We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Newton St.Loe, Bath BA2 9BB, England
+44 1225 872891
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Mon - Sat 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

451 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 450: English reviews
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Fantastic food and speedy service only let down by lack of smile and friendlier service by the various wait staff.

Helpful?
Thank mhelsby
GLOBEINNBATH, Assistant Manager at The Globe Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for leaving your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed the food and speedy service when you last visited us. I am sorry if you felt the staff could of been friendlier and I will pass on your comments to the team. The team and myself hope to see you again at The Globe in the near... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I went for lunch with two friends last week to The Globe Inn. The service was excellent and the staff very friendly. All our choices of lunch were very tasty and well presented. The pub is very olde worlde and has a nice atmosphere and i believe it has recently been refurbished. There is ample car parking and outside seating.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
GLOBEINNBATH, Assistant Manager at The Globe Inn, responded to this review

Hello Mike, Thank you for leaving your review, I am glad that you enjoyed the food and service along with the decor on your recent visit. We were recently refurbished back in February and the pub has a lovely new feel to it. The team worked really hard with the new opening and I will pass on your comments to... More 

Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have never eaten here before despite going past every day. We were very pleasantly surprised when we went in, the tables were all laid and the decor was charming. We were attended to immediately and shown to a window table. The waitresses who looked after us couldn't have been friendlier or more attentive. We had Fish and Chips and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Christine M
GLOBEINNBATH, Assistant Manager at The Globe Inn, responded to this review

Hello Christine, Thank you for leaving your review, I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your recent visit to The Globe. I will pass on your lovely comments to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Globe in the near future. Kind Regards Paul Turner Assistant Manager More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Good selection of food.. But very pricey for what was rather bland tasting food. Menu is a confused collection of everything and we found that the meals presented were not very well executed. The prawns and lobster in the prawn cocktail were devoid of any taste and seasoning, in essence they were raw, such a disappointment, as the dish looked... More 

Helpful?
Thank scooby1308
GLOBEINNBATH, Assistant Manager at The Globe Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thankyou for leaving your review. I'm sorry to read your comments regarding the food that was served to you on your recent visit and am upset that you left The Globe disappointed. We like to ensure that all of our customers leave happy. I would like to mention there is always a duty manager on shift that could of... More 

Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a disaster! Poor service and awful food. My friend cannot eat gluten ........there are no items on the menu that are gluten free. There was no apology from the waitress. My Caesar Salad was minute and the chicken, which was an extra was as tough as old boots. The Earl Grey tea arrived in a teapot and turned out... More 

Helpful?
Thank margaretmaxwellcook
GLOBEINNBATH, Assistant Manager at The Globe Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for leaving your review, I am sorry you were not satisfied with your recent visit. Regarding your comments about gluten free dishes we have a separate menu listing all the gluten free meals, there is also a wide range of meals that can be adapted to make them gluten free. If you have any allergies it is... More 

M2710
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have visited on several occasions during the past few months and every time the service and food has been superb. The service at the bar is quick and friendly, even when they're busy, and every meal we've had so far has been delicious! I love the chicken and portobello pizza, and my husband raves about the trifle. Cannot fault... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank M2710
GLOBEINNBATH, Assistant Manager at The Globe Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thankyou for leaving such a lovely review. I'm really pleased that you enjoyed the food and service when you visited us and sorry that you will be moving away soon. The chicken and portobello mushroom pizza is also one of my favourites. The team and myself look forward to serving you more 'pizzas' and 'trifles' in the near future.... More 

Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited this restaurant on 10th August 2016 after being let down by our holiday accommodation restaurant and although we had not booked and they were obviously very busy we were made to feel welcome and seated straight away. Our drinks and food order were taken quickly and there was little wait time before our meal arrived. The food was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jpurkis
GLOBEINNBATH, Assistant Manager at The Globe Inn, responded to this review

Hello Jpurkis, Thankyou for leaving your review, our guest feedback means a lot to the team at The Globe and we are pleased that you enjoyed the food and service when you visited us. The team and myself look forward to serving you again at The Globe in the near future. Many Thanks Paul Turner Assistant Manager The Globe More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Poor choice for my daughter who is Coeliac. Overall no real gluten free dishes to speak of which is a shame as this is a convenient and pleasant place to meet with friends. Other dishes were fine but as an independent pub/restaurant it is really disappointing that the choice is so poor for those on restricted diets. They need to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Monal19
GLOBEINNBATH, General Manager at The Globe Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for leaving your review- I am sorry you were not satisfied I am suprised by your comments In all honesty as we have a menu specifically for people who follow a gluten free diet, and many dishes can easily be adapted to be gluten free Our chips are also gluten free which is not the case in... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a fantastic meal in The Globe tonight - both the service and the food was fantastic. The young lady who served us behind the bar was extremely friendly and helpful. We had dough balls and beer battered pineapple and cheese skewers to start and they were both delicious particularly the skewers. Mains included hunters chicken, baked camembert, roast... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fee1814
GLOBEINNBATH, Assistant Manager at The Globe Inn, responded to this review

Hello Fee, Thankyou for leaving such a lovely review, i'm really pleased that you enjoyed the food and service when you visited us. The dough balls and cheese and pineapple skewers are amazing, some of my favourites as well. The team and myself look forward to welcoming you to The Globe again in the near future. Many Thanks Paul Turner... More 

Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Warm welcome, friendly efficient staff. Mum, Dad and I have eaten here many times and we keep coming back. A particular mention, and thank you must go to Michelle who always goes the extra mile to make us feel welcome in the restaurant. On this occasion I had a sirloin steak (rare) - one of the best I have ever... More 

Helpful?
Thank RuralBROADband
GLOBEINNBATH, Assistant Manager at The Globe Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thankyou for leaving us your review, we aim to please every guest we serve and i'm really happy that you enjoyed your food and service. I will pass on your comments to Michelle and the rest of the team. The team and myself look forward to seeing you again at The Globe in the near future. Many Thanks Paul... More 

Travelers who viewed The Globe Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Globe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Newton St.Loe, Bath BA2 9BB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Bath
  • Phone Number: +44 1225 872891
Description
The Globe in Newton Saint Loe is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Globe Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Mountain View, California
6 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Globe Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?