We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Hop Pole

#72 of 403 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Bar, Gastropub, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
7 Albion Buildings | Upper Bristol Road, Bath BA1 3AR, England
+44 1225 446327
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

371 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 367: English reviews
UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

We have eaten here several times before. But, today, Sunday, was very disappointing. Despite being at the door at opening time .....midday, after ordering our food we had to wait 40 minutes for it in a very noisy bar area where children outnumbered adults. The food was plentiful enough, but otherwise underwhelming in quality. Only one vegetarian option. Butter that... More 

Helpful?
Thank oliveruk
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Fantastic food, good range of wines and spirits, friendly welcoming landlord and staff. Good old fashioned pub atmosphere

Helpful?
Thank Angie G
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Twenty minutes walk each way from our B&B was time well spent. The pub is part of the Bath Ales chain and serves all of its great beers including the seasonal special 'Festivity'. The bar staff were cheerful and obliging and we found a comfortable corner table. My partner ordered the Special from the chalkboard which was Venison steak with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
James D, General Manager at The Hop Pole, responded to this review

Hi Andrew B, Many thanks for your kind words here sir, was a pleasure serving you. Hope to see you again soon James More 

Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

My boyfriend and I went to this pub because we wanted some ordinary food for a good price and it really was far from ordinary. We walked up the the pub and thought it looked really small, but as we walked through it just seemed to get bigger and bigger. There's a pub area at the top and some stairs... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Frankegga
James D, General Manager at The Hop Pole, responded to this review

Hi Frankegga, Thank you so much for taking the time to post this. Am delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves here, it really does make it all worth it. Hopefully we'll see you again soon James More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Hop Pole is a brilliant pub for food & drink. Bath Ales on tap and expertly prepared meals await. Three adults and a child enjoyed a very fine meal: mussels; a burger; a meat pie--pub grub done to perfection. On a previous visit, my wife and I had the fish & chips--probably the best fish & chips we've ever... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank civic466
istanbul
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Dined here on a Monday night two weeks ago. The pub was not busy and there were not too many diners. Ambience was pleasant and I guess on a Friday night the place is buzzing. My wife was not over hungry and merely had a starter with a side of fries. I had a shin beef pie which I can... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jimbohoughton
James D, General Manager at The Hop Pole, responded to this review

Hi jimbroughton, Thank you for the kind words. It really is a pretty epic pie and really filling too. Be great if you can visit us on a Friday and see, its a lot of fun Thanks once again James More 

Wroxham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had dinner here one evening. We hadn't booked but as it was early in the week the place was not overfull for dining. We ate in the basement area which is very near the kitchen and I enjoyed their duck which was very tasty. Good staff and the wine list is not bad. We had no problems with the quality... More 

Helpful?
Thank JMB50
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2016 via mobile

I was looking forward to my visit based on the TripAdvisor score, but was disappointed. Bar staff and beers were good, but food was over priced and a let down. Basic steak pie wasn't presented well. Too much pastry and not enough meat for the price. Veggies were nice. Standard fare.

Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I went here tonight after work, we've eaten a roast here and really enjoyed it. I had sweet potato gnocchi and my husband had duck. It was really delicious food! The staff we really friendly and welcoming, one lady bought our dog a bowl of water. There is a lovely relaxed atmosphere in this pub and very... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank coolcatcarrie
South West
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2016

Having experienced two previously disappointing visits, I was invited to join friends for lunch so thought I would give it another try. Unfortunately another disappointing meal and possibly the most expensive glass of wine I've had in Bath, £9.40 per glass, I thought they had made a mistake. Having checked they were serving food all day we were further disappointed... More 

Helpful?
Thank CharlotteSouthWest
Mark T, General Manager at The Hop Pole, responded to this review

I'm sorry you were disappointed by your visit here - we certainly don't like feeling like we've let our customers down. For the wine prices, I'm sure you can understand that some bottles of wine are more expensive than others. So when you choose our most premium wine (that we offer by the glass as well as +£25 by the... More 

Travelers who viewed The Hop Pole also viewed

 

Been to The Hop Pole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$11 - $18
Cuisine
Bar, Gastropub, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible, Television
Good for
Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Saturday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 7 Albion Buildings | Upper Bristol Road, Bath BA1 3AR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Bath
  • Phone Number: +44 1225 446327
Description
The Hop Pole is a comfortable, spacious and friendly pub serving good food and top-notch beer. During summer months and periods of fine weather, the garden comes into its own and is the perfect place for mellow afternoon quaffing.Situated opposite Victoria Park, The Hop Pole is welcoming to all, including well-behaved children and dogs alike. It is a must-visit for anyone who enjoys fine food accompanied by equally enjoyable cask ales, or wine from a selection designed to suit all tastes (and all pockets!).

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Hop Pole and other visitors
5 questions
Ask a question
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 months ago
BATH
5 months ago
Warwickshire, UK
9 months ago
Bath, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Hop Pole staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?