chips were raw and everything else was greasy. Wasn't offered any kind of discount after complaining. Absolute crap

Helpful?
Thank David B
Sutton A, Bar & Waiting Staff at The Sutton Arms, responded to this review

This is an overstatement to say it was 'Absolute crap'. I went to your table on your occasion whilst you were half way through your meals where your wife smiled and said everything was fine. My female colleague working that night also checked on you twice. You had both eaten and cleaned your plates although yes, there was some fat... More 

Yorkshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been several times for the basic lunch.There is an excellent choice and great variety in the menu. It makes a very pleasant change from the usual carvery with overcooked veg. Hard to find value for money like this. Well done all!

Helpful?
Thank jonboyjackyYorkshire
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Never experienced such value for money! Fantastic food at amazing prices on the lunchtime menu!! Prompt and Friendly Service. Staff couldnt have done enough to make sure our visit was perfect.

Helpful?
Thank mattymorgan
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I decided to try this place for a meal but attitude of barman was terrible so we left...

Helpful?
Thank Simon42milner
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Ok but seems to lack the wow factor. Starters were nice enough. I had the mixed seafood lightly battered but struggled to tell the difference between the types of seafood. All a little over cooked. Wife had bacon and goat cheese tartlet which was basically a lump of melted cheese on half a slice of fried bread. The cheese was... More 

Helpful?
Thank djlk32
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went for partners birthday, absolutely beautiful food! Went for the Sunday lunch and for what you get is well worth the price. I will definitely be returning!

Helpful?
Thank Hannah E
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2017 via mobile

We arrived at 6.30pm it took a long time for staff to take our order. We ordered 2 starters which took 55 minutes to arrive. Waiters did notice this and explained the crab cakes were been made fresh. But still we felt this was to long to wait. The potato wedges we ordered were very dry and disappointing. For main... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca N
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2017

In my younger days I used to go to the Sutton Arms a few times a week but as life and family changed I stopped going. Recently i took my family for a meal in the bar rather than the restaurant. The menu is vast and the food is cooked to order. The staff are great, the environment charming. If... More 

Helpful?
Thank ConsultingMan
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2017

We quite often visit this lovely pub for lunch. As usual the food was good and staff at tentative. Very interesting looking around at all the different things on the walls. Look forward to visiting again quite soon as the prices are very reasonable.

Helpful?
Thank Patward46

Travelers who viewed The Sutton Arms also viewed

Stockton-on-Tees, England
Stockton-on-Tees, England
 
Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
Stockton-on-Tees, England
 

Been to The Sutton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Darlington Road | Elton, Stockton-on-Tees TS21 1AH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Stockton-on-Tees
  • Phone Number: +44 1642 582350

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Sutton Arms and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Northampton, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Sutton Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?