We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

The Hop Pole

#70 of 402 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Bar, Gastropub, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
7 Albion Buildings | Upper Bristol Road, Bath BA1 3AR, England
+44 1225 446327
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Sun - Thu 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

364 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 360: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I was looking forward to my visit based on the TripAdvisor score, but was disappointed. Bar staff and beers were good, but food was over priced and a let down. Basic steak pie wasn't presented well. Too much pastry and not enough meat for the price. Veggies were nice. Standard fare.

Thank Stephen M
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

My husband and I went here tonight after work, we've eaten a roast here and really enjoyed it. I had sweet potato gnocchi and my husband had duck. It was really delicious food! The staff we really friendly and welcoming, one lady bought our dog a bowl of water. There is a lovely relaxed atmosphere in this pub and very... More 

1 Thank coolcatcarrie
South West
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Having experienced two previously disappointing visits, I was invited to join friends for lunch so thought I would give it another try. Unfortunately another disappointing meal and possibly the most expensive glass of wine I've had in Bath, £9.40 per glass, I thought they had made a mistake. Having checked they were serving food all day we were further disappointed... More 

Thank CharlotteSouthWest
Mark T, General Manager at The Hop Pole, responded to this review

I'm sorry you were disappointed by your visit here - we certainly don't like feeling like we've let our customers down. For the wine prices, I'm sure you can understand that some bottles of wine are more expensive than others. So when you choose our most premium wine (that we offer by the glass as well as +£25 by the... More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's a nice pub which has been further updated fairly recently. Good food and beer. However, the garden has been opened up, losing the little gazebos and revealing barbed wire bordering the nearby units/van park. Garden used to be a cosy attractive space. This wouldn't matter so much if the flowerbeds weren't full of weeds, ashtrays not emptied and fag... More 

Thank Rasputin2016
Mark T, General Manager at The Hop Pole, responded to this review

Many thanks for leaving your review and feedback of our garden. The state of the garden on your visit certainly does not fit with the standards we set ourselves, so this has been taken into consideration and will be kept on top of in the future. In terms of the garden itself, we have been requesting a professional gardener for... More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked after reading some good reviews and we were not disappointed.. We found the staff to be attentive and very friendly. My husband & I visited with friends and we each had a roast. There was a good choice from chicken, beef, lamb & pork, all was extremely good. The only grumble was that there was only a small... More 

1 Thank Betts-ster
Mark T, General Manager at The Hop Pole, responded to this review

We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time with us - Sundays are obviously very busy for us so it's always wonderful to hear people had a good time while visiting. For the veg, all you have to do is ask any serving staff for more and it would have been on your table in under a minute. If anybody... More 

Stoke sub Hamdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely food, really tasty. Excellent service, sat outside enjoying the last of the sun. 3 of us had the Sunday roasts, my pork was so good I wanted seconds. The beef looked really good, I was told it was lovely. All roasts come with Yorkshire pudding so there wasn't any fighting. Desert was good, I had the crepes, just make... More 

1 Thank The_Real_Mrs_Earl
Mark T, General Manager at The Hop Pole, responded to this review

I'm really please to read such a lovely review. We hope it's not the last time we see you here and thank you very much for taking the time out to post such kind words for us. More 

Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2016

THis place had a great review so I was looking forward to my Sunday roast dinner. and it was not very good at all. Beef was like shoe leather - actually inedible. Chicken was very good and the rest of the dishes were just OK. Service was below what I would expect. Sorry but this restaurant would never get my... More 

Thank Fran W
Mark T, General Manager at The Hop Pole, responded to this review

We can only apologise for your experience with us. If anything would have been brought to light to us, then we'd have been able to sort it out immediately for you. If you stayed quiet, then it leaves us in a position where we cannot try to do anything to help make it better. I'm sorry you felt like you'd... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2016 via mobile

Upon arrival being very tired and hungry we were immediately welcomed and ordered our food. It came quickly and it was incredible. I was recommended an ale which tasted divine. We ended up ordering a dessert as the burgers were so good. A couple of Sticky toffee puddings later and we're happily blissed, relaxed and very satisfied .

1 Thank Danielle W
Mark T, General Manager at The Hop Pole, responded to this review

It's great to hear such high praise, Danielle. Thank you so much for making our day with some fantastically lovely words. We hope it's not the last time we see you, either! More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2016 via mobile

We came to Bath last night (Thursday the 15th) on a stop off on our way to Woolacombe, I had found the Hop pole after an Internet search for dog friendly restaurants in Bath and decided to book a table for 8:30. It was a little further away than I originally thought from the centre, (a 20 minute walk) which... More 

1 Thank Dinosquish
Mark T, General Manager at The Hop Pole, responded to this review

We're thrilled to hear you all (including the pooch!) had a very pleasant experience with us. It means a lot to us that all areas are up to scratch - the food, the drink and the service. If you are ever visiting again, it will be our pleasure to look after you once more. Thank you, too, for leaving such... More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2016

This is such a lovely pub, located a short walk from the city centre. It has a lovely beer garden that's a real sun trap in the summer. The Bounders cider is worth a taste and the food is really delicious too.

1 Thank sazzle3001
Mark T, General Manager at The Hop Pole, responded to this review

Thank you very much, sazzle3001, for a great review. We hope to see you soon. Thank you! More 

Travelers who viewed The Hop Pole also viewed


Been to The Hop Pole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$11 - $17
Bar, Gastropub, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible, Television
Good for
Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Open Hours
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 7 Albion Buildings | Upper Bristol Road, Bath BA1 3AR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Bath
  • Phone Number: +44 1225 446327
The Hop Pole is a comfortable, spacious and friendly pub serving good food and top-notch beer. During summer months and periods of fine weather, the garden comes into its own and is the perfect place for mellow afternoon quaffing.Situated opposite Victoria Park, The Hop Pole is welcoming to all, including well-behaved children and dogs alike. It is a must-visit for anyone who enjoys fine food accompanied by equally enjoyable cask ales, or wine from a selection designed to suit all tastes (and all pockets!).

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Hop Pole and other visitors
5 questions
Ask a question
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 month ago
4 months ago
Warwickshire, UK
8 months ago
Bath, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Hop Pole staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?