We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Chequers

#16 of 395 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
$$$
European, British, Pub, Gastropub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
50 Rivers Street, Bath BA1 2QA, England
+44 1225 360017
Website
Today
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
6:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Mon - Fri 6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Mon - Sat 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Sat 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

854 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 846: English reviews
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our second visit here with friends, wished we had checked the menu for Sundays as it is much reduced from the normal fare, which was a shame as we had been looking forward to the options previously enjoyed The food we had was great thou! Staff friendly, good selection of wines A great evening

Helpful?
Thank 21Timbo
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Loved the high end of quality of food. very delicious. fantastic generous portions with modern presentation... loved it !!! and absolutely welcoming and friendly service.

Helpful?
Thank BeachBumSummer2014
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Came to bath for my partners birthday and wanted a lovely meal after a day of relaxing in the thermae spa. We booked weeks in advance after looking at the trip advisor reviews. All I can say is I must have been somewhere else! The service was very slow, the Menu had steak and no steak sauces; when asked they... More 

Helpful?
Thank Louise M
Lianne C, Manager at The Chequers, responded to this review

Hi Louise M, As a small business it is so important for us to react and respond to guest feedback; our vast number of excellent reviews and excellent reputation as a food-pub give us a lot of pride in what we do but it's experiences like yours that drive us to always do better and to work hard towards upholding... More 

Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Firstly, you can park outside for up to 2 hours…3 if you have the first drinks outside and keep an eye out for the wardens. Beer - lovely Bath Ales. Wines - extensive and not overpriced Service- warm, lovely and perfect Food - Excellent. Mixture of pub classics, but done well, and good rosette style food . We had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank len c
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I've been here three times. The first time for a Saturday lunch which was delicious and I had no complaints. The second time for a Sunday roast with friends, again really delicious, although the starters didn't seem to change. And the third time, after stating how delicious it was, I brought my Mum for Mother's Day and it was an... More 

Helpful?
Thank lucyloooooo
Lianne C, General Manager at The Chequers, responded to this review

Hi Lucyloooooo, I was sorry to have read your account of your last visit to us and it seems you left us feeling disappointed as you had enjoyed your previous two visits so much. For us, consistency is so important and upholding a high standard of service and an excellent quality of food is paramount to our success as a... More 

mrsdijon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Friends took us to dinner here last week. The service was faultless and the food was better than anything I've had in Bath for a long time (& we eat out a bit). I can't recommend this place highly enough. The Chilled Tomato Summer soup was beautiful and thoroughly delicious. Go! (But not when we want to, as I don't... More 

Helpful?
Thank mrsdijon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked for 4 x lunch on a Sunday. Arrived and was shown to a table upstairs in their (overly warm and stuffy) dining room next to a huge table clearly a family party of some sort. Asked to be seated downstairs/ outside (away from this loud group) went to sit at a table, promptly told not allowed to sit there... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rose D
Lianne C, General Manager at The Chequers, responded to this review

Dear RoseD. Thank you for your comments regarding your experience for Sunday lunch. First off, please let me apologise that you left feeling you weren't welcome and unsatisfied with your experience. We always try to deliver the highest possible service standards and strive to make every guest feel welcome and clearly, on this occasion, this was clearly not achieved to... More 

Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We ate in the upstairs room which had very uninspiring decor. You can see into the kitchen which was a bit odd & didn't add to the experience. The menus are a bit strange as well. One has a very fancy choice of dishes and the other is the normal burger and fish and chips. I struggled to find anything... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ros223
Lianne C, General Manager at The Chequers, responded to this review

We were sorry to hear that The Chequers failed to impress you and that our style of decor & menu were not to your personal preference. As a food-led venue we acknowledge that despite Chef's talent for modern, elevated fine food there has always been and always will be a demand for more traditional pub classics on our menu and... More 

Northampton, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I came here last year for dinner and was very excited by the talented chef and wrote about it on TA. I was so impressed I brought a group here last week - 38 people. The food and service was excellent. Well done. Service, food, deserves 5 stars. Well done again Chequers! See you again soon. Damian

Helpful?
Thank Ruskieray
Lianne C, Front Office Manager at The Chequers, responded to this review

Amazing! Thank you so much for your lovely words. It's great to hear you thought of us again and brought a group of people with you to experience Chef Tony Casey's work. We are always so glad to hear what our guests think especially when it comes to a large party. I thank you again and hope to see you... More 

Kolkata
Level Contributor
255 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went here almost by mistake but did not regret it. Food was good but not cheap. Service was initially slow but after our gentle reminder speeded up considerably

Helpful?
Thank prasan68
Lianne C, Front Office Manager at The Chequers, responded to this review

Thank you prasan68 I am sorry to hear that initially we didn't get off on the right foot there but thank you so much for your kind words. I know we can do much better so I hope you consider us when you are next in the area. More 

Travelers who viewed The Chequers also viewed

 

Been to The Chequers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$25 - $30
Cuisine
European, British, Pub, Gastropub
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Private Dining
Good for
Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
6:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 50 Rivers Street, Bath BA1 2QA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Bath
  • Phone Number: +44 1225 360017
Description
A landmark dining destination in the historic town of Bath, The Chequers is a beautifully restored gastropub on Rivers Street that has been serving customers since 1776. Offering a slice of local living to visitors from out of town, The Chequers is an elegant escape from the city’s bustling boutiques and is only a short walk from the Circus and the Royal Crescent. Serving a menu of home cooked, local & seasonal food alongside a premium selection of wines, local ciders and real ales, this is a fantastic place to spend an evening over a bottle or two with friends and family. On the menu you’ll find gastropub fare unrivalled in Bath with old pub favourites including their award winning Sunday lunch given a classy makeover. The Chequers restaurant also caters for business meetings and private parties.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Chequers staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?