We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rodney Stoke Inn

$$ - $$$, British,
Wells Road, Wells, England
+44 1749 870209
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good25%
  • Average9%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible5%
Travelers talk about
“apple crumble” (4 reviews)
“steak” (18 reviews)
“mash” (6 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Wells Road, Wells, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We loved our local pub and all those who worked there. Times change, people move on. The speed at which this pub went downhill was alarming after so much promise of refurbishment and new management. Butcombe sadly did not deliver. Under new management yet again...More

Thank Shona B
Dan S, Owner at Rodney Stoke Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Shona B, Thank you for taking the time to write a few lines. I'm not really sure how we can learn from your comments. We are very keen to learn about anything that customers feel isn't right, and listen to ways we can improve....More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were staying at Petruth Campsite and stopped in here for dinner at about 6pm We were greeted at the door by the lovely staff who were attentive all evening. We were informed that the pub had just changed over from one brewery to another....More

Thank essexmatt
Dan S, Owner at Rodney Stoke Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear essexmatt, Many thanks for your kind comments, the team will be over the moon. We hope you'll visit again soon. Best wishes, On behalf of Tara, Colin and the team at The Rodney Stoke.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We came here for a Sunday lunch, there was no beef available just chicken and there were no pigs in blankets, disappointing! I ended up being given my meal quickly to be told it wasn't my meal which then meant my partner had a wait...More

Thank 894georgieb
Dan S, Owner at Rodney Stoke Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 894georgieb, I am disappointed to hear of your poor experience. The Bank Holiday weekend very much exceeded our expectations on volumes of customers coming through the doors and therefore we were guessing somewhat the amount of stock hence why we were out of the...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited hear last year and it was very good but this year we weren’t so happy the service was not as good and staff not very friendlyMore

Thank knighedw
Dan S, Owner at Rodney Stoke Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear knighedw, I'm sorry that your recent experience didn't match up to your expectations. The Rodney Stoke Inn has now been transferred to a private tenancy as of 24th August 2018. I hope that you will give us another go in the future to enjoy...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went there for Sunday lunch. The Sunday Roast was either beef or chicken. We opted for the beef. It was supposed to have been medium rare but it was a tough, very chewy piece of meat (we couldn't decide if it was the piece...More

Thank CarolynJ419
Dan S, Owner at Rodney Stoke Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear CarolynJ419, Thank you for your review. The Rodney Stoke business is now under new ownership on a private tenancy agreement as of 24th August 2018. I hope that you will give the pub another try in the near future. Kind regards, Dan Simpson

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went in with 13 friends and family, a mixture of children and adults. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the food was delicious. The children's meals were plentiful and enjoyed by all and all the adults enjoyed their food too. The...More

Thank Becky B
Reviewed August 14, 2018

The staff where absolutely lovely and so kind and helpful. The food was delicious and there was a lovely atmosphere in the restaurant and a great band in the snug.

Thank Sam12341990
Reviewed August 12, 2018 via mobile

We were a large party and ate at the Rodney Stoke Inn today. Staff were extremely friendly and accommodating for us all including a good selection of dinners for vegetarians and vegan. It's a lovely big family friendly pub with children's play area and pub...More

Thank Janet O
Reviewed August 12, 2018 via mobile

Visited after at short notice group of 9 adults and children. Great friendly service. Offered options for vegan and vegetarian in the group you just had to ask! Good quality and value. Children enjoyed the garden too.

Thank juliapeculia
Reviewed August 12, 2018

Popped in here tonight, and got a warm welcome from the waitresses. We ordered two main meals and desserts, which were of excellent quality and value. The trout was nice, and my steak salad couldn't be faulted. I ordered the cheese board, and it was...More

Thank catboy71
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 hotels in Wells
Wookey Hole Hotel
1,209 reviews
3.31 miles away
Reservoir View Motel
56 reviews
4.00 miles away
The White Hart Hotel
399 reviews
4.88 miles away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
238 reviews
4.88 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Westbury Inn Pub
125 reviews
1.40 miles away
Wyevale Garden Centre
53 reviews
1.41 miles away
Ice Dreams
262 reviews
2.55 miles away
Lao Thai Restaurant
257 reviews
2.56 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Cheddar Crazy Golf
194 reviews
2.60 miles away
Wookey Hole Caves
4,365 reviews
3.33 miles away
Ring o Bells
38 reviews
3.43 miles away
Cheddar Caves & Gorge
3,127 reviews
2.54 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Nicholas H
February 18, 2018|
Answer
Response from JACQUELINER2390 | Property representative |
Hi There, we are taking campsite bookings and our tariffs will soon be uploaded to the Butcombe website. We are still adults only site and dogs are still allowed.
2
Votes
AndyWCP17
February 11, 2018|
Answer
Response from stewart o |
trip advisor check all reviews before they are posted, some reviews don't get posted and its out of the control of the business.
2
Votes
Howard M
August 17, 2016|
Answer
Response from Hazel M | Reviewed this property |
Yes, in the bar area & outside in the garden
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$20 - $40
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Wells Road, Wells, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Wells
  • Phone Number: +44 1749 870209
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing