We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bull on Bell Street

57-59 Bell Street | Henley on Thames, Oxon, Henley-on-Thames RG9 2BA, England
+44 1491 576554
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good27%
  • Average14%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible8%
Travelers talk about
“steak” (26 reviews)
“crab” (6 reviews)
“fish cakes” (5 reviews)
Open Now
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
British, Bar, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
57-59 Bell Street | Henley on Thames, Oxon, Henley-on-Thames RG9 2BA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (529)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 524 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

I've reviewed this place before. I once had a terrible time just getting the manageress to find us a table when the place was only about half full. She was rude and we never did get to eat there that time. So I diidn't go...More

1  Thank Jose G
Dean B, Manager at The Bull on Bell Street, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Jose, Thank you for posting your feedback. Unfortunately Sunday was a very busy and tough day for us for various reasons and we clearly failed to meet our usual high standards. I'm glad to hear usually we do meet your expectations and dearly hope...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

This pub has been improved massively since last time I went--very friendly service and we were placed in a table perfect for small children--we started with a greengrocer's sharing platter which was fine--unfortunately the wait for the main courses was so incredibly long that they...More

1  Thank mullionboy
Reviewed 1 week ago

Eat here regularly and it can sometimes be hit and miss. This time we had a super meal. Service was very good and our party of 8 all enjoyed their food.

Thank Henley-ite
Dean B, General Manager at The Bull on Bell Street, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the comments, hopefully we can hit that consistency note with you going forward! See you again soon Kind Regards, Dean

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Sunday dinner to die for with my family my roast beef was delicious Yorkshire puddings perfect roast potatoes spot on can’t go wrong with this place

Thank Harrywho-de-knee
Dean B, General Manager at The Bull on Bell Street, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, Thanks for the great review. I must agree with you on the roast beef, we are very proud to serve some of the best around! Hope you are looking forward to your next visit! Kind Regards Dean

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Polite bar staff. We had Sunday roast, by far one of the best meals! Glazed carrots... amazing! I requested a smaller portion which was suberb and only charged less than half price. Lovely decorated, clean and characterful! Would recommend to anyone!

Thank Liz O
Dean B, General Manager at The Bull on Bell Street, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Liz, Great to hear we wowed you! Thanks for the great review and we look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards Dean

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a well decorated pub with a nice outdoor area. The bar food is good and there is also a restaurant.

Thank GrannyAnnie22
Dean B, General Manager at The Bull on Bell Street, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the review! Kind Regards, Dean

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited before and always a pleasure to visit. A nice pub well laid out with staff who are warm and welcoming. A nice selection of real ales well kept if a little bit on the expensive side. No doubt will be back again in the...More

Thank bobbyboyat22
Dean B, General Manager at The Bull on Bell Street, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, Many thanks for this flattering review! We pride ourselves in serving the best ale that we possibly can (we sort of have to if we brew half of it on site). With regards to pricing we do try to remain competitive and hopefully you...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice pub with a warm feel. We were a large group so agreed on a pre order of the food, it all came out timely. The food tasted good, my only advice is the salt & pepper quid was overcooked (several of us ordered it)....More

Thank Liz_ideas
Dean B, General Manager at The Bull on Bell Street, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Liz, Many thanks for your kind review and it was a pleasure to host you. I will feed back your comments regarding the squid to the chef. Hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Dean

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Food was simple but tasty. Unfortunately had some issues getting correct bill - not an issue we’ve had before, but left us feeling rather disappointedMore

1  Thank dranh
Dean B, General Manager at The Bull on Bell Street, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi dranh, Great to hear you enjoyed the food on your visit and I apologise your payment wasn't handled correctly. I will discuss with the team what happened at our next management meeting and see what we can do to ensure this doesn't happen again....More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very good food, each of the three of us chose a different meal and all were delicious. Also excellent service from Erica, will definitely be visiting again and recommending to our friends. PS the signature bun on the burger is SO good

Thank Hettie W
Dean B, General Manager at The Bull on Bell Street, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Hettie, Thank you for this great review, we look forward to seeing you again! Kind Regards, Dean

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 7 hotels in Henley-on-Thames
The Catherine Wheel
754 reviews
.11 miles away
Hotel du Vin
968 reviews
.12 miles away
Phyllis Court Club
171 reviews
.17 miles away
The Red Lion Hotel
641 reviews
.19 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Three Tuns
564 reviews
.12 miles away
Cafe Rouge - Henley
487 reviews
.14 miles away
The Square
417 reviews
.12 miles away
Zizzi - Henley
358 reviews
.10 miles away
Nearby Attractions
River & Rowing Museum
325 reviews
.45 miles away
Henley Royal Regatta
60 reviews
.23 miles away
Lovibonds Brewery
53 reviews
.16 miles away
Bohun Gallery
11 reviews
.28 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
juicelover24
May 16, 2018|
Answer
Response from Dean B | Property representative |
I'm sure you'll have a great evening. I wouldn't take every review too seriously.
-1
Votes
patsyk127
May 24, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from joshwinterpod | Reviewed this property |
Oh it’s defeatly gone downhill
0
Votes
Vivienne L
October 26, 2016|
Answer
Response from Dean B | Property representative |
Hi Vivienne the music is in the bar area and is 80's 90's R&B nothing to heavy but great to listen to. the restaurant is away from the music so it's the best of both worlds!! kind regards Simon
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$20 - $39
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Private Dining, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 2:00 AM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 2:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 57-59 Bell Street | Henley on Thames, Oxon, Henley-on-Thames RG9 2BA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Henley-on-Thames
  • Phone Number: +44 1491 576554
  • E-mail
Description
A beautiful Bar and Restaurant with an on site micro brewery set in the heart of historic Henley on Thames. With extensive inside and outside seating spaces, offering lots of diversity. From coming in for a morning coffee, a light lunch or indulging in our delicious evening menu. The Bull has it all, with live music every Friday evening from 9pm and Brunch served every Sunday from 10am-1pm
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing