We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travelers' Choice


$4 - $4
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about

Location and contact

0.2 miles from Ashmolean Museum of Art and Archaeology
Improve this listing
Reviews (699)
Filter reviews
591 results
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
More languages
Traveler rating
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish and chips sunday roast chicken inspector morse morse fan great pub beer lewis jacqueline pubs england
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Lovely lunch, family had cheese burgers, Milenese chicken and sausages/bubble n squeak.Everyone enjoyed thier meal ,staff were lovely and beer/ orange juice went down well after a good walk around Oxford city centre.

Date of visit: April 2022
Reviewed January 28, 2022

One of our favourite little pubs in Oxford famous for its Morse connection. We walked in January 2022 to find it stripped of it's charm and character. All the walls were bare, all the Morse pictures gone . Main reason many people visit is the...Morse connection but there's nothing left . A sad shadow of it's former self.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Jacqueline P, Retired at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2022

Hello Apologies we have now retired and new owners are applying their style of management. Give them another chance they are doing their best in what has been a horrific time for all. Kind regards Jacqueline

Reviewed December 21, 2021

Lovely looking pub from the outside but that’s about where it stops. We were ready to have a few rounds of drinks but the frosty and rude reception meant we only stayed for one. Maybe we just got unlucky but I certainty won’t be going...back or recommending.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Reviewed November 19, 2021 via mobile

As a Morse fan I looked out for this pub, from previous reviews I could see there were pictures of John Thaw and Kevin Whately in the bar. I was therefore a little disappointed to find them gone when I visited. Obviously I wasn't the...only one that visited The White Horse because of the Morse connection as I heard others talking about the Morse books when I was there. It also seems they no longer serve food. A nice bar, but sad the connection with Inspector Morse seems to have been reduced.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Reviewed October 17, 2021 via mobile

Went for Sunday lunch, nice spacious layout, very professional and attentive staff and very good food. Well done TWH we thought the experience was fantastic value.

Date of visit: October 2021
Reviewed October 11, 2021 via mobile

Fantastic value for money, especially the Sunday roast. Avery busy place but good service at the bar and food delivered promptly, quality very good considering the cost, it does get very noisy, tv and lots of children. You have to buy a parking ticket which...is refundableMore

Date of visit: October 2021
Reviewed October 6, 2021

On thursday the 1st the White Horse was closed but tuesday the 5th it was back up running like clock work. No pictures on the walls but as always the beer was 1st class we done ladies.

Date of visit: October 2021
Reviewed September 23, 2021 via mobile

Stopped here for a drink whilst exploring the city. It's in a lovely spot & we sat outside enjoying the surroundings. A tiny little place but full of charm & drinks priced reasonably.

Date of visit: September 2021
Jacqueline P, Owner at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2021

Hello thank you so much. Yes a tiny place steeped in history and are doing our best to keep it that way. Please come back soon

Reviewed September 8, 2021 via mobile

Very friendly service, I have been here dozens of times and the food has 9/10 been very tasty. Always fast service and hot food. A lot of TVs everywhere in the building so sport/entertainment can be seen wherever you’re sat.

Date of visit: September 2021
Jacqueline P, Owner at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2021

Again this is not our venue. We do not have TVs never have in 17 years. Glad you enjoyed it though

Reviewed September 4, 2021 via mobile

Jumped in here for a quick dinner and a booze. Tasty Burger with Jalapenjos and a nice fresh Guiness. Very friendly staff and quick. Spacious room with opportunities to stay outside. Groups welcome.

Date of visit: September 2021
Reviewed August 26, 2021 via mobile

Ordered the Halloumi and the Calamari as a light snack with a pint of Guinness and a Prosecco. The Guinness was still settling when it arrived ( a big no for a Guinness drinker) but the food was awful. Both the Calamari and Halloumi were...battered but saturated in grease from the deep fat fryer. The Calamari could have been used on Lewis Hamiltons tyres. The waitress collected our plates and could see that we weren't impressed, but said nothing. Couldn't be bothered complaining as I wasn't looking for a refund just wanted to leave. Definitely one to avoid.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Reviewed August 9, 2021

We ate here on a Sunday night recently during the Euros. England had been playing in the afternoon and the place was very untidy from what must have been a hectic afternoon. However no attempt had been made to do any cleaning. Service and food...were OK - the food was certainly very cheap. A fight broke out in the garden while were inside and we were warned not to go out until things had calmed. Won't be back.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Jacqueline P, Owner at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2021

Hello I believe you have the wrong pub we do not have a television never have. This maybe another White Horse. We are city centre on Broad st.

Reviewed July 17, 2021

Great pub good staff good food all round good fun for all nice garden and management lovely place all round

Date of visit: July 2021
Jacqueline P, Owner at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2021

Wow thank you so much for this great review. We love our pub and hope this projects to all. Come back soon

Reviewed July 15, 2021

We made another visit here on Sunday 11/07/21 and had a few quiet drinks and a chat to Jacqueline the landlady who informed us she was retiring soon. we always love to visit this place and hope it doesn't change too much after she leaves....Enjoy your retirement and let Des know that my t-shirt fits! Craig and JanMore

Date of visit: July 2021
Jacqueline P, Owner at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2021

Aww thank you very much. It’s with a sad heart but necessary we retire. May the bar continue to thrive with Henry and Tom and the great staff they inherit!!

Reviewed June 24, 2021

Very nice food and great staff (Kelly) food came out very quick and cooked to perfection (steak) 👌.

Date of visit: June 2021
Jacqueline P, Owner at The White Horse, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2021

Hi think you got the wrong bar we don’t do steaks!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Bath Place Hotel
335 reviews
.11 miles away
Old Bank Hotel
1,543 reviews
.17 miles away
The Randolph Hotel, by Graduate Hotels
212 reviews
.19 miles away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
989 reviews
.20 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
No.1 Ship Street
534 reviews
.12 miles away
The Turf Tavern
2,635 reviews
.12 miles away
Vaults & Garden Cafe
1,040 reviews
.12 miles away
376 reviews
.12 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Bodleian Library
2,488 reviews
.06 miles away
Weston Library
300 reviews
.04 miles away
Sheldonian Theatre
523 reviews
.03 miles away
Balliol College
378 reviews
.08 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
August 12, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Jacqueline P | Property representative |
Hello so sorry but no we are a very small bar. There is no accommodation if that’s what you mean Regards
December 27, 2016|
Response from Jacqueline P | Property representative |
So sorry I very rarely get messages via Trip Advisor. We are actually closed until 6 January Happy new year from all at The White Horse
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The White Horse

The White Horse is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5