We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Anton's Bistrot

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Market Place | Market Place, Wells BA5 2RP, England
+44 1749 673457
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

267 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 257: English reviews
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2016 via mobile

Had Sunday lunch here as birthday meal for my mum. Service was not as good as it could have been. We ordered our drinks and our meals, when the meals arrived we were given one dish of veg between us all, which was no where near enough as there was 8 of us. When we asked for some more they... More 

Helpful?
Thank N1701
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

We are sorry, it was a one-off. We were terribly busy - that's not offered by way of an excuse - hence things not as they should. We do hope you will try us again. More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2016 via mobile

Visited for our wedding anniversary great service absolutely gorgeous food.lovely staff well worth a visit if your visiting wells book to avoid disappointment.pudding superb

Helpful?
Thank Sam G
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thank you, thank you. We're so pleased you chose to come to us for your special celebration and that you enjoyed your meal so much. More 

Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2016

Prompt service, good range of drinks staff pleasant. Food is good, large portions - so try to specify a small meal if that suits your needs. Worth a try.

Helpful?
Thank Rodney279
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thanks for such a great review; we're very pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal with us. More 

Cardiff
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2016

steak tasty, cheeseboard an absolute delight. staff attentive and very good customer service. nothing was too much trouble. enjoyable atmosphere, I just wish some patrons were less rude to the staff, talking down to them is unacceptable as they do a fab job and cant accommodate you any more. I was dining on my own due to a business trip... More 

Helpful?
Thank kempy67
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Such a lovely review, thank you so much. More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2016

An inviting range of dishes on the menu, Service was very attentive - almost too much so! Food was of a very high quality, well cooked and presented. Will definitely eat here again if passing through Wells

Helpful?
Thank SteveDun
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Good to hear we enticed you in and you enjoyed your meal with us so much. Thanks for the great review! More 

Level Contributor
266 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2016

I had a smoked salmon and cucumber sandwich here, which was totally OK. I loved the place - there are several seating areas, indoor and outdoor, all with their own atmosphere, but all very welcoming. Prices are very reasonable and if you are seated outside, the view of the marketplace is lovely as well.

Helpful?
Thank Willem K
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

We're taking "totally ok" as good! Thank you for a great review. More 

Burntwood, Staffordshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2016

I ate twice at Anton's during my recent short break in Wells, both times in the early evening. There is a small set menu from which you can choose a starter, main course and/or dessert for a fixed price. My friends and I enjoyed our meals both nights, along with the friendly service and the fact that it was quiet... More 

Helpful?
Thank NikkD
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed your meals with us. More 

Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2016

A table booked for 8pm for two, we were there on time but the first course took 40 minutes to serve. Other tables were also getting frustrated and were told the kitchen was 30 minutes behind. Starters were good but the main of duck was tough, really tough. To be fair the comfit leg was good but a one legged... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank GorsJoe
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

You felt the need to write a negative review on both business sections of The Crown's Trip Advisor listing. As I said in response to you previously: Apologies for the wait for food. Happily we're a popular place to eat and hence are often busy. There would be a natural wait between starters and main course. Given how dissatisfied you... More 

leicester
Level Contributor
193 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2016

We ate here on a Friday night. We had the Steak and Stilton Pie and the Special burger and both were delicious. Really good value and a good selection of meals on offer for all tastes.

Helpful?
Thank JoLeicester
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal with us and appreciate your feedback. More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile

Had the classic 100% west country beef burger was average at best, what made it, was the overly priced chorizo on top. Reluctantly decided to have a sweet as my friend was still peckish as the mozzarella salad was minimal, attempted to order at 21:02 but were rudely informed that the kitchen had closed. WILL NOT BE BACK

Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew C
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

We're sorry you were disappointed with your meal. Did you mention it to staff while you were with us? The kitchen does close at 9pm; as you will appreciate some of the staff have been working long hours and we're happy for them to go home at a reasonable time. More 

Travelers who viewed Anton's Bistrot also viewed

Wells, Somerset
 
Wells, Somerset
 

Been to Anton's Bistrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$16 - $41
Cuisine
Bar, British, Mediterranean, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Waitstaff
Good for
Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Market Place | Market Place, Wells BA5 2RP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Wells
  • Phone Number: +44 1749 673457

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Anton's Bistrot and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Anton's Bistrot staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?