We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Portabello Restaurant Bar & Grill

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
7 South Parade | Summertown, Oxford OX2 7LJ, England
+44 1865 559653
Website
Today
9:30 am - 10:30 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 9:30 am - 10:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

388 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 378: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We had dinner here last night and it exceeded our expectations. The salt and pepper squid was tender and delicious with what seemed like a home made chilli sauce. I started with the generous meat platter and the home smoked duck breast was amazing. I could have eaten a plate of that on its own. My husband steak was beautifully... More 

Helpful?
Thank aquabell
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Visited for a working lunch. Very smart, clean interior with buzzing, smiling staff. Great drinks lists with lovely cocktails. Steaks very tasty and great value. Thoroughly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Damien H
eastbourne
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a group of 24 and had a room upstairs to ourselves. The food was good value 3 courses for £27 and the staff looked after us very well and we're very attentive. The only negative is go by taxi as parking is awful in Oxford, not the restaurants fault. Also they seemed a bit irritated and keen for... More 

Helpful?
Thank darrencoe
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
621 reviews
328 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were here on a busy Saturday night and had a perfectly decent meal, but unfortunately we were hardly able to hear ourselves speak. This was due no doubt to the usual Saturday night drunks and bores but to my mind there seemed to be a bit of a problem with the setting - all hard floors and open space... More 

Helpful?
Thank BrushM
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A really friendly and nice restaurant . The waiters were friendly and most importantly our food really delicious! We will definitely return Try it. You won't regret it!

Helpful?
1 Thank ginac1232015
Henrik A, General Manager at Portabello Restaurant Bar & Grill, responded to this review

It was such a pleasure serving you. Thank you for your kind words. And we look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were headed for Mama Mia on Summertown's South Parade for a quick pizza but couldn't face the prospect of the withering looks from the smug denizens of Summertown as we hadn't booked and it would be full - so we pulled up short and went into Portabello instead. We were greeted by our friendly south European (or Latin American)... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DavidWDoughty
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had a lovely meal at Portabellos, £7ish for a small salad, £13 for a standard salad. So far so good. The table we were allocated was right under the speaker, so the music was too loud to converse. The waiter moved us, so still all good. I ordered a large glass of NZ Sauvignon Blanc (this was the only... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley W
Henrik A, General Manager at Portabello Restaurant Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Thank you, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal, but sorry that you found the wine expensive. We do try to keep a nice and varied selection of wine to suit most pallets hence there is a choice of 2 sauvignon on our wine list to offer the choice. We do hope that we see you again.... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We visited Portabello as a family party of 4 (2 adults and 2 teenagers) for an early mid-week supper as a treat and we weren't disappointed. The service we received was excellent - really friendly. We were warmly welcomed and given an excellent table by the patio doors so we could watch the world go by! The menu was varied... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank rhona64
Henrik A, General Manager at Portabello Restaurant Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed both our food and service. As you mentioned we are the perfect mid week early supper and we very much look forward to preparing and serving you another diner in the near future. Until then thank you again.... More 

Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2017

We booked a table early to avoid lunchtime rush and got there 12.15. We were dealt with straight away and got very nicely made fresh tasty food with a very good selection - this is a reliable reasonably priced venue. Highly recommended

Helpful?
1 Thank gullandemp0rium
Henrik A, General Manager at Portabello Restaurant Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We certainly look forward to seeing you again for another freshly prepared meal. Kind regards, More 

Oxford
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2017

We used to be regulars here but for some reason haven't been for a while. Such a shame as I don't think we will be going back again for a LONG time. My partner and daughter went for a treat as she had passed an exam. I realise it was a busy Saturday night with a large function going on... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Pinky36Oxford
Henrik A, General Manager at Portabello Restaurant Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for you review and comments. I am so very sorry that you had such a terrible experience with us. We have been going through some staff transition. I assure you that is not common practice here and we have taken the necessary steps to make sure that we continue to give good service and value that we are... More 

Travelers who viewed Portabello Restaurant Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Portabello Restaurant Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$8 - $51
Cuisine
European, British, Grill, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
9:30 am - 10:30 pm
Monday
9:30 am - 10:30 pm
Tuesday
9:30 am - 10:30 pm
Wednesday
9:30 am - 10:30 pm
Thursday
9:30 am - 10:30 pm
Friday
9:30 am - 10:30 pm
Saturday
9:30 am - 10:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 7 South Parade | Summertown, Oxford OX2 7LJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Oxford
  • Phone Number: +44 1865 559653
Description
A chic, cosmopolitan British restaurant bar and grill open from 9:30am all day every day serving great steak, fish dishes, classic burgers and more. Our menus change regularly with the season with our fixed price lunch menu changing weekly. We serve freshly prepared food with great British flavours in casual and relaxed surroundings. You'll find us in South Parade, a gorgeous little side road in Summertown, amongst trendy boutiques, galleries, wine bars and the North Wall Theatre. Come along for 'the best breakfast in town' from 9:30am 7 days a week and on Sundays come and enjoy a great selection of traditional roasts and superb sharing plates. Join us for Happy hour every week daily from 5:00pm to 7pm when all cocktails and champagne are £5! Let us treat you to a great fixed price menu available lunchtimes Monday to Friday - just £10.95 For two courses and £13.95 For three courses. Our children's menu is available every day and we have child friendly facilities. We can cater for parties of up to 100 guests with menus to suit. An impressive upstairs private dining area is available for all of your special occasions. Guests also benefit from our restaurant car park. Feel free to drop in for a glass of wine, coffee or a sweet treat at the bar or on the terrace. Reservations are welcome for anytime.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Portabello Restaurant Bar & Grill and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
2 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Portabello Restaurant Bar & Grill staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?