We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Boater

$$ - $$$British, ,
9 Argyle Street, Bath BA2 4BQ, England
+44 1225 464211
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good33%
  • Average10%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible8%
Travelers talk about
“lamb kofta” (4 reviews)
“fish chips” (4 reviews)
“roast dinner” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
British, Bar, Pub, Gastropub
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
9 Argyle Street, Bath BA2 4BQ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Bought a round of drinks and settled into a table beside a window. I've read reviews that have mentioned that the staff were rude but I found the barman very helpful letting us taste a bitter or 2 before deciding. The London Pride was ok...More

Thank 44Chrispy3
William A, Assistant Manager at The Boater, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi 44Chrispy3, I'm glad to hear you received helpful service from our Staff, we're strong believers that if you're spending a bit more for a pint you should be welcome to try as much as you'd like to find the perfect pint for that moment...More

Reviewed 3 days ago

Walked across Pultney Bridge and found this Pub. Initally we went downstairs to the beer garden to be near the river, however we soon came upstairs instead of walking up and down the stairs to get food and drinks. Also downstairs they had big screens...More

Thank tasgard
William A, Assistant Manager at The Boater, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Tasgard, Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your thoughts, I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us despite the Football (You definitely weren't our only guests with no interest for the game!). The stairs can sometimes be a chore, but...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

We really enjoyed watching World Cup at The Boater in Bath. There was a great breeze off the river... lots of football fans... and a good variety of ales and ciders to choose from along with food ~ for as long as it lasted. Staff...More

Thank PapaK60
William A, Assistant Manager at The Boater, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi PapaK60, Thank you for leaving such a kindly written review. We have been incredibly lucky with the weather in our garden this Summer, which has presented some challenges, but I'm glad you enjoyed spending time with us. We look forward to seeing you again...More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Food was fantastic. Nice atmosphere and the staff were all very friendly. A little disorganised maybe but the steak and ale pie was delicious so I would happily recommend.

Thank 4433allanr
William A, Assistant Manager at The Boater, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi 4433allanr, Thank you for your kind words, I do hope your group enjoyed your birthday meal. Sometimes we can find ourselves in a kind of 'organised chaos'! Hopefully we'll see you again in the future, Kind Regards, Will

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Called in for lunch today Friday 13th and ordered 6 fish finger sandwiches, 2 cokes, 1 pint cider 1 pint bittter and 2 halves of cider. Bill came to £60 pounds or there about. They got the drink order wrong, the food was almost inedible...More

1  Thank gew53
William A, Assistant Manager at The Boater, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Gew53, Please accept my apologies for both the poor quality of food you received, and the poor language of one of our staff members during your visit. Needless to say I have spoken to the team that worked that Friday to remind them that...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went to watch the England game. The bar upstairs was open but not downstairs. Eventually it was opened- basically when they could be bothered. On appoarching the bar a man asked is the screen going to be brighter ( it was dark) he was told...More

Thank Mathew_1112
William A, Assistant Manager at The Boater, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Mathew_1112 First allow me to apologise on behalf of the barstaff for their terribly poor behaviour and language on Saturday. Please be assured that this is not something we tolerate at the pub and I have spoken to the whole team to emphasise this...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have never felt so upset in all my life due to the rudeness and aggressive member of the bar staff. I am a local and love the outside beer garden but there are a couple of young male bar staff that need some customer...More

Thank Cassey90210
William A, Assistant Manager at The Boater, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Cassey90210, Please allow me to apologise for your poor customer service experience last weekend. Any rude or aggressive behaviour from our staff shouldn't have to be tolerated by our customers, and I have much higher expectations of our team than this. Needless to say...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Popped in for a quick pint during a trip to Bath. I am a big fan of Beavertown beer and was offered tasters before I committed to a pint (highly critical decision in 30 degrees). Atmosphere was great as the World Cup was on. Only...More

Thank Chris B
William A, Assistant Manager at The Boater, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Chris, Thanks for leaving us your feedback, we're glad you enjoyed your tasters and I hope the staff helped you find the perfect pint for the hot weather! You're absolutely correct about the Garden Licensing, especially with the crowds we have in for the...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have been here quite a few times in the past 3 months due to it's location and sizeable beer garden which is excellent in the warm weather. However I can only reiterate what a number of the recent reviews have said about the staff...More

1  Thank Nick P
William A, Assistant Manager at The Boater, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Nick, Please accept my apologies for your poor experience with us. Please be assured I have addressed our staff, who are truly a very friendly bunch, that they should be passing all the positive energy we know they have on to our guests. Our...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This pub is bizarre. Rudeness seems to be an essential requirement of their hiring policy. I've been a few times owing to its proximity, and without exaggeration, every interaction I've had with their various bar staff has involved some kind of nastiness. Incidents include: -...More

1  Thank R D
William A, Assistant Manager at The Boater, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi R D, You review naturally caught our attention and does concern us greatly. All that you've described doesn't equal the quality level of service that we expect our guests to receive. Whilst I have personally never witnessed any of our staff members be as...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 35 hotels in Bath
Henrietta House
1,396 reviews
.07 miles away
Redcar Hotel
890 reviews
.09 miles away
Hilton Bath City
3,119 reviews
.10 miles away
No.15 Great Pulteney
540 reviews
.13 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Herd Steak Restaurant
1,355 reviews
.01 miles away
Antica Restaurant
518 reviews
.02 miles away
The Rising Sun Inn
218 reviews
.05 miles away
Joya Restaurant
1,319 reviews
.07 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Bath Soft Cheese
19 reviews
.08 miles away
Pulteney Bridge
3,096 reviews
.04 miles away
Victoria Art Gallery
328 reviews
.08 miles away
Parade Gardens
490 reviews
.12 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Boater staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$8 - $22
Cuisine
British, Bar, Pub, Gastropub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Street Parking, Wine and Beer, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 9 Argyle Street, Bath BA2 4BQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Bath
  • Phone Number: +44 1225 464211
  • E-mail
Description
Four unique bars, three stylish dining areas, a variety of cask ales a large selection of carefully curated craft beers all add up to make the Boater Bath's number one pub. Thanks to an enviable location right next to Pulteney Bridge, you can count on some spectacular river views and enjoy some weir-side alfresco drinking and dining.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing