We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$8 - $23
CUISINES
British, Bar, Pub, Gastropub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (544)
Filter reviews
527 results
Traveler rating
205
169
61
45
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
205
169
61
45
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sandwiches pie fish and chips sunday roast burger bread the pub large beer garden pulteney bridge rugby match selection of beers great beer outside seating nice atmosphere city centre boaters bbq
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went to Bath to look to the University and got the recommendation via Google/The Telegraph for a good place to have a nice roast. We booked The Boater and were not disappointed at all. Beautiful roast cooked to perfection, fluffy Yorkshire Puddings and really nice...cheese cauliflower. The other plus it’s just by the banks of the river Avon and short stroll from Pulteney Bridge (right in the center of the city). Amazing service. This restaurant is divided in 3 floors (2 are restaurant and at the top the toilets) nicely decorated and brilliant atmosphere. Recommend to book at least on Sundays.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Will_Boater, Deputy Manager at The Boater, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi 2Maria1, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. It's always great to hear how much people enjoy our Roasts and this is no exception. We hope to see you in again after Lockdown Pt.II! Kind Regards, Will

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff were very friendly and accommodating. However the food was over priced and the pudding inedible.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Will_Boater, Deputy Manager at The Boater, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Miw, Many thanks for leaving us your thoughts, I'm sorry to hear your visit was let down by a poor desert and the feeling of poor value for money. Please don't hesitate to email us directly and let us know exactly what the issues...More

Reviewed October 16, 2020 via mobile

Popped in for a drink as just near our hotel Greta Covid safe loving ambience great decor good choice of gins and beers nice atmosphere dogs welcome Friendly pub

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
Will_Boater, Deputy Manager at The Boater, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Sallprice, Many thanks for leaving us your thoughts, so glad to hear you had a nice time with us! Hope to see you back in again in the future, Will

Reviewed September 30, 2020 via mobile

Firstly the 2 points are for the staff, friendly and efficient and covid distancing was good.. Now the food , very limited menu so went for the the fish and triple cooked chips (£13) sadly triple cooked means cooked til burnt very disappointing neither of...us finished our food. Drinks ridiculous prices £7.40 for a single flavourless gin and tonic.. could understand if it was a decent upmarket place but was no more than a backstreet pub in all honesty.. all my reviews are subjective and based on my experience. Based on this can't recommend this pub at all.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Will_Boater, Deputy Manager at The Boater, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2020

Hi Nayvee, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us your thoughts, we appreciate all the feedback we get. Please accept my apologies that you left us feeling as you did. I have much higher expectations of the food and drink that we serve!...More

Reviewed September 27, 2020 via mobile

Good place to rest for you and your dog and a great way to have a drink to relax to enjoy your time in Bath

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Will_Boater, Deputy Manager at The Boater, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2020

Hi Rob, Many thanks for leaving us your thoughts, glad to hear you and your four legged friend had such a nice time with us. Kind Regards, Will

Reviewed September 20, 2020 via mobile

Came in just for a drink so I can’t comment on food. It’s in a lovely spot and has a beer garden overlooking river. Staff are great and very covid safe however I didn’t think the place was very clean. The unisex toilets are a...hike on top floor and look like they are largely ignored and need a coat of paint.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Will_Boater, Deputy Manager at The Boater, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2020

Hi Ellebee, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us your thoughts, I'm sorry to hear you didn't find the pub to be as clean as expected on your visit, especially since reopening this has been a priority of ours for obvious reasons. Whilst...More

Reviewed September 14, 2020

A lovely drink and lamb flatbread snack from the outdoor kitchen while enjoying the riverside setting. Good atmosphere and friendly folk. We have an adventurous toddler who wanted to walk around and also needed baby changing facilities- the staff could not have been more kind...and overly helpful, even opening up a closed route through the pub to the changing place to make my life easier. A lovely pit stop in Bath.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Will_Boater, Deputy Manager at The Boater, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2020

Hi Picklespeelyork, Many thanks for such a lovely review, we hope to see you and your family in again soon. Kind Regards, Will

Reviewed September 10, 2020

Nice pub with a limited menu (think that it was because it was a Sunday) - but we all managed to choose something nice. The staff were very friendly and we had a lovely evening - social distancing was observed too which was important to...us as we had a 90 year old lady in a wheelchair with us.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Will_Boater, Deputy Manager at The Boater, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2020

Hi Sharon, Many thanks for leaving us your thoughts, it was a pleasure having you and your family (Dog included!) dine with us. Kind Regards, Will

Reviewed August 19, 2020 via mobile

Very helpful staff and great food in a very nice old pub by the river. The Haddock and chips was fantastic, both our girls loved the Chicken Schnitzel and the Sweet Potato hash was very good. A very nice calm lunch on a rainy lunchtime....A good range of beers and definitely worth a visit.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Will_Boater, Deputy Manager at The Boater, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2020

Hi S1649BYandrews, Thank you so much for your lovely review, I'm glad we could help you pass the time whilst the weather was so poor! Kind Regards, Will

Reviewed August 10, 2020 via mobile

Delightful pub. Very big beer garden and inside of pub looked lovely. Amazing views from outside along the water.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Will_Boater, Deputy Manager at The Boater, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2020

Hi Someguy50, Many thanks for leaving us such a nice review, we do hope you'll visit again soon. Kind Regards, Will

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Henrietta House Hotel
1,677 reviews
.07 miles away
Redcar Hotel
932 reviews
.09 miles away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bath
66 reviews
.12 miles away
No.15 Great Pulteney
1,313 reviews
.13 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Cappadocia Mediterranean Restaurant
391 reviews
.06 miles away
The Herd Steak Restaurant
1,901 reviews
.01 miles away
Antica Restaurant
887 reviews
.02 miles away
Ponte Vecchio
1,566 reviews
.02 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Bath Soft Cheese
52 reviews
.08 miles away
Pulteney Bridge
3,805 reviews
.04 miles away
Parade Gardens
576 reviews
.12 miles away
Victoria Art Gallery
444 reviews
.08 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Boater staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing