We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Carpenters Arms

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Fulbrook Hill | 10 minute walk from Burford, Burford OX18 4BH, England
+44 1993 823267
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 6:30 pm
Mon 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tue - Thu 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

270 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 268: English reviews
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

It's not the largest pub but the split areas separate it nicely. The menu on a Sunday is a 3 course Sunday lunch. The soup, pate and prawn cocktail were all very nice. The main lunches were mostly nice but the beef my daughter had wasn't nice, very fatty. She kept quiet about it otherwise we'd have sent it back.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark N
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
743 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2016

Catering for large parties is always challenging, but The Carpenters Arms coped well with a group of 34 for Christmas lunch. The seating was a bit of a squeeze, with two rows of tables, but the staff managed to serve the meals in spite of the narrow space. As a result some of the service was a bit slow, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
Francesca F, Owner at The Carpenters Arms, responded to this review

Hi Andrew C Thank you very much for your lovely review, though I feel like you may have the wrong pub. The only reason I say this is because we haven't had a party that large this year and our prices are slightly cheaper. I apologise if I am mistaken, but am glad you enjoyed your Christmas lunch. Kind Regards... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2016

We turned up with Clive, our Jack Russell, with his little broken toe. We had a brilliant welcome and our Sunday lunches were just delicious! Try the goats cheese and beetroot starter, it was lovely! Great, friendly atmosphere!

Helpful?
Thank gillcarwa
Francesca F, Owner at The Carpenters Arms, responded to this review

Hi Gillcarwa Many thanks for your lovely review. We are so glad you and Clive enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Francesca More 

Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2016 via mobile

Came here on a Friday night as a party of 4 plus dog. The staff are always friendly and helpful and go out of their way to make you comfortable. The food is good quality and there is a steak special. The rustic fries are also yummy and definitely worth a try. The desserts are reasonably sized and there's always... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Liz S
Francesca F, Owner at The Carpenters Arms, responded to this review

Hi Liz S Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so glad that you enjoy your visits to the pub. The Salted caramel is my favourite too!! ;). Hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Francesca More 

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2016 via mobile

Apart from Google Maps showing this place in the A40 which is misleading, the pub is easy to find! We met up with some friends for lunch and the staff were friendly and helpful, and the warm atmosphere made for a pleasant stop. Some good ales on tap always works for me. The menu is reasonable for a pub, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank CliveW16
Francesca F, Owner at The Carpenters Arms, responded to this review

Hi CliveW16 Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stop. Apologies about the google maps issue, I believe we may have the problem fixed. Again many thanks Kind Regards Francesca More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2016 via mobile

Visited the carpenters arms for the first time in years. Couldn't fault a thing. From the service to the drink to the food. Nothing was too much trouble for the landlady or the landlord. Definitely will be back. Very dog friendly too x a massive "THANK YOU" xxx

Helpful?
Thank Annie B
Francesca F, Owner at The Carpenters Arms, responded to this review

Hi Annie B Thank you so much for your review, it was so lovely to hear about your past visits to the pub and we are so glad you returned. We look forward to seeing you again soon, Merry Christmas. Frankie More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2016 via mobile

I had the fish and chips - oven chips and garden peas which were nothing exciting. The fish was very good though, soft and juicy flesh and crisp batter. Not a big portion though. The waitress had a nightmare evening and was very clumsy - spilling beer over my mother's top, dropping ketchup on my brother's jeans, making a racket... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jamhunt
Francesca F, Owner at The Carpenters Arms, responded to this review

Hello Jamhunt Many thanks for your review after your recent visit. We are glad you enjoyed your food, beer and the dart board. I am however very sorry for the inconvenience caused to you, I believe it was your mother who came in the next day and spoke to myself regarding an overcharge, which I dealt with. I was unaware... More 

Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2016

We were a party of 7 out for a Sunday Roast and were welcomed by a very friendly landlord. We ordered our pre meal drinks and were directed to the restaurant area. The restaurant staff were very pleasant, smiling and courteous. We ordered our food and we all enjoyed it immensely. We will certainly be visiting this establishment again.

Helpful?
Thank Wilcey19
Francesca F, Owner at The Carpenters Arms, responded to this review

Hello Wilcey19 Thank you so much for your kind review. We are really happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again. Many thanks, Frankie More 

Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2016

We decided to have lunch here after reading the reviews. We called in on spec and were able to get a table for two, and the menus arrived very quickly, as did our drinks order. The menu is limited, so do not expect pages and pages of options. This place keeps it simple and does it very well. We had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Selhurst300
Francesca F, Owner at The Carpenters Arms, responded to this review

Hello Selhurst300 Many thanks for your recent review. We are so glad you enjoyed your meal and visit to our pub. It's great that you would happily return and we would look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Frankie More 

Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2016 via mobile

Spur of the moment choice on a Sunday - usual places full and busy. Very accommodating- squeezed us and the dog in. Straightforward Sunday roast: good service and value for money. Excellent vegetables and trimmings.

Helpful?
Thank Muzzydad
Francesca F, Owner at The Carpenters Arms, responded to this review

Hi Muzzydad Thank you so much for your positive review. We are so glad you were welcomed and that we could squeeze you in for dinner. We hope that you will visit us again in the future. Kind Regards Frankie More 

Travelers who viewed The Carpenters Arms also viewed

 

Been to The Carpenters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$12
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 6:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Saturday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Fulbrook Hill | 10 minute walk from Burford, Burford OX18 4BH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Burford
  • Phone Number: +44 1993 823267
Description
Historic Cotswold Pub with beautiful south facing landscaped garden, just perfect for Al Fresco dining. Only a short walk from Burford, we can provide ample parking, free Wi-Fi and a warm and friendly welcome. We serve great value lunches and are also popular for evening dining either for families, groups, special occasions or romantic cosies.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Carpenters Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?