We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Pondicherry

Certificate of Excellence
$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Old Police Station | Waterloo Street, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge, England
01952 433055
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

327 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 325: English reviews
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Never disappoints, great service, lots of meat! A very different Indian setting, not your traditional taken over pub! Pay a little more, but with the location & service as well as food obviously, it is always well worth it!!

Helpful?
Thank james w
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went here on the 5th of July it states rice comes with all curry's then when I went to pay they tried to charge me £3.95 ! £14.95 for a mixed meat platter , there are better and much cheaper indian restaurants near to this place , go again ? Not a chance ...

Helpful?
Thank David P
Management response:

Good Evening David P, Just to clarify, all Chef's Signature dishes are served with Pilau Rice, for any of the Old Favourites - rice is charged additionally. We are sad that you feel this way, however if you do have a change of heart and return, you contact us direct - enquiries@pondicherryrestaurant.co.uk and we'll arrange a discount off your next... More 

Hull. England
Level Contributor
241 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visiting the area and host recommended this restaurant. Surroundings impressive was a police station before a restaurant. Very quick service but food disappointing. The lamb shank meat was not hot but the sauce it came in was. The rice was also cool and the plate was cold. My partners prawn dish was much too hot and his rice and plate... More 

Helpful?
Thank shazzy39
Alex E, Public Relations Manager at Pondicherry, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you had a bad experience with the lamb shank. We shall be addressing this with our kitchen to make sure this doesn't happen again. We've also decided to give our staff additional training so they are more attentive. Regards, Alex Evans Public Relations More 

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited Pondicherry last night for a meal with my husband. The menu was not huge like some restaurants, but plenty to choose from and as well as the traditional dishes there were several dishes that you wouldn't find most places. Slightly more expensive than standard Indian restaurants, but a lovely dining experience and way above average food. Will return.

Helpful?
Thank Hannah L
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I visited the pondicherry last night with my partner ( 24/6/2016 ). We started with poppadoms which were light and crispy, good start. I ordered a pint of Cobra, but a small bottle came. I was surprised that they did not have it on draught so I asked for draught lager instead which they happily obliged. My choice was kingfisher... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Alex E, Public Relations Manager at Pondicherry, responded to this review

Dear Customer, We do have Kingfisher on draught as an alternative - we were further made aware there were issues with the cooler. Should you have brought this to our attention, we would have offered an alternative or removed the charge from the bill. Biryani comes with standard curry sauce at no additional charge, for any other sauce we charge... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2016

I first visited Pondicherry in 2010 and I have been back many times since and I can honestly say I have never had a meal that does not taste amazing. The food tastes so fresh and the staff will always accommodate your requests to cook your food to your taste and switch ingredients about. I have recommended Pondicherry to many... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cazloum
Telford
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016

My daughter booked this restaurant as a Fathers Day treat over a week ago with a table booked for 8.30pm. Her Dad checked the time of the table this week. On arrival at Ironbridge she phoned the Pondicherry to notify they were finding a car park space and would be a few minutes late. Imagine her surprise when she was... More 

Helpful?
Thank jasper40
Alex E, Public Relations Manager at Pondicherry, responded to this review

Hi jasper40, We checked with our staff working that night, they don't recall anything coming through, although we weren't taking bookings or walk ins after 9pm, your booking would have been fulfilled. If you can get in touch with us at enquiries@pondicherryrestaurant.co.uk, we'd like to confirm the details and offer you something complimentary for a future booking. Regards, Alex Evans... More 

Birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016 via mobile

What an amazing Resturant, with an amazing theme, with amazing food and brilliant staff ! Cannot wait to return :-) Definitely a must while in Ironbridge

Helpful?
Thank Tom W
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016 via mobile

Fairly limited menu with annoyingly extra charges for this and that. The chefs specials came with rice included but a very small amount shaped into a pyramid. Beer only supplied in little bottles, not pints Overall very tasty but pricey experience.

Helpful?
Thank Kevin R
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016 via mobile

Wonderful place to eat. The environment is nice and calm, the staff are very welcoming and the quality of the food is outstanding! All in all, its one of the best Asian restaurants that I have visited.

Helpful?
Thank Arthurmcdonagh

Travelers who viewed Pondicherry also viewed

Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 

Been to Pondicherry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Cuisine
Indian, Asian, Balti, Pakistani
Meals
Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Delivery, Takeout, Private Dining, Highchairs Available
Good for
Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Old Police Station | Waterloo Street, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Shropshire  >  Ironbridge Gorge  >  Ironbridge
  • Phone Number: 01952 433055

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pondicherry staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?