We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Silverton Bar and Restaurant - CLOSED

9-10 Frankwell | The Silverton Hotel, Shrewsbury SY3 8JY, England
+44 1743 248000
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good22%
  • Average6%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
“steak” (38 reviews)
“carrot cake” (2 reviews)
“ciabatta” (2 reviews)
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
European, British, Mediterranean, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
9-10 Frankwell | The Silverton Hotel, Shrewsbury SY3 8JY, England
All Details
Reviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 182 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2016

called in with friends last week, the bar had 2 real ales on , but one was not fit for drinking, a local ale so dissapointed. The Staff were good but when called in to the restraurant the starter two of us chose was very...More

3  Thank JEFF N
mabelShropshire, Owner at The Silverton Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. Regarding the starter that you had it is Toasted Ciabatta with home made pesto, spinach, rocket and thinly sliced sundried tomatoes finished off with two king prawns, not quite ciabatta with a prawn and oil as...More

Reviewed June 9, 2016

Eaten here with friends for a pre-theatre menu meal. Found this good value. Service was good and staff were great as they knew we did not have much time. Comfortable bar, will visit again!

Thank HolidaysrusOswestry
Reviewed June 5, 2016 via mobile

We tried silverton on recommendation from a friend, we visited for a pre theatre meal, it was quiet on arrival. I asked for some bread as my daughter was hungry but they didn't have any bread! I ordered prawn cocktail to start which arrived with...More

3  Thank Tobyson
mabelShropshire, Owner at The Silverton Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. You have raised several issues which I find quite alarming. We don't have bread on the menu, however we do have bread available if a guest request it. Regarding the prawns with an inch of...More

Reviewed May 30, 2016

We had one evening meal, two breakfasts and one coffee and cake over the course of our weekend stay and all were very agreeable. The fish of the day dish was described as white fish, salmon, smoked haddock and prawns in a white wine sauce,...More

Thank Ann C
Reviewed May 29, 2016 via mobile

Popped into The Silverton for breakfast as it has a good reputation and been wanting to go for a while. Opted for the eggs royale, which was delicious. Everyone seemed to really enjoy their food as all plates were cleared. The service didn't quite match...More

Thank ps_iloveyou__x
Reviewed May 28, 2016

Visited today with a group of 17 for afternoon tea. We had a lovely assortment of fresh sandwiches and delicious homemade scones and cake. Extra tea and coffee was no problem, we also had in our party a lady with several dietary requirements but this...More

1  Thank ShrewsburyJones
mabelShropshire, Owner at The Silverton Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2016

Thank you for your kind review and I am really pleased that you all had a great time. I understand how difficult it must be for guests with special dietary requirements and we try our best to meet their needs. I am happy that the...More

Reviewed May 25, 2016

Visited on 21 May with family. The food was okay but nothing special for the price. Lamb a little overcooked. Dauphinoise potato very good. Sticky toffee pud a bit dry. Service slow and not particularly friendly. Atmosphere not helped by singer/guitarist belting out 90s Brit...More

2  Thank Phil J
Reviewed May 22, 2016 via mobile

Visited in the evening a few months ago and really enjoyed it. Unfortunately, came on a Sunday lunch and had a very poor meal. Cold food, tough beef. When we complained, the complaint wasn't dealt with in the best way at all and we were...More

Thank Leah E
mabelShropshire, Owner at The Silverton Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2016

Thank you for your recent review. I understand that you were unhappy with the meal, and when this was brought to the attention of my business partner he deducted a substantial amount from the bill. Regarding cold food, this should never have happened as everything...More

Reviewed May 21, 2016

Lovely traditional afternoon tea with my family,really recommend it.We were served a good assortment of sandwiches, fantastic home made scones and carrot cake, chocolate cake too.The only let down were the Mr Kipling fancy cakes that were bought in.

Thank 287christine
Reviewed May 15, 2016 via mobile

We visited as a family of four for a pre-theatre meal on a Saturday evening & were most impressed. The service was excellent. The menu was good, with four choices for each course, the food quality was great & the value was good at £11.50...More

Thank Elizabeth C
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Istanbul Restaurant
526 reviews
.07 miles away
Riverbank Bar & Kitchen
345 reviews
.11 miles away
The Olive Tree Frankwell
325 reviews
.08 miles away
Armoury
918 reviews
.10 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Quarry
1,143 reviews
.32 miles away
St Mary's Church
228 reviews
.33 miles away
Theatre Severn
255 reviews
.09 miles away
St.Chads Church
200 reviews
.27 miles away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Good for
Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 9-10 Frankwell | The Silverton Hotel, Shrewsbury SY3 8JY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Shropshire  >  Shrewsbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1743 248000
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing