We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Holly Bush Inn


Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2018 Winner

Location and contact

The historic Holly Bush Inn is generally recognised as being the second licensed pub in the country. Dating back to the 16th century the thatched in sits in the quaint village of Salt. We serve all home cooked food using local produce, wherever possible, all served in a relaxed traditional environment by our friendly team. We have a large beer garden for enjoying a glass of wine or a pint of real ale during the summer months. Although we are only a few miles from Stafford town we pride ourselves on being a traditional country pub that serves home cooked food at honest prices.
$8 - $28
Special Diets
Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Bar, British, Pub
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Seating, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (770)
Filter reviews
765 results
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
More languages
Traveler rating
Show reviews that mention
All reviews black and blue burger steak and kidney pudding mixed grill homemade chips liver mussels salad sunday roast chicken balls pork the pub thatched roof wait for a table specials board beer garden huge portions car park
Selected filters
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 765 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

This place used to be THE place to come for good food that you could really rave about, sadly not any more. The main menu never seems to change. Yes there are several specials but it would be nice to have some variation on the...More

Date of visit: May 2019
2  Thank danioko
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We are always going there if we stay in Stafford! Every day! Yes, sometimes you need wait for a table, but it is only a good sign! You can chat and drink with your friends a while to wait your table. Fresh food, real pub!...More

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank YHiddl
Geoff H, Owner at The Holly Bush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Thank you so much for that lovely review. We all look forward to seeing you again when you are in Stafford

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The food was ok but waiting time is horrible. Been waiting 1 hour to be seated and almost 1 hour to get food . Doesn’t worth it .

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank YuliyaF
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We came here for dinner, last minute on a Saturday, it was busy but we only waited 15 minutes for a table, although no one told us to order at the bar, so we waited a while before we realised!! Lovely food, huge portions, all...More

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank magnoliasunday
Geoff H, Owner at The Holly Bush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi thank you for that lovely review even if you don't live close we would love to see you again one day. Thanks from all the team at the Bush

Reviewed April 14, 2019 via mobile

Had the steak and kidney pudding and triple cooked home made chips. Lovely meal. Traditional pub, not a chain. Highly recommend

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Exploration104227
Reviewed April 14, 2019 via mobile

Four of us two had starters whitebait lovely other prawn cocktail equally as good. Three had steak pudding amazing huge portions with chips and veg don't have a starter if you have this unless you have a massive appetite. Best pie think I've had ....More

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank jean g
Reviewed April 7, 2019

We did not eat on this visit and just popped in for drinks. The pub itself is a cosy pub with plenty of space for each table. As the weather was reasonable for our visit, we enjoyed the well manicured beer garden which is a...More

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Phil H
Reviewed April 2, 2019 via mobile

What a shame no beef left but the pork was very good. Great little traditional pub in a lovely quite little village. Can’t wait for summer and the beer garden

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank stokiec
Reviewed March 24, 2019 via mobile

Used to eat here years ago and was always a positive experience. Today awful, had to send food back. Given refund for the exact amount to the penny. Was offered to replace but as other members of party had partly eaten they’re very average food....I...More

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank time_out2t
Geoff H, Owner at The Holly Bush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2019

As you have not said what your meal was or the situation and as we have no record of this incident happening I have no idea what you are talking about

Reviewed March 24, 2019 via mobile

Popped in on route home from a day out with our son and 2 little dogs. Recent Tripadvisor reviews had referenced dogs being welcome in the bar area. As soon as we came through the door we were jumped on by a member of staff...More

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank nikkir422
Geoff H, Owner at The Holly Bush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2019

We have never said any where that dogs are welcome. Tripadvisor reviews are not always accurate and we are not responsible for them. Exactly the same way as this Tripadvisor review is inaccurate as you have not read anywhere that we say we welcome dogs....More

View more reviews
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 nearby hotels
Weston Hall
918 reviews
.69 miles away
Premier Inn Stafford North (Hurricane) Hotel
1,075 reviews
3.11 miles away
Premier Inn Stafford North (Spitfire) Hotel
682 reviews
3.21 miles away
Best Western Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
479 reviews
3.46 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 272 nearby restaurants
The Greyhound Inn
172 reviews
1.93 miles away
Green Man Inn
58 reviews
2.91 miles away
The Green Man
272 reviews
3.09 miles away
The Bank House Hixon
194 reviews
3.07 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 64 nearby attractions
British Wildlife Rescue Centre
13 reviews
2.23 miles away
Thor's Cave
91 reviews
3.26 miles away
Ancient High House
198 reviews
3.65 miles away
Stafford Gatehouse Theatre
136 reviews
3.55 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
July 23, 2018|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Brymar | Reviewed this property |
No bookings, but meet and greet if busy and try to find you a table. No hardship you may have to wait in the bar
kevin a
June 11, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from peterdN5438EM | Reviewed this property |
Sorry don’t know
November 2, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Geoff H | Property representative |
Just give us a phone and we will discuss your requirements but absolutely no problem whatsoever
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing