We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
136-142 High Street, Burford OX18 4QU, England
+44 1993 823457
Website
Today
8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Sat - Sun 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

208 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 206: English reviews
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Disappointing. Tables outside very wobbly - to be expected I suppose as set on the hill. Small pot of tea and no choice. Only two different fillings in the sandwiches which would have looked more attractive with the crusts removed. Also overloaded with black pepper. No cream with the scones and one of the jams was Marmalade!? Cakes reasonable but... More 

Helpful?
Thank 1946sheila
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Went for breakfast prior to our son's wedding, with two friends. Lovely coffee and lovely breakfast. English and eggs Benedict all good. Waitresses were excellent and friendly. Would definitely return if in the area.

Helpful?
Thank Terry F
Bampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Beautiful day, sat on the street enjoying the view and people watching. We ordered iced coffee (OK, but that's all) and salads for lunch. So - Roast salmon salad with olives and soft boiled eggs etc for my wife. No olives. Egg was very much hard boiled. Tiny flakes of salmon, about a tablespoonful altogether. Barely worthy of the name,... More 

Helpful?
Thank SausagePudding
South Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Decided on lunch, on ordering meal with Eggs, told that they had no eggs!! This seemed ridiculous as there were quite a few meals with eggs, surely someone could nip to the local Co-Op and buy some. I then decide to have a Goats cheese quiche with salad. When it arrived after a considerable wait the quiche was small and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cyclebag
Oxford-UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I'll start by saying that I've been to Maison Blanc in Henley many times and it has always been very very lovely and we've never had any issues. I read the reviews and they aren't great for here, but I'd bought a voucher from Groupon and we were in the area. We ordered the afternoon tea and the cost with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Law74
Maison B, Guest Relations Manager at Maison Blanc, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us with this feedback, we are really pleased you enjoyed the service in store. We do however apologise that you felt disappointed with the afternoon tea, we so often receive praise for the quality of our afternoon teas and are concerned to read your comments. We will be investigating all the issues raised at store level... More 

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had lunch here on a Monday and I think the sandwiches and lettuce were left over from Sunday. Expensive for dry bread and wilted lettuce! Would not go again.

Helpful?
Thank Beanlasvegas
Maison B, Guest Relations Manager at Maison Blanc, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to feedback, we are really sorry you didn't enjoy your lunch with us. We make all our sandwiches fresh in store each morning, however, operations team will be investigating the preparation and storage procedures used to ensure our all our products are as fresh as possible at all times. Once again, thank... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Disappointing all round! Salmon and cream cheese sandwich mostly bread, lettuce old and limp, crisps soggy. Staff young, inexperienced and not bothered after complaint. Untrained in customer good service. 60's cheap fake flowers do not add to boring decor. Can't believe Raymond Blancs name is attached to this venue. Coffee however excellent. Such potential for a warm friendly cafe. It's... More 

Helpful?
Thank 747redrobin
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited with a friend - lovely & all that you would expect from Maison Blanc :) Would recommend for any meal

Helpful?
Thank Angelofthesouth225
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I took the family here on a Groupon voucher for Afternoon Tea. The food was fine but the service left a bit to be desired. We were brought our food and tea but the waiting staff never came near us again to check that all was in order. The teapot only provided one cup each and when we asked if... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Denise P
Maison B, Guest Relations Manager at Maison Blanc, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to our Buford branch. We are really glad you enjoyed the food, however, do let me apologise that you felt the service you received was not up to standard. We have passed your comments to our operations team who will be investigating the issues raised. Your feedback has been extremely... More 

Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good coffee and cake - plenty of choice. Ample seating including outside in the sun on a good day. Open all day.

Helpful?
Thank Frosty2

Travelers who viewed Maison Blanc also viewed

Burford, Cotswolds
Burford, Cotswolds
 
Burford, Cotswolds
 

Been to Maison Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$7 - $20
Cuisine
Cafe, French, European, British
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Free Wifi
Good for
Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
8:30 am - 5:30 pm
Monday
8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Tuesday
8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Wednesday
8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Thursday
8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Friday
8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Saturday
8:30 am - 5:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 136-142 High Street, Burford OX18 4QU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Burford
  • Phone Number: +44 1993 823457
Description
Opened in 2009, we are located half way down Burford High Street. We have plenty of indoor and outdoor seating and a wonderfully cheerful team who look forward to serving you with a seasonal menu, handmade patisserie and freshly baked pastries in store each day. Baby change facility available. Licensed.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Maison Blanc staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?