We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bull on Bell Street

57-59 Bell Street | Henley on Thames, Oxon, Henley-on-Thames RG9 2BA, England
+44 1491 576554
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good26%
  • Average14%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible8%
Travelers talk about
“steak” (26 reviews)
“crab” (6 reviews)
“fish cakes” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
British, Bar, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
57-59 Bell Street | Henley on Thames, Oxon, Henley-on-Thames RG9 2BA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (506)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 501 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Looking for somewhere new to try we decided on The Bull. The staff were very friendly & helpful and the atmosphere was good with a nice beer garden outside. Sadly the food left a lot to be desired. The burger, at £13.50 with an extra...More

Thank Richard G
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Visited this popular pub/restaurant on a Saturday evening. It was very busy with a good atmosphere, and we were seated in a booth at the far end of the room which was ideal for the five of us. The service was excellent, and quick, which...More

Thank WillKaye
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Want as a family - Both child and adult meals were of a great choice and very high standard. Also exceptional waiter service . Will be back for sure !

Thank Shane E
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Only had drinks,served by a lovely young lady ,coffees were excellent. Decor was fantastic really liked what we saw. Went in the evening for drinks outside. We'll worth a visit. We'll done to the harding working staff.

Thank Andrew A
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have dined here when meeting up with friends and it is such a lovely atmosphere in the dining area with a good selection of drinks and the food is always of an excellent standard. The steaks are to die for and a good selection...More

Thank mrsdoubleyou
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited this pub a year earlier (June 2017) and sat in the conservatory and it was wonderful. Attentive TABLE service, good food, nice atmosphere. A YEAR ON, however, we couldn't access the main menu and had to settle with the bar menu, which was just...PIZZA...More

3  Thank Richv15
Dean B, General Manager at The Bull on Bell Street, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Richv15, Many thanks for your feedback and all of this will be discussed in our next management meeting. Our bar menu offers some of our more popular dishes and casual options such as our tapas style dishes, we are sorry none of these dishes...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a lovely meal here , we had a tapas meal so we could all share the food together it was really nice and we sat in the garden Lovely and helpful staff

Thank Christine H
Dean B, General Manager at The Bull on Bell Street, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Christine, Many thanks for your wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you and the grandchildren back some time soon. Kind Regards, Dean General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stood at the bar for 10 minutes while bar staff served their friends at the other end of the bar. One poor guy on his own to serve the rest of us and had no idea who he should have been serving next.More

2  Thank GeoffP01
Dean B, General Manager at The Bull on Bell Street, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Geoff, Last Wednesday was unexpectedly very busy and we apologise you had to wait a little while longer than usual to be served. Our team do not pick and choose who to serve next and do try their best to serve guests in an...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had same problem as a previous reviewer - no fish and chips on the Friday on the ‘bar menu’ which allows you to sit and eat outside in this warm weather. However it was available so to speak but only in the ‘formal dining...More

1  Thank LeanderBanks
Dean B, General Manager at The Bull on Bell Street, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi, Many thanks for your review. Our traditional fish & chips was only introduced 2 menus ago, before this it wasn't on the menu at all. We have a limited bar menu that is available throughout, however due to the sheer size of the pub,...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Oh dear what a let down! Friday tea time visit hoping for fish and chips and to sit outside in the sun! No fish and chips on the bar menu only on the a la carte and they wouldn’t let us order off that menu...More

2  Thank jam502018
Matt G, Deputy Manager at The Bull on Bell Street, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi jam502018, Many thanks for your feedback. I am sorry your recent visit didn't live up to your expectations. Unfortunately the à la carte menu is only available in the restaurant in the evenings and the reason for this is so the pub is clearly...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 7 hotels in Henley-on-Thames
The Catherine Wheel
737 reviews
.11 miles away
Hotel du Vin
930 reviews
.12 miles away
Phyllis Court Club
167 reviews
.17 miles away
The Red Lion Hotel
630 reviews
.19 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Cafe Rouge - Henley
456 reviews
.14 miles away
The Three Tuns
554 reviews
.12 miles away
The Square
405 reviews
.12 miles away
Zizzi - Henley
350 reviews
.10 miles away
Nearby Attractions
River & Rowing Museum
320 reviews
.45 miles away
Henley Royal Regatta
57 reviews
.23 miles away
Lovibonds Brewery
50 reviews
.15 miles away
Bohun Gallery
11 reviews
.28 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
juicelover24
May 16, 2018|
Answer
Response from Dean B | Property representative |
I'm sure you'll have a great evening. I wouldn't take every review too seriously.
-1
Votes
patsyk127
May 24, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from joshwinterpod | Reviewed this property |
Oh it’s defeatly gone downhill
0
Votes
Vivienne L
October 26, 2016|
Answer
Response from Dean B | Property representative |
Hi Vivienne the music is in the bar area and is 80's 90's R&B nothing to heavy but great to listen to. the restaurant is away from the music so it's the best of both worlds!! kind regards Simon
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$19 - $38
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Private Dining, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Bar scene, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 2:00 AM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 2:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 57-59 Bell Street | Henley on Thames, Oxon, Henley-on-Thames RG9 2BA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Henley-on-Thames
  • Phone Number: +44 1491 576554
  • E-mail
Description
A beautiful Bar and Restaurant with an on site micro brewery set in the heart of historic Henley on Thames. With extensive inside and outside seating spaces, offering lots of diversity. From coming in for a morning coffee, a light lunch or indulging in our delicious evening menu. The Bull has it all, with live music every Friday evening from 9pm and Brunch served every Sunday from 10am-1pm
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing